2018 Hiphop & R&B Grammy Nominations Analysis

Hiphop/R&B nominations:

ALBUM OF THE YEAR:

Childish Gambino - Awaken, My Love

Jay-Z - 4:44

Kendrick Lamar - DAMN.

Lorde - Melodrama

Bruno Mars - 24k Magic

Childish Gambino, what a shock! Dude is winning. From making waves at the Emmys and now doing it big at the Grammys. Jay Z glad to bag his first AOTY nom on his 13th attempt. Sad part is the hiphop vote will be split between him and Kendrick and allow a pop act like Lorde to take it. Kendrick really should win. Totally deserves it. Ed Sheeran notably snubbed. Should’ve been there to split the Pop vote with Lorde and give Kendrick the edge.

BEST RAP ALBUM:

Jay-z - 4:44

Kendrick Lamar - DAMN

Migos - Culture

Tyler, The Creator - Flower Boy

Rapsody - Laila’s Wisdom

Most controversial list. I thought A Tribe Called Quest were a shoe-in this year. @Deorro I also thought Cole is Hiphop elite and is guaranteed a place here even though he’s boring AF… LOL! Big Sean and 2 Chainz also deserved noms. But good to see the newly formed Rap Committee showing love to quasi-underground acts like Rapsody. Props! That was a dope record. On another note, hiphop is definitely gay friendly nowadays (Jay’s mom came out on the new album, Jay has featured Frank on his last 2 records, looking at this year’s noms, Tyler’s coming out album made the list, Logic’s 1-800 is up for SOTY (see below) and best video, Uzi is up for Best New Artist)… @Marty McFly must be loving this…

RECORD OF THE YEAR:

Childish Gambino - Redbone

Jay-Z - The Story of OJ

Kendrick Lamar - HUMBLE.

Luis Fonsi feat. Justin Bieber - Despacito

Bruno Mars - 24k Magic

Would love to see Redbone win.

SONG OF THE YEAR:

Julia Michaels - Issues

Logic feat. Khalid and Alessia Cara - 1-800-273-8255

Bruno Mars - That’s What I Like

Jay made it in here purely off a sample… LMAO!

BEST NEW ARTIST:

Lil Uzi Vert

Khalid

SZA

Julia Michaels

Alessia Cara

Yeah, Uzi’s what’s hot nowadays…

BEST RAP PERFORMANCE:

Big Sean - Bounce Back

Cardi B - Bodak Yellow

Kendrick Lamar - HUMBLE.

Migos - Bad and Boujee

Is it me or does Cardi B sound like she’s blatantly biting Nicki’s style?

BEST RAP/ SUNG PERFORMANCE:

Jay-z feat. Beyonce - Family Feud

Kendrick Lamar feat. Rihanna - LOYALTY.

SZA feat. Travis Scott - Love Galore

6lack - PRBLMS

GoldLink feat. Brent Faiyaz and Shy Glizzy - Crew

BEST RAP SONG:

Cardi B - Bodak Yellow

Kendrick Lamar - HUMBLE

Jay-Z - The Story of O.J.

Danger Mouse feat. Run The Jewels and Big Boi - Chase ME

Rapsody - Sassy

Good look for RTJ. First ever nom!

BEST URBAN CONTEMPORARY ALBUM:

SZA - CTRL

Khalid - American Teen

The Weeknd - Starboy

6lack - Free 6LACK

Shoe-in for Donald Glover. Stay winning!

BEST R&B ALBUM:

Daniel Caesar - Freudian

Ledisi - Let Love Rule

Bruno Mars - 24k Magic

PJ Morton - Gumbo

Musiq Soulchild - Feel The Real

BEST R&B PERFORMANCE:

Kehlani - Distraction

Ledisi - High

SZA - The Weekend

Daniel Caesar - Get You

BEST TRADITIONAL R&B PERFORMANCE:

Ledisi - All The Way

Mali Music - Still

Anthony Hamilton - What I’m Feeling’

The Baylor Project - Laugh and Move On

BEST R&B SONG:

Khalid - Location

SZA - Supermodel

PJ Morton - First Began

BEST MUSIC FINDEO:

Kenrick Lamar - HUMBLE.

Beck - Up All Night

Jain - Makeba

PRODUCER OF THE YEAR:

Calvin Harris

Greg Kurstin

Blake Mills

No I.D.

