1.5 Trillion. What it Can Do. Negros Need to Think

Elders hebu kujeni hapa.

The annual losses from corruption are estimated to be 300 billion shillings per year.

Imagine if the Kenyan leaders could get their shit together and save half this amount over the next 10 years. That will be a cumulative savings of 1.5 trillion shillings.

Now, with that kind of money, the government can roll out a massive infrastructural program aimed at building superhighways to link most of not all major county capitals, build dams in arid areas and set up irrigation systems.

This, and many other suggestions, would pave the way for rapid economic takeoff!

Just my two cents

Kitu sielewi is how that figure of 300bn was arrived at. Is it money budgeted by national gova that gets pocketed by these sharks like Uhunye & governors ama it counts hadi ile chwani karao anarushiwa baro na ile thao umerushia some junior civil servant akuharakishie mambo yako.

We really need to proscribe what activities constitute corruption and which ones are merely lobbying. In the west that is always hollering to us about corruption, lobbying is a respected profession that is hard baked into their systems. Hao wakikam Africa warushie despot a few million dollars [lobbying] they call it good business. Sawa tu

No. This figure lists all the funds that leak out of the budget. For instance, a minister or a governor will draw up payment vouchers to draw fictitious allowances that are doctored to look genuine. All staff working in the particular department have their names drawn up before funds are siphoned off under budget lines such as travel and subsistence allowances etc (These staff are never paid that money. Seniors pocket all of it). Another method is inflated contracts, unfinished contracts that are fully paid for, fake payments to contractors for ghost projects etc.

"This means that in the last five years, Kenya could possibly have lost Sh5 trillion to corrupt individuals, cartels fueled by leaky government processes and an incorrigibly corrupt public service.
…During the five-year period of audit results, a total revenue of Sh4.82 trillion was collected. An analysis by Sunday Standardshows that only Sh590 billion of government expenditure has been properly accounted for, representing 13 per cent of total expenditure. A staggering Sh4.2 trillion, some 87 per cent, was either lost, not spent well or not accounted for.

Sh368 billion of the Sh1 trillion is spent without any accountability."

Sh1 trillion - Shocking numbers in the plunder of a nation - The Standard

My 2 cents.
[ol]
[li]Political office is and has been a conduit of the pilferage of public funds.[/li][li]Kenyans are queueing at the “mheshimiwas” for a slice of the pie.[/li][li]We as kenyans only see theft from those not “aligned” to out tribe. ([SIZE=1]This is ivery visible in african bonobo democracy[/SIZE])[/li][li]We do not audit anything that is disbursed to our jurisdictions, only complain that money is being lost.[/li][li]We are the problem.[/li][/ol]
If we can change our mindset and action recovery on looted/misappropriated assets, the we have a chance. Hiyo nyingine ni porojo.

Still you will vote for “dr” william ruto a man who has never treated a duck as your pork. Hii no kurogwa

Earth to @MjamaaPittsburgh. :smiley:

Politics is a very lucrative venture in Kenya. The amount of money used to gain political office is astronomically high, the returns therefore must be higher.

Hey @Purple wacha uchokozi. Otherwise how is it up North?

Ruto is not the best candidate out there. Sadly, we have limited options based on opinion polls. The best candidates are unlikely to win.

The best approach is for a few governors who are retiring to rally behind one of their own who has a proven track of success. They have the money to get this done and rescue Kenya

Hey, hope uko safe bana. :D:p What a crazy time to be alive. Otherwise tuko tu…

corruption is we and we is corruption. As a person who has always been in touch with “ground”, I have heard that most kenyans cannot elect a person who does not give them cash money during campaigns or constantly give out cash during burials. Then there’s is saying esp in my dear mt.kenya “wacha tuchague huyu mwigine ata yeye akakule” I dont know abt the other region bt I guess the trend is no different.

How’s the SGR and Naivasha Industrial Park helping Kenya out so far?:smiley:

I know of two MPs from meru who had nothing but won
Jackson mwalulu won despite being poor
Kakamega senator wasn’t that moneyed when he won

There is an MCA in Kasarani,samora somebody, used to campaign on foot
Hakuwa Na gari
He’s the most useless MCA saa hii

i gave two scenario: there is one group that must get cash (bribed) to vote and the other that says “wacha tumchague ata yeye akakule”

Mass poverty is what makes ‘our’ leaders rich. You don’t shit where you eat, so don’t expect any of them to fight poverty.