A Patriot's Letter to H.E Uhuru Muigai Kenyatta, EGH, C-in-C. (long read)

Mr President,

In the toxic political environment that Kenya finds itself in, it is foolhardy for a government supporter like me to ask hard questions of your leadership. Whatever I say will be lurched on by the opposition as evidence of massive disenchantment in Jubilee, while ardent supporters of your administration will dismiss me as a despicable turncoat. Any possible sense that I may speak will get lost in the melee between the two sides.

Yet, even in these circumstances one must try – for love of country, if nothing else – to raise his voice above the partisan din that so divides the nation. It is as much as any patriot can do, to try to speak truth to power about issues that threaten our nationhood.

Nothing at the moment, in my mind, presents a starker and more dangerous existential threat to Kenya than the Al Shabaab menace. In the last 12 months alone, we have seen just how devastating this threat can be. From the massacre in Al Adde to the more recent attacks in Kolbiyow and Mandera, and even the earlier outrages in Westgate and Garissa, it is now clear that Al Shabaab is determined to destroy our beloved Kenya.

Given this reality, the least one expects is that all instruments of state would be committed to meet this threat head on with the objective of neutralizing it, or at the very least minimizing its damage to the Kenyan nation. In this response, Kenyans expect that the full weight of critical state security organs – intelligence, police, and the military – is brought to bear in a coordinated and effective manner that is both professional and dedicated

The security assets Kenya possesses make this imminently possible. The country has one of the biggest security budgets on the continent, with the military and intelligence sectors accounting for more than $3 billion in both appropriations and aid. In the sky we have a fairly competent air-force with F-5 fighter jets and ground-support platforms such as helicopters and Short Tucanos.

On the ground, our army is well-equipped and trained, including formations of Special Forces, while at sea we have a credible naval capability to defend our shores.

In the circumstances, Mr President, we must ask ourselves the hard questions; why does Al Shabaab – basically a rag-tag outfit that rides into battle in Landcruiser pick-ups with men wearing T-shirts - keep getting the better of us? How does a militia that has no air support, armoured vehicles, drones, howitzers or even body armour over-run our Forward Operating Bases (FOBs) and massacres our gallant soldiers?

The military and the intelligence community would like us to believe that they are doing all they can to neutralize the Al Shabaab threat. And truth be said, the simple privates and sergeants on the ground in Somalia and north-eastern probably are – their very lives depend on it.

But even to the untrained, sir, there is something suspiciously amiss – probably criminally and treasonably negligent - somewhere up the ladder. I fail to understand, for example, why it would take eight hours to offer air support to a besieged platoon of 120 soldiers just 18 kilometres inside Somalia. It takes a pair of armed and fueled F-5s from Mombasa less than 15 minutes to fly to Kolbiyow, and about 30 minutes for armed helicopter gunships to make the trip.

It also beggars belief that an army that is fighting deep in enemy territory does not have the humint and electronic intelligence to know when large-scale attacks on its bases are eminent. Where do all the tens of millions of dollars to our intelligence services go if not to pay informers and listen in to Al Shabaab communications? How can 600 fighters gather in the vicinity of a FOB without being detected, when a simple civilian drone which can be adapted to military use with night vision costs less than Sh500,000?

During the Al Adde attack, it emerged that the camp’s sole communication tool was a single mast that was taken out at the very beginning, leaving the soldiers there isolated. In this day and age of satellite and even cellular phone technology, why didn’t the military establish what is called secondary or redundant capacity – alternative channels of communication incase the main one failed? Is our military-intelligence formation that incompetent, Mr President, or are commanders just non-caring?

Even worse, Mr President, how can Al Shabaab militants perennially attack our border towns, on our own soil, with impunity? Where is the intel rom all the hundreds of Somali herders and traders (informants) NIS supposedly pays to give us blow-to-blow updates on Al Shabaab movements?

How come, with such a competent air-force, we have not taken down Al Shabaab’s propaganda radio station? How can it be our cyber-security units have not hacked and brought down the insurgent group’s websites? Mr President, where is the pro-active and innovative response of a competent military-intelligence structure to the threat which we now face?