The Stereotypes

And now, a moment of silence for rap greats who have NEVER won a single Grammy:

Tupac
Biggy
Nas
Snoop
Busta
DMX
Rakim
Nicki
J Cole (hehe @Deorro)
Run-DMC
Ice Cube
Game (Lol)

Hiphop/R&B nominations:

ALBUM OF THE YEAR:

Kendrick Lamar - DAMN.

Lorde - Melodrama

Bruno Mars - 24k Magic

Childish Gambino, what a shock! Dude is winning. From making waves at the Emmys and now doing it big at the Grammys. Jay Z glad to bag his first AOTY nom on his 13th attempt. Sad part is the hiphop vote will be split between him and Kendrick and allow a pop act like Lorde to take it. Kendrick really should win. Totally deserves it. Ed Sheeran notably snubbed. Should’ve been there to split the Pop vote with Lorde and give Kendrick the edge.

BEST RAP ALBUM:

Jay-z - 4:44

Kendrick Lamar - DAMN

Migos - Culture

Tyler, The Creator - Flower Boy

Rapsody - Laila’s Wisdom

Most controversial list. I thought A Tribe Called Quest were a shoe-in this year. @Deorro I also thought Cole is Hiphop elite and is guaranteed a place here even though he’s boring AF… LOL! Big Sean and 2 Chainz also deserved noms. But good to see the newly formed Rap Committee showing love to quasi-underground acts like Rapsody. Props! That was a dope record. On another note, hiphop is definitely gay friendly nowadays (Jay’s mom came out on the new album, Jay has featured Frank on his last 2 records, looking at this year’s noms, Tyler’s coming out album made the list, Logic’s 1-800 is up for SOTY (see below) and best video, Uzi is up for Best New Artist)… @Marty McFly must be loving this…

RECORD OF THE YEAR:

Jay-Z - The Story of OJ

Kendrick Lamar - HUMBLE.

Bruno Mars - 24k Magic

Would love to see Redbone win.

SONG OF THE YEAR:

Julia Michaels - Issues

Jay made it in here purely off a sample… LMAO!

BEST NEW ARTIST:

Lil Uzi Vert-swear to God this will be the biggest abuse to hiphop since Will beat tupac

Khalid

SZA

Julia Michaels

Alessia Cara

Yeah, Uzi’s what’s hot nowadays…

BEST RAP PERFORMANCE:

Big Sean - Bounce Back

Cardi B - Bodak Yellow

Kendrick Lamar - HUMBLE.

Migos - Bad and Boujee

Is it me or does Cardi B sound like she’s blatantly biting Nicki’s style?

BEST RAP/ SUNG PERFORMANCE:

Jay-z feat. Beyonce - Family Feud

Kendrick Lamar feat. Rihanna - LOYALTY.

SZA feat. Travis Scott - Love Galore

6lack - PRBLMS

GoldLink feat. Brent Faiyaz and Shy Glizzy - Crew

BEST RAP SONG:

Cardi B - Bodak Yellow

Kendrick Lamar - HUMBLE

Danger Mouse feat. Run The Jewels and Big Boi - Chase ME

Rapsody - Sassy

Good look for RTJ. First ever nom!

BEST URBAN CONTEMPORARY ALBUM:

SZA - CTRL

Khalid - American Teen

The Weeknd - Starboy- album has daft punk white people bumped it
6lack - Free 6LACK

Shoe-in for Donald Glover. Stay winning!

BEST R&B ALBUM:

Daniel Caesar - Freudian

Ledisi - Let Love Rule

Bruno Mars - 24k Magic

PJ Morton - Gumbo

Musiq Soulchild - Feel The Real

BEST R&B PERFORMANCE:

Kehlani - Distraction

Ledisi - High

SZA - The Weekend

Daniel Caesar - Get You

BEST TRADITIONAL R&B PERFORMANCE:

Childish Gambino - Redbone na anaweza kosa…

Ledisi - All The Way

Mali Music - Still

Anthony Hamilton - What I’m Feeling’

The Baylor Project - Laugh and Move On

BEST R&B SONG:

Khalid - Location

SZA - Supermodel

PJ Morton - First Began

BEST MUSIC FINDEO:

Kenrick Lamar - HUMBLE.

Beck - Up All Night

Jain - Makeba

PRODUCER OF THE YEAR:

Calvin Harris

Greg Kurstin

Blake Mills

No I.D.

