A Visit To The Museum

I know some of you have been there…others kama @Meria Mata went there 22years ago…but one thing that remains is that the museum is such a spectacular place to visit.

Indulging in kenya’s rich history makes one realize how far we’ve come as a nation. I went there on a Saturday and spent and entire afternoon walking around seeing the history of man, the political and financial history of kenya, and etcetera.

One of my favorite sections was the financial history (provided by the central bank) as well as what I might call the political history. The latter section included stories of Dedan kimathi, his jacket and pistol. There were also they homemade guns used by maumau fighters and the double barrel rifles used by the wakoloni.

Seeing these things ‘live live’ makes one realize that these people and the history behind them are not just part of a good story about independence. They were actual people who lived, fought, and died for our country. They stood up with their weak wooden homemade guns and fought against strong and powerful double barrel rifles, all to gain independence and live a freer people-perhaps not much for themselves but for their children.

Yet, 50 years later, with no mkoloni to fight, we fight amongst ourselves about who sits on the throne. Dedan kimathi (and others like him) must be turning in his grave in irk every time a man exerts physical harm on another for political differences.

During this election, let’s look back at our history and realize that the only thing we truly need to fight for now is progress, development, and a better kenya for future generations; just as those who fought for our independence did.

And with those short remarks, let us all face the mountain of the gods and agree in unison that…

[ATTACH=full]117124[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]117125[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]117126[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]117127[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]117130[/ATTACH]

Butterflies
[ATTACH=full]117135[/ATTACH]

Looks farmiliar?
[ATTACH=full]117136[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]117137[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]117138[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]117139[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]117140[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]117141[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]117142[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]117143[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]117144[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]117145[/ATTACH]

These guys down here make me think of a certain old men…
[ATTACH=full]117146[/ATTACH]

I was last there in 1999, now i need to take my kids there (although the first one has been to the place in a school trip) atleast wajionee historia.

good pics.

I have seen where old monk and wakihoto are hibernating

[CENTER]Kenya’s Financial history[/CENTER]

[ATTACH=full]117155[/ATTACH] My mum had one like this, can’t tell where it disappeared to[ATTACH=full]117156[/ATTACH]

Zoom in to see descriptions
[ATTACH=full]117157[/ATTACH]

National bank ledger book; the fundamentals of accounting haven’t changed.
[ATTACH=full]117158[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]117159[/ATTACH]

My shosho has a padlock almost similar to that one
@Kasighau kwani uliuzia museum ile ratiri yako?
[ATTACH=full]117160[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]117161[/ATTACH]

Didn’t know there was once a ksh.500 coin
[ATTACH=full]117162[/ATTACH]

…or even a ksh.5,000 coin
[ATTACH=full]117163[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]117164[/ATTACH]

Kulikua na ten shilling note Fulani ilikua na ufunguo nikiwa…story was that ilikua imekopwa kwa matiba so money had to have that symbol until repayment…how true was this @gashwin
[ATTACH=full]117165[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]117166[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]117167[/ATTACH]

This one is the one I’m talking about @gashwin hio note ya kwanza
[ATTACH=full]117168[/ATTACH]

The man himself
[ATTACH=full]117169[/ATTACH]

I didn’t know kenya had such few CNN governors over its history. Only 9 in over 50 years…
[ATTACH=full]117170[/ATTACH]

Noti za queen
[ATTACH=full]117171[/ATTACH]

Kwani hairline ilikua inaanzia wapi?
[ATTACH=full]117172[/ATTACH]

Is this real gold? Hadn’t seen gold before and my eyes shone very brightly. How secure is the museum? Hii gold is worth like how much?
[ATTACH=full]117173[/ATTACH]

Tools za kina @mishty
[ATTACH=full]117174[/ATTACH]

Peleka yenye tena, school trips wanaendanga kukatiana tu, looking at dead animals is a waste of valuable time.

[CENTER]History of Man[/CENTER]

[ATTACH=full]117177[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]117178[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]117179[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]117180[/ATTACH]

Nikitaka kusafisha mecho, lakini clarity haikua…
[ATTACH=full]117181[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]117182[/ATTACH]

Reminds me of ‘son’
[ATTACH=full]117183[/ATTACH]
@G-STAR NYONGETHA share ideas na huyu
[ATTACH=full]117184[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]117185[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]117186[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]117187[/ATTACH]

naona Mafisi wako well represented. sande sana.

[CENTER]Down Memory Lane[/CENTER]
Hii sikuwai cheza
[ATTACH=full]117189[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=full]117190[/ATTACH]
When @introvert was younger
[ATTACH=full]117191[/ATTACH]

Used to be the goal keeper and mtu wa kushona ball
[ATTACH=full]117192[/ATTACH]

Now you know…Kikuyus don’t use time/season for naming…or do they?
[ATTACH=full]117193[/ATTACH]

Wolverine
[ATTACH=full]117194[/ATTACH]

@jumabekavu’s tools of trade
[ATTACH=full]117195[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]117196[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]117197[/ATTACH]

Nani alinyolewa na hii?
[ATTACH=full]117198[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]117199[/ATTACH]

Spot the famed posho mill owner…[ATTACH=full