Sir, I would beg of you to ask this of your commanders; how can FOBs be established deep in the bush without the requisite protective perimeters such as ditches and barriers to protect against VBIEDs? How can a soldier with just a rifle be expected to fight against a VBIED loaded with 1,000 kilos of explosives?Why were the lessons of El Adde not applied in Kolbiyow?

I can go on and on and on, Mr President.

Suffice to say, sir, that one would expect that a professional and patriotic security establishment would learn from its mistakes – like putting soldiers in Al Adde in the open under red plastic sheeting and calling it a FOB; or the debacle at Westgate where units shot at each other; or even Garissa University where it took 10 hours to fly in a SWAT team – to establish protocals and response parameters that limit threat and improve effectiveness.

Any military or security establishment that does not adopt to evolving threats is doomed.

Sir, the current state of affairs, where we seem to lurch from defeat to defeat at the hands of stoned loonies is unconscionable and totally unacceptable. It saps the energy and optimism of the country. That it is happening under your watch diminishes your presidency.

Sir, even to my un-military mind it seems that the decision-makers at the military, the police and the intelligence services - your commanders - have been criminally- and treasonably negligent at this the moment of greatest need in the fight against Al Shabaab. They all seem to suffer from the chronic lack of patriotism and professionalism that so afflicts the nation. They are detached, un-innovative and totally out of their depth.

If I was less gracious, I would say they incompetently corrupt, using the resources of state not to secure the nation but to build themselves apartment blocks, malls and hotels in the cities while junior soldiers and policemen die horrible deaths in explosions and hellish gun-fights in Somalia and at the border.

Sir, let me illustrate. For decades, Israel, a small nation of just 5 million has warded off hordes of invaders through absolute dedication and commitment of its armed forces and intelligence, fighting wars where the odds were often 20 to one. On all occasions, Israel has triumphed.

Mr President, I hang my head in shame when my beloved Kenya – a country of 45 million – allows its soldiers and citizens to be butchered like chicken by Khat-chewing loonies. And especially so when the commanders of these same soldiers somehow turn out to be some of the richest people in Kenya. Did they go to military school to learn about business, or how to prevent VBIEDs breaching bases? Your guess is as good as mine, Mr President.

This is why I would like to ask you sir, as my president and leader, as the commander-in-chief, to require of the security establishment a new, binding commitment to Kenya. Your generals and other commanders must either shape up or ship out. They must serve Kenya or go serve themselves out of the military and intelligence services.

As the president you must ask these fatcats, why are my soldiers in Somalia sleeping under red plastic sheeting with no defences against VBIEDs (a simple ditch dug by a bulldozer all round, or heavy boulders strewn strategically would suffice) when the military and the intelligence departments have a budget exceeding $1.24 BILLION?

Why can we not tell when Al Shabaab is about to attack Mandera when NIS gets over Sh1 billion to pay informants?

Why do we always respond to attacks 10 hours late? Why is Radio Andalus still on air when we have an airforce? Why is it we have never ever leveraged our intel and military assets to carry out decapitation missions against Al Shabaab on our borders and deep inside Somalia? How come we have not stopped the funding of Al Shabaab by sympathisers in Kenya?

Mr President, you must require results of your all commanders. My own suspicions are that they have grown fat and indolent over the years, and are too busy accumulating property to care. But now our boys – our hope and pride – are dying in unprecedented numbers at the hands of a blood-thirsty horde. My pride in nation and country is diminishing. This is untenable and unacceptable.

Sir, I besiege you; be the commander you are supposed to be, Mr President. Be a war president.

Be the commander-in-chief, and save the nation from this ignominy and pain.

Yours faithfully,

[SIZE=6]Field Marshal CouchPotato
Guka[/SIZE]

28 Likes

Some very bitter truths in there, the President has. underperfomed in the security sector, and it is not Al shabaab only, cattle rustling has become an bloodier and brazen affair.

Some straight shooting right there. I pray he gets this letter raw.

Nisaidiwe na summary.

Hiyo ya cattle rustling is too much.

Sip some cognac, smoke cohiba. Be indifferent. You had no ambitions to be president. You were made president.

