Pool Table Biz

Wasup Talkers, been having this thought of putting up a pool table biz as a kaside hustle, now i dont know if any talker has been in that sector and probably has some advise for me, any advise would be appreciated cheers wazito.

get the ones that come with coin slots

Expenses:

[li]Good pool table (Slate top) - 70,000/=[/li][li]Rent[/li][li]Daily police & mungiki tax - 100/=[/li][li]Pool boy salary - about 200/= per day[/li][li]Betting License - 5000/= per year[/li][li]Maintenance of perishables (sticks and balls)[/li][/ul]
The table should be able to generate about 1000/= per day, if you want to get any returns.

That means 4 games per hour x 12 hours per day x 20/=, which is virtually impossible. Unless you are in a busy Eastlands estate with lots of idle youth

Hiyo ni business imepitwa na wakati.

I think the most important consideration is ‘where’
For good returns you would either put it at a sports bar or a neighbourhood with many idle youths.

On price I think one can get at a bargain. Check this going for 30k on Kebuysell.com

Slate top or wooden top?

They have not indicated but looks like wood.

whats the difference@vujade?

Don’t even bother buying. The wooden top will start warping after a few months, and nobody will be interested in playing there

apo sawa @vuja de,

Slate top (top ya mawe, in common language), has a better surface finish, and will never warp. It also attracts more players because the balls move faster across the table, and gameplay is more enjoyable

I did that hustle when they first came out.I bought three pool tables.( the ones with counter metres) Here are the challenges I encountered with the employees.
1- They would unscrew the top and pick the balls manually after every game meaning no count on the metre. I solved this by using padlocks on the inside.
2- They found a new trick of hooking the metre lever so that the balls would fall through without counting games. Again I solved this by installing a very narrow opening for the lever which made it imposible to hook it permanently.
3- They finally defeated my efforts by pumping the lever hundreds of times and telling me the metre was defective! I solved this by selling the damn thing!

niaje mduli? tupatane wapi nikuchape seven baller?

Hiyo straight pool ni ya vijana wa high school. Game ya wazito ni Killer pool

Nafungua kesho :D:D

A simple way to avoid this is to demand a fixed amount from the pool boy daily, say 500 bob. He handles all the expenses (except rent), and pays himself whatever collections he makes for the day

Hii number 3 yako imenikumbusha jamaa aliuza matatus for the same reasons. Every trick he tried, they always came up with a counter. He finally got fed up, got a buyer for his 3 matatus without informing the crews. You can imagine their shock when they came for the matatus in the morning only to be told their new owner came for them at night.

In Kikuyu they say “Wakana muno witunyaga nyama” meaning, during meat roasting, if the fire becomes too hot, it looses the meat because the one roasting will take away the meat before its completely burnt.

This biz is so 1999. Think of another avenue of making money.