2nd hand vehicles

what are the must checks when buying a used car.

what do you guys regard as extensive or acceptable mileage ( I know car maintenance matters more )

what documentations should be availed by seller

additional remarks welcome.

There’s really no acceptable mileage. I have 8 yr vehicles that have only done 4000 km and 4 year vehicles that have done 120,000 km. In my experience, the condition matters more. Vehicles are made to be used, so one that’s just parked and hence has low mileage, doesn’t have optimum lubrication. But what do I know, guys ALWAYS buy the lower mileage.

gari enda na a good mechanic wacha ufala
then doc si ni original log book

miles doesnt matter a good example is stradman who has put 5000 miles on his new supra and shmee who just bought his with around 500 miles i would buy stradmans car because of the mods and the wrap and the wide body kit

Suspension tends to be easily forgotten

obviously mech atakuwa but even for bargaining purposes especially during first veiwing.

nunua subaru nzuri sana

hizi majamaa hazijui huyo msee, i love his jeep hio hellcat iko tu sawa, sasa hellephant ikiwekwa sijui vile kutakua

1. The car must have no history of structural damage.
  2. the car should have no history of body damage/ or have minimal damage that can be clearly estimated.
  3. the car must look and sound mechanically fit.
  4. high mileage cars usually have multiple hidden problems or are about to have them.
  5. the car should show minimal tampering in the engine bay and tell tell signs like history of splashed coolant or modifications and missing parts and should raise alarm.
  6. Electronics and ac should work. If either dont work it’s a sign of a major shoddy repair/badly kept car.

The first two are cardinal rules because body and structural damages are often difficult or impossible to repair. Low mileage cars are easy to ascertain because they usually have original parts, original paint, clean headlights, little wear on steering wheel, gear knob, and door lining, and doors can usually hold themselves open at various points.

In my very humble opinion and out experience don’t by locally used vehicle. And if it’s must don’t buy a vehicle that you have no history of. Going won’t make any difference. Mech can’t smell sliced cyrinders You are better of using the cash for something else and when you have enough cash import.

Going with a mech to buy a used car is like asking a lawyer if litigation is needed - mechs might be biased towards faulty cars for obvious reasons.

Never buy a locally used car unless you are buying from your blood brother

link?

What about zile za “lady owned” hio ndio nliskia huwa almost kufika IcU, unabuy inatoka magonjwa yote ukiifinya Sana Kama mwanaume,

kuna tax ya kununua locally used vehicle?

Azor ahai aka brownskin hajafika hapa bado kupeana advice ya dont buy below 2500 cc?

Bought a lady used demio last year june, I didn’t even go with a mech, just a friend who has had cars for a few year, after buying expect to spend more than 40k servicing the suspension and engine, then the car is good, I’m at 170k kms now and the car goes like a small rally, most cars are misused before they are sold so have a chunk for general servicing

You have to balance everything which is hard, a ten year old car with -50k km/miles is suspicious at best, and if genuine it might have problems with rubber seals leaking. A car with around 200k+ mileage, no matter how well maintained can’t be trusted to run without problems…this is my perspective and the figures can be interchanged because there are proven exceptions even to the rules above…you will have to balance between mileage, state and type of car and your budget, intuition also helps, happy hunting

Just take the car to mech who knows what he is doing. Also, make sure you hook up a computer scan tool to see which errors are being given.

I bought a locally used car with 93k on odometer…used the car for years and sold with 301k with original engine and transmission… I only did service and change of shocks, tyres and suspension bushes