Humble Request: Kindly circulate this letter widely on the interwebs.

I will be much obliged.

Boss, he can’t read all of that right now, atakwambia kwanza uchukue kura hii maneno ingine tutaanglia. I haven’t seen a single comment from him about the attacks, kazi ni kuambia watu wachukue kura. Answer this question very honestly, what is the main priority of Uhuru right now? Securing his second term or the plight of the soldiers in Somalia? You know the answer, lakini tuko pamoja ama namna gani :smiley:

16 Likes

You will be labelled a traitor and unpatriotic in no time. Don’t you know you’re not supposed to question Muthamaki and his government?!

Very well written guka.
Lots of points to ponder.
I too can’t understand how a base in hostile territory can’t have something as simple as a ditch all around it.
Even the colonialists and with no aid of mechanization used to dig deep trenches around villages to keep away the mau mau so it can’t be termed as new thinking.
Kenyan military commanders and planners are letting this country down.

13 Likes

Asking these kind of questions makes you a traitor. You will also be dismissively referred to as an overnight security expert. Seriously, some of these things fall under basic common sense, which is why it sounds really weird that the military has not implemented them.
Soldiers camping in bushes like it’s a romantic getaway in the Mara.
Soldiers getting back to chatting and preparing breakfast immediately after repulsing an attack. Not bothering to pursue the enemy or even thinking there could be a second wave of attack.
I read in one of the threads posted here about Kulbiyow that at some point the soldiers started praying/hoping Al Shabaab would run out of ammo.
Is that a military strategy? Do they teach that in military school? Praying for your enemy to run out of ammo?
We’re constantly told Kenya has one of "the best"armies in Africa. Top 10. If that’s the case then I can’t even begin to fathom how the worst trained army in Africa operates.

15 Likes

@Nattydread njoo uone traitor

Reminds me of maji maji rebellion

About alshabaab, they don’t mind dying . That’s why they had more than 3 suicide bombers . For our military, nobody plans to die. They want others to die to protect our country. Again when shabaab kills one KDF and lose 25 rats in the process it’s still a win for them. They have scored hugely when it comes to propaganda with their media and photos but it’s just that kdf is a conventional army and don’t want to go body by body taking photos and posting on social media. Tens of Bodies of kebabs in Kolbiyow are being buried by a grader and earthmovers in a mass grave but you don’t get the pics. Very unfair world if you ask me

I concur with guka 110%. This loss of our young men must be put to an end. Our generals must wake up and do their jobs, because seriously, some defense and offensive techniques require not a billion shilling budget but plain simple common sense.

@Budspencer, believe me I am pro-military to the core. I don’t doubt they have smoked thousands of these loonies.

But there’s something wrong - very wrong - when bases are breached by VBIEDs, and when air support for besieged units take 10 hours to arrive.

I am a civilian but I suspect the military has maintained the colonial command structure where theatre commanders have to call their superiors (in bed with their mistresses) to fly up a single chopper. You can’t fight a war that way. The FOB commander in Mombasa, for example, must be empowered to order F-5s into the air without waiting for permission from the airforce commander, who in turn has to seek permission from the CGS, who in turn has to phone Uhuru. And then the order goes down the same way - four hours and tens of lives lost before the F-5s take to the air!

11 Likes

when I see such comments, I pray harder for folks like you. It should be common sense that he’s telling people to register as voters so that they can choose better leaders. Leaders who can make tough decisions like firing those fat, wealth accumulating, retarded generals. In short he is telling you that you have the power to change him!

Now to guka’s thread and indeed to most of you, war is not beautiful, you do not have the basic facts of the incident or even the theatre assessment and understanding. All you emotional wrecks are judging the whole situation out of a few pics of the same people taken from different angles provided by the enemy! call me a sycophant but that’s the truth. Do you know how many enemy combatants have been killed or how many attacks have been prevented? I don’t dispute the fact that we have some failures that should not happen but blanket condemnation without facts should not happen and for the sake of it, soldiers do not die in silence; they have parents and siblings and friends and relatives.

