11 Saudi Princes detained ,3 Ministers removed in government crackdown on corruption

Summary

• 32 yr old King Salman ordered the new anti-corruption campaign.
  • 11 Saudi Princes arrested.
  • 3 Government Ministers(Economy, National Guard and Naval Forces) removed from their posts.
  • Part of Vision 2030 plan, to social reforms with women driving, and as we see now the third leg of it, an aggressive push to root out corruption

Source
http://www.cnn.com/2017/11/04/middleeast/saudi-government-anti-corruption-committee/index.html

Story
Eleven princes were arrested in Saudi Arabia on Saturday following the formation of an anti-corruption committee by King Salman bin Abdulaziz Al-Saud, Saudi-backed broadcaster Al-Arabiya reported.

Three ministers were removed from their positions: Economy and Planning Minister Adel bin Mohammed Faqih, National Guard Minister Prince Miteb bin Abdullah bin Abdulaziz and Naval Forces Commander Admiral Abdullah bin Sultan bin Mohammed Al-Sultan, said Saudi TV, the government’s official broadcaster.
King Salman ordered the new anti-corruption campaign as part of an “active reform agenda aimed at tackling a persistent problem that has hindered development efforts in the Kingdom in recent decades,” a press release from the Saudi Ministry of Communications said.

The royal decree said the committee was needed “due to the propensity of some people for abuse, putting their personal interest above public interest, and stealing public funds” and will “trace and combat corruption at all levels,” according to the release.
The committee, headed by Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman, has the authority to investigate, arrest, issue travel bans and freeze the assets of those it finds corrupt.

John Defterios, CNN’s Emerging Markets Editor who has covered Saudi Arabia since the 1990s, said the sweep was part of the Crown Prince’s “top to bottom overhaul.”
“From literally his Vision 2030 plan, to social reforms with women driving, and as we see now the third leg of it, an aggressive push to root out corruption,” he said.
Defterios said there had long been concerns about corruption within Saudi Arabia.
“The correction in oil prices has changed the game they cannot afford to go business as usual as they have for the past 20 years,” he said.
“That’s the reason why they want to diversify the economy and also make a bold attempt to root out corruption.”
But he added corruption was unlikely to be the whole reason behind the radical and wide-reaching purge.
“We can’t overlook the fact that the Crown Prince is young and very likely in power for decades. He wants to consolidate the ranks around him,” he said.
The three ousted ministers were replaced, with Prince Khalid bin Abdulaziz bin Mohammed bin Ayyaf Al Muqren becoming National Guard minister, Mohammed bin Mazyad Al-Tuwaijri becoming the Economy and Planning Minister, and Vice Admiral Fahd bin Abdullah Al-Ghifaili taking on the role of Naval Forces Commander.

Consolidating power.

Public beheading itafanywa lini?

Exactly, anti corruption is just the vehicle. Hata Kim ali behead wasee kadhaa. Lakini he is 82.
Its the crown prince who is young anatengenezewa njia

Akisema kukamua ni halal nitampongrza sana, nice women there as @kush yule mnono Can attest.

Hapo utangoja wamalize hii

http://money.cnn.com/2017/10/24/news/economy/saudi-arabia-mega-city-neom/index.html

project.

:smiley: CNN wamejaribu kutubeba maembe ! I hope they are getting paid for this undercooked nonsense.

CNN sometimes kisses too much Saudi a$$

So hypocritical of his own personal lifestyle… he should cut on his own luxurious expenses first.

next thing utaskia someone has been assassinated.

Ile revolution inanukia huko will make ya Egypt and Syria a child’s play.I saw a certain documentary in some city kulikuwa na chaos wa nataka Muthamaki wa huko aache upus .We all know how Americans play it they are your pal when shit hits the fan utajua haujui same way waliruka Mubarak na Gaddafi ndio hivo juu King atarukwa

Uhuru ile siku atafanya same thing ndio we will know he is the real muthamaki. Otherwise, in my eyes he stands as the lesser of two evils.

Ati allowing women to drive is seen as an achievement? So pathetic.

Most of Saudi Arabia’s oil is extracted in the East, which is predominantly occupied by Shia muslims, who do not exactly see eye to eye with the Sunni ruling elite. Despite oil coming from the East, most Shias in Saudi Arabia enjoy lower standards of living than the Sunnis. Alafu Iran, Saudi Arabia’s mortal enemy and Shia power in the middle East, wakaamua if the Saudis keep meddling in our affairs, then we’ll meddle in theirs. So word is the Iranians have been sponsoring some rebel activity in the East of the country. If the Iranians succeed in setting up a Hezbollah-like organization in Saudi Arabia, then the Saudis will find the going very very rough.

There was a rocket fired over Riyadh on Saturday I think. The same case with Bahrain where the Shia majority are persecuted by the Sunni rulers.

The house of Saud inafaa irukwe, those rulers are full of shit.

Kwanza in places like Bahrain, they’ve been artificially increasing the number of Sunni citizens, so Sunni can appear to be the majority. That means even if you’re Pakistani and identify as Sunni, you can easily become a Bahraini citizen.

I’m seeing the news that he has been killed.

Who has?

The prince