98.4 NEWS:Garbage-to-charcoal venture earns 27-yr-old a date with Queen

The 27-year-old had traveled to Tanzania for work when she saw how forest cover at the foot of the mountain had been depleted as the appetite for charcoal grew.

“The forest there was well on its way to becoming extinct due to charcoal burning activities conducted there. That sight horrified me. It also stirred something in me that I did not think existed,” Chebet, a 2016 Mandela Washington Fellow says.

Upon returning, Chebet took over eight months toying with an idea; how to use alternative methods of making charcoal without the use of timber.

After conceptualizing the idea with the help of her friends, Chebet formed BrightGreen Renewable Energy, a social enterprise that uses various forms of waste such as agricultural and paper waste to make charcoal.

“We collect waste from shambas and markets, which we usually burn through a process called carbonization. This then turns into a material called char, which is a black powder with the same properties as charcoal. We then compress this powder into blocks to form charcoal.”[ATTACH=full]101806[/ATTACH]

Sourcing the Sh1.5million that she used to establish the company was not an easy feat. Neither was establishing an enterprise in a field that is predominantly male with no prior experience.

Betting against the ‘charcoal culture’ in Kenya has been hard, which Chebet says, is so ingrained in people that an alternative is almost unthinkable.
“However, once our target market understands what we have to offer, which is a combination of cheaper soot-less charcoal, the reception becomes very good

The charcoal has also been well received because of what Chebet considers to be its cost effective nature – a 35KG sack of traditional charcoal is sold at Sh1,600 and includes a lot of waste, especially at the bottom. “We sell a 50KG pack of charcoal at Sh1,500, that consists of pure charcoal, with no form of waste.”

Apart from household consumers, the charcoal has captured a market that Chebet had not initially anticipated when she was launching – companies.

“We now get companies and institutions which have prolonged cooking periods as our charcoal has long burning properties.”

Additionally, the product has been achieving one of its goals which are conserving the environment by reducing deforestation. As such, BrightGreen has processed more than 80 tonnes of clean cooking fuel from recycled waste.

She can gerrit!

Mimi nataka kusupply LPG gases to Nairobi suburbs alafu nawabill kila mwezi kama stima… billionaires Sijui kama hii service iko huko kitisuru ama bado?

wht about sabotages…watu wengine kama @snapdragon labda wauliwe kwanza

Wale wakisii wa kutoboa pipes za maji wata siphon gas yako yote

Other 27 year olds are busy comparing selfies on instragram.

These are the people media should highlight, success stories. People whose contribution have an impact on our daily lives. So sad that majority (including me) didnt know anything about her until today.

Mumeskia nyinyi watu wa media??? [SIZE=6]STOP MAKING STUPID PEOPLE FAMOUS.[/SIZE]

you guys know that appearing on media is not a sign of success right?, anyway, more power to her!

Great idea but I am not sure whether it would work.

Cost of gas has tremendously gone down. I can fill the big cylinder of 13kgs at around 2k at the gas station and it serves a family about 3-4months minimum.

What do you view as the average consumption per household? How does that compare the cost of setting up the necessary infrastructure to support this service (installation plus maintainance). We have not even gotten to the part about market acquisition (convince consumers that your way is more efficient and cheaper, are landlords, residents or even estate maintainers going to allow you to lay the pipes considering how risky an accident would be )

Actually gas prices have gone up in the last 3 or so months.

you remember that ka chic who quit her banking career to make eco-posts? Media highlighted her products and shes been laughing all the way to the bank since then because of the exposure.

Kazi sikuhizi tu nikuoneshwa matako za akina huddah na vera sidika for ratings. Kenyan media sucks!!!

Kwani hutaki tusafishe mecho

Wewe na @kingolonde ?

OCS unasumbua

[ATTACH]101836[/ATTACH] [SIZE=5]you are talking about gas[/SIZE][ATTACH]101834[/ATTACH]
[ATTACH=full]101833[/ATTACH]

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NjNBC4mC5y4

Such a nice pun but no one will catch it[ATTACH]101839[/ATTACH] nigga here need an urban dictionary for everything

Lorna Rutto ama?You should see the convertible she rides!!! Shes very aggressive

yeah. Thats her. Couldnt remember the name.

that was some form of marketing, which is good. Have you ever met someone who is stuck there? always reminding everyone of how famous they are and all for not!

Hizi sio shida his prospective customers would notice. A difference of like 500bob for something that will last for over 3 months under very intensive use is peanuts to someone that affords to live in a high end suburb.

Remember that people do not like monthly bills hence his biz would most likely not work

Afande priss. I am not team nduthi/arimis.