***nimeketi pale na nimevaa helmet========>>>>

[SIZE=5]Carlisle: Air Force intel uses ISIS ‘moron’s’ social media posts to target airstrikes[/SIZE]
By: Brian Everstine, June 4, 2015 (Photo Credit: Mike Morones/Staff)

OPSEC isn’t the Islamic State group’s strong suit.

Airmen at Hurlburt Field, Florida, used social media posts by the insurgent group to track the location of an Islamic State group headquarters building. Twenty-two hours later, three joint direct attack munitions destroyed the target, said Gen. Hawk Carlisle, commander of Air Combat Command, at a June 1 speech in Arlington, Virginia.

“The [airmen are] combing through social media and they see some moron standing at this command,” Carlisle said at the speech, which was sponsored by the Air Force Association. "And in some social media, open forum, bragging about command and control capabilities for Da’esh, ISIL, And these guys go ‘ah, we got an in.’

"So they do some work, long story short, about 22 hours later through that very building, three JDAMS take that entire building out. Through social media. It was a post on social media. Bombs on target in 22 hours.

“It was incredible work, and incredible airmen doing this sort of thing.”

Carlisle’s comments came two days before a House Homeland Security Committee hearing on the Islamic State group’s use of social media. The group, experts told Congress, has published 1,700 pictures, videos and other publications, reaching up to 200,000 readers on Twitter and other sites. The media are used by “core propagandists” to recruit and, in the case of the airstrike, attempt to show off their ability.

Carlisle used his speech to outline the amount of destruction by the Air Force and coalition aircraft, including 4,200 strikes, dropping 14,000 weapons, resulting in about 13,000 enemy fighters killed. The coalition has destroyed more than 1,000 vehicles and 50 improvised explosive device factories, and most of the “cash cows” bringing money into the group.

“Their best way to make money was oil collection and refining capacity, and we’ve taken out about 90 percent of that,” Carlisle said.

U.S. Central Command has announced a multiple series of airstrikes on targets in the region this week. The most recent round, covering between 8 a.m. on June 3 and 8 a.m. June 4, saw coalition attack, fighter and remotely piloted aircraft conducting 17 airstrikes in Iraq and Syria targeting sites such as fighting positions, excavators, mortar positions and tactical units. Airstrikes included destroying a tactical unit in the Iraqi city of Ramadi, which is controlled by the Islamic State group.

The Air Force has flown constant intelligence, surveillance and reconnaissance flights over the battlefield, though the view has been muddy and “being able to identify the enemy is a challenge.” So that means the intelligence work done by the Air Force and related agencies has been important in the fight.

“Our ability to change the way they fight and change the way they mass is pretty impressive,” Carlisle said.

https://www.airforcetimes.com/story/military/tech/2015/06/04/air-force-isis-social-media-target/28473723/

Okay could you shed light on cattle rustling, raid in a place like ile ya Laikipia, then talk about the raid in Mandera, if the govt cannot come out clean on such matters and they let Alshabab and Media feed us in fo fast then we must BLANKETLY BLAME THEM, don’t assume all this people commenting here have not been to battle field or don’t have military knowledge “basic facts” (Direct-Indirect, Primary-Secondary), talk for yourself

There are serious question to be asked, what are attack helis for if they arrive late? why did they even take that long to get to Kulbiyoh when KDF was already on high alert expecting an imminent attack?

In El Adde’s case KDF said AS had anti-aircraft guns stationed in schools which made it impossible to drop reinforcements from the air or even offer support from the air, how the fuck did they not know AS had anti-aircraft guns in the first place?

We reportedly have some drones, how did they miss 3 SVBIEDs?

What plan does KDF have when it comes to neutralising the SVBIEDs threat?

How is it even possible that AS attacks our towns in the Northern Frontier and manage to escape (with our landcruisers kama jana) yet we have drones and attack helis which ideally should be our eyes in the skies?

Why did it take 10 hours to transport Recce guys when Garissa uni was under attack yet we have all manner of helis and planes in Eastleigh airbase and Embakasi?

Even the best militaries and security apparatus have some incompetent people in their ranks so these lapses are normal human behaviour but we need the President to address these issues, we should not lose battles we are well equipped to win.