A sad photo

Am imagining, someone took a loan, bought a shamba and built a small house for their family, only for this to happen, ati the land belongs to Govt.
Since ministry of lands is under govt, why not register all the govt land, riparian land, community land and block them from being sold to innocent, humble kenyans wanting to live their lives…
Such a painful photo…
[ATTACH=full]184683[/ATTACH]

Unless even the search documents had been changed then I blame people for not doing due deligence.

you can imagine the pain after loosing both the house and the land and from the belongings you can tell that they really struggled to reach where they have.

I do not think it is fair to blame our thieving gava all the time. If one is buying land in Kenya, they should do a proper research into ownnership. I have heard of brothers disagreeing na mwenye ako on the title deed sells the land to gullible but greedy buyers. Bloodshed right there. Land is a big issue in Kenya.

Our posts crossed paths. Coming from Kiambu nimesikia long scary tales. Hata title deeds are cooked huko Kiambu, you got to verify it.

Very true. There are many cases of land having multiple titles

Huku ni wapi

One time an uber driver showed me some houses built in Runda…quite a few. They are built on whatever ‘the land is called’ such that one day the owners will ‘wake’ up in a deep black hole. Amadioha forbid! If you have money to buy land, then surely you should have some set aside for proper legal advice.

We ain’t seen nothing yet. Wait until angry Kenyans decide to grab the land held by some rich folk back. Kutakuwa deadly and that day is coming.

deligence ni soot ya mcoondu?

Due diligence and prayer. These cons know that many people are conscious of performing all checks. So they find ways to beat them. As long as you have money in Kenya, everyone is out to scam you. All you have to say is that “ I m looking for…”. There’s 3 sellers already. And an agent.

Do your research before buying land. If you are conned to buy government land and your house gets demolished then you should ho after the person who conned you not the government who are reclaiming their land.

Hii ni land ya portland cement company watu waligrab wakidhani watakuwa compensated. Tuwache wizi ndogo ndogo kenyans

Land and title deed zote nowadays kupata ni kitu rahisi sana. But one thing people forget is to do land search.

Before you buy it ,research it again and again my friends.

And check the family history too…and pls do not tell the sellers, it could cost you your life. Is that so hard, just say you will get in touch when you are ready.

Mtu atakula copper…

Hiki ni kilio cha kujitakia.We should stop sympathizing with such people.Watu wajue kufuata sheria.

Wakishidwa na hiyo, watajua hawajui.

This we have talked till blue in the face. People who get conned are more often than not just plain greedy. You imagine you are quite the genius cutting corners here and there. You have been clued in on some gem of info that no one else but you is privy too. Then boom. Gone in 60 sec.

The rule is don’t trust, verify again and again.

1. Do a lands search. If a lot of cash is involved, do a green card search. Avoid delegating this task. Do it yourself.

2. Get a cadastal map of the area. These map sheets are available at the survey of Kenya. Illegally excised land wont appear on those maps.

3. Confirm the validity of the sellers ID card.

4. Know the seller really well. Ask whether the family has agreed to sell.Ask where they live and whether you are free to visit. If they refuse your visit, they have something to hide. Usiuziwe shamba kwa bar.

5. Never buy disputed land, even if you believe the seller on the right side of the law.

6. Visit the land you are buying and talk discreetly with the neighbours. If the place is not settled, get creative and find ways of identifying the neighbours. Talk with local brokers, they know a lot.

To save yourself time be upfront with the first 5 points, people won’t waste your time if you tell them you are going to carry out due diligence. Lakini kama wewe ni mtu wa tamaa, huwezi kusaidika.