The Stereotypes

And now, a moment of silence for rap greats who have NEVER won a single Grammy:

Tupac
Biggy
Nas
Snoop
Busta
DMX
Rakim
Nicki
J Cole (hehe @Deorro)
Run-DMC
Ice Cube
Game (Lol)
red are my pick … in green is the dumb asses who always end up winning such close calls situations[ATTACH=full]142105[/ATTACH]

Fuck b.i.g k.r.i.t dropped his album late but he got time…even though 4 eva is a long a time
[ATTACH=full]142108[/ATTACH]

Chieth hapo on J.Cole part. Our nigga goes plat without features.I wornder how you find him boring like really? 4 your eyes only is a classic bana

Hapo kwa greats, those guys treasured Soul Train awards more than they did the Grammys. Best rap was introduced in 1995 and Eminem has won it the most so jijazie… Remember this song by Ghetto boys?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-58--SUONK0

Hapo kwa Rhapsody is a real surprise…

CyHy the prince dropped his album late too…
One of my fav albums of 2017

KRIT and CyHi ain’t popping enough to get Grammy noms. Kwanza Rapsody ameangukia saana. But who knows next year. That ka-newly formed Rap Committee seems to be paying dividends. Lakini that Tribe snub this year was bad. I thought last year they nominated De La Soul… paying homage to these OGs

Ya ATQ imeniuma pia esp how Phiphe dedicated himself to the last project and even gave the album it’s name

Tip was livid!

[MEDIA=instagram]BcDXHWWgozK[/MEDIA]

[MEDIA=instagram]BcDXpvWgTYo[/MEDIA]

[MEDIA=instagram]BcDYJRigVoR[/MEDIA]

[MEDIA=instagram]BcDjB88AZPG[/MEDIA]

[MEDIA=instagram]BcDkGUlAkMb[/MEDIA]

[SIZE=16px]I already gave my 2 cents here; [/SIZE][SIZE=16px]https://www.kenyatalk.com/index.php?threads/fear-a-hiphop-masterpiece-by-king-kendrick-lamar-and-the-alchemist.45377/page-3[/SIZE]

Wueh! Amerant yake yote

[ATTACH=full]142117[/ATTACH]
Fuck.the industry is rigged manze ukiona group ka migos can get a nomination and these niggaz with bars wakiwa tu.kwa.side.lines

Kusema tu ukweli, it was FORGOTTEN… That record came out over a year ago. Let’s be honest, when was the last time u listened to it?

This was a hiphop year with a good number of solid mainstream releases so it just got lost in the shuffle of things. It was an excellent swan song for the group and a befitting adieu to Phife Dawg though…

Last year, Hotline Bling won for Best Rap Song and Best Rap/Sung Performance… One of the worst travesties ever in Rap Grammy history… Drake mwenyewe, who skipped the ceremony, said that he actually didn’t understand how the “song” won those rap categories… Now,[SIZE=16px] it’s either the Grammy voters were dozing as they were filling those categories or they are just clueless old white geezers who have no idea what hiphop really is…

It’s one of the reasons they formed the Rap Committee this year. Walijua hawajui[/SIZE]

Ni old geezers hao. Kama tu wale wa Oscars

Maze let them not rob Kendrick of AOTY again. Ile ya Taylor Swift ya last time iliuma sana :(:(:frowning:

At the same time this the worst quality of K. Ever apart from FEAR I Don think any of the tracks had a deep concept like his previous work…shit if he wins he wins with a wack(as in weak in his standards)album if he looses he lost to a wack selection of albums
[ATTACH=full]142130[/ATTACH]
Fuuck let the the shit fall as they will…

I totally disagree with u

I ain saying ts crap its just this feels more like a industry service and less growth of Kendrick…this the nigga when you finish an album you could picture where he was what time and age all that but this we all know was schemed to fool the industry expose the media plant that was pushing bs rap music…I get it but from SECTION 8.0…GKMC …TPAB…then damn even the album title says it all ina break that flow he had …its sad he had to do this to cause the disruption but years people will fault it cuz they won’t undertsand the climate(Kendrick stans actually put this us even worse than his mixtapes imagine) kuna standard hu kijana amepewa and hii ndo am also putting into play here .ain tryna be the ass but you have to agree he made some sacrifices fuck it has only one skit in it…and xxx don’t even count …
[ATTACH=full]142132[/ATTACH]

@Smith_ this just came.up.on my playlist damn

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qrgPHD2X_Vw

R.I.p pimp c this nigga was on to something plus kuna story ya young thug watching gay porn in the studio some lines at I smoking dicks(guns)…
[ATTACH=full]142142[/ATTACH]
Kuna agenda for real