7 Up Documentary South Africa: Very Thought Provoking

I saw @Azor Ahai recommend this documentary in another thread. It follows the lives of 20 children in South Africa beginning in 1992.

The documentary producers come back after every 7 years to see what has changed in their lives. We see them at 7 years, 14 years, 21 years and 28 years.

All those 7 years old children filmed in 1992 come from different backgrounds: slums, ushago, middle-class, rich, white, black, Indian, mixed race, orphans, single mother kids etc.

This documentary shows you how your childhood, education and environment can shape your life into adulthood.

It also shows you that nobody has it all figured in life. But there are those with a higher chance of success compared to others.

By the time the producer comes back to interview them in adulthood, a quarter of those participants died of AIDS in their late teens and early 20s. The AIDS pandemic in South Africa must be very serious.

The kids who come from poor backgrounds with less education rush into having many children with different partners while still in poverty. And their children live the lives they were trying to escape.

The girl who was raised by a single mother also became a single mother.

That woman who looks attractive at 21 looks like a mumama with a roto tank at 28 years.

Most of the participants who are more exposed and educated don’t have children in their 20s, but focusing on their career progression.

Some the participants (for obvious reasons) decided to opt out of the documentary after they became adults.

It’s one of the most thought-provoking documentaries I have ever watched. A real eye-opener.

I hope they release the next series when the participants are 35 years old.

The U.K series has documented the same people from 7 years to 63 years.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-13O-g9RlyU

I’ve watched the whole series for SA.

There’s one also based off Japan and its quite interesting.

Kusema ukweli nurture and nature play a very big role in out lives.

Environment determines alot

I think the South Africa version is easier to relate with since it happens in a developing country.

In fact, after watching it, I think Kenya is doing better than South Africa.

:D:D:Dyou must be living in another kenya

If your parents had a good foundation from their parents chances are you will make it in life…some of us give our all to our kids simply because our parents gave us the very best

great story

Why would some of them decide to opt out?

SA ndio @uwesmake alitoa ukimwi yake.

Imagine someone is coming to check up on your life’s progress after every 7 years and broadcasting it to the world. If things didn’t go as expected, you probably wouldn’t want your miserable life to be broadcasted to the whole world in a documentary.

But if you’re doing good, you wouldn’t have a problem with the show producers asking how your life is going.

Asande for the recommendation mkuu. Now I have something to watch

South Africa is a country of psychos… nimewatch a lot of series on DSTV mzansi magic & Novela magic… This is what I noticed

1. Inequality iko mbaya zaidi. Manze apartheid ilifuck up system yao hadi waleo.

2.Violence iko kama ya baringo county (though tribes were still violent even before colonisation) and the justice system is whack juu huko prisons breaks ni mambo ya kawaida.

3.Mambo ya sponsor ilianza huko…SA wanaitangwa blessers which has fueled the HIV Pandemic there…Google about Kanyi mbau, enda fb and search SFEBE KUKU alafu ingia mzansixxx.com uone hadi high school kids nudes & sex videos wakikuliwa na fellow students, teachers na Subaru gang kwani gari.

4.Hawa watu hukunywa pombe kama supu…hadi 2 amapiano legends (MPURA & KILLER KAU) died in road accident.

1. Rape,domestic violence huko ni mambo byad. By the way south Africa has been rated as the most dangerous country to live in.

Bottom line is lazima niende huko holiday na Durex fetherlite nikumue hizo yellow yellow curvy Zulu,Tsonga,Xhosa & Venda women…I thought wakamba na wataita ndio the cream of BANTU lakini mzansi tribe wamefanya cross breeding kiplani juu hio kuiva yao zii…

Tswana and Sotho women wako juu sana.

Has to be one of the most thought provoking documentaries out there.
That racism and colourism in S.A is what keeps it shitty till now.
Just watching 21up now ASANTE budeng

Watched this documentary today and its thought provoking. Was saddened that the Zulu girl and the mixed race boy never lived to see their 21st birthdays. The AIDS pandemic in SA is so bad. I am still surprised that racism is still rife in SA.
Nataka niingie 28UP. Asanti sana for the recommendation.

God bless whoever put up the original some months back

It gave me a lot to ponder over like hii story ya upward mobility. I noticed the fruit never falls too far away from the tree. Like that well spoken Soweto boy he ended up just another average guy in the hood yet he showed so much promise akiwa mdogo . It’s true the families we are born into play a major role in shaping our lives and the adults we become. Even that black boy whose footballer dad took to the right schools you see he ended up in a nice corporation .

Now drawing parallels with Kenya do you guys think marrying down will affect your kids? Say uoe dame kutoka kibera na wewe ni msee wa Langata will your household tend to be disadvantaged juu ya peasant habits za wife ama you can upgrade her software aanze kua na a baller outlook on life

Which Soweto boy are you talking about?

The one who was assaulted at 14 years and admitted to the hospital?

I think huyo alijaribu. I think his intelligence and education background helped him despite coming from a poor background.

At 28 years, most men haven’t reached the peak of their lives. Except for the rugby player, hakuna mwenye unaeza sema amekafunga vizuri.

Even the white rich kid mwenye anafanya Masters ilibidi amerudi home kwa mzazi juu ameshindwa ku-afford lifestyle.

I think at 35 years, that’s when you separate the wheat from the chaffe. Since that Soweto boy is not in a hurry to have children, and he has a decent office job despite dropping out from university, I think he could do well for himself by 35 years; but if he’s smart.

Ujue already amekuwa ameenda Germany akarudi so amepata exposure outside of South Africa.

Btw what job did the soweto boy have, I have kinda forgotten…

I think I have confused the kids.
The name of that boy is “Lunga” and he lived in Durban close to the cemetery.
The kid was lucky to get a scholarship in a decent school.

At 28, they don’t say where he works. But seems to live in a decent apartment.
His girlfriend wants to get married and have kids, but the guy is not in a hurry.

All those other kids from Soweto didn’t get out, except that kid who went to international private schools.

Yea they didn’t say what job he was doing I clearly remember