2014 BMW X1 E84

Thinkinng of picking this baby up soon, leteni maoni.

Xdrive or Sdrive?

Any realibility issues that i should be aware of?

TIA

cramped rear seats ndio haikunibamba na hii gari; unless ni wafupi/midgets ndio watakua wanabebwa huko nyuma :smiley: !! anyway kama umeipenda never mind me !

Hehehe am i bachelor, sitafuti matatu ama taxi ya kubeba abiria

kwanza bachelor its worse unless you’re an introvert. You’ll want to show it off, giving rides, picking up buddies mkienda starehe; unless you’ll be using it at most two passengers over 90% of the time !

Hehehe ni madem wagani hawa wako 6ft plus? Plus watu wa kupewa lift ata wakibebwa na wheelbarrow ama probox hawamind. Thanks for your input tho

Umetoa pesa wapi?
The mighty peasant you are.

Research the Engine and tranny it comes with. Make sure it isnt one of the unreliable ones.

Also, research recalls etc for cars made in that year

It runs the N20B20 engine under the hood mated to an 8-speed transmission. A pretty reliable powerplant if cared for in the right way.

@Karoga @Sambamba wasito wa kwa mabazuu leteni maoni

True. Kwanza on a long journey na you have to carry passengers, it’s not funny. Legroom is crap na utaendesha gari kama midget

Like i said, i am not looking for a matatu to ferry passengers. If i needed one u would get a legacy or wingroad.

This is a vehicle you pray for every morning when you wake up. Special prayers for the ECU iamke bila maneno.

Otherwise, you’ll enjoy Sheer Driving Pleasure all the way.

Hehehe i’d really appreciate specific issues not just general opinions on the bimmer. Otherwise, thanks!

E84 is a fantastic machine ,just buy one with a N55 motor and automatic transmission,N20 isn’t a very reliable engine.

Ukibuy BMW ni sawa but buy it accepting that you have made a bad financial decision and you can afford the consequences. It is fun to drive for a few months but at some point you will just wish you had a reliable Japanese car. LAZIMA itakukula pesa si ati nini ama nini. In one year you will not be confident taking it for a long trip because hii ni gari unaeza washa uone some oxygen sensor error or other error imetokea. Unaeza kua mtito andei iingie limp mode. But you just have to experience this process yourself…it will be your last BMW and it is better to make the mistake young. When you see your peers progressing in life as you stagnate know that your BMW will be one reason.

Unaongea from experience ama ni mambo ya abunwasi unatuletea…

Old (>5yr old) BMWs are endless money pits.

Experience. But it is common sense also, it is just that when people are young they believe they know better. These cars are fun to drive and get attention but they are not made for everyone. If you are an employee or a tenant just forget about BMW. If you have to ask whether to buy a BMW or not, then don’t buy it. The target market does not care about such questions they just buy it and can live with their decision.

Tell them, these cars are made with parts with a shelf life of around 4 years or around 100k mileage. BMW only cares about the customers who lease the cars brand new and those who buy showroom cars. They want these guys to buy a new car every 3/4 years. They do not give an F about a second or third hand buyer in a third world country who asks strangers on ktalk whether to buy one.

True. For me, I’d rather buy the japanese equivalent unless am a politician where image matters and theres no denying that German cars have brand power.

But, if you interested in stress free luxury, buy a Lexus LS instead of an s-class or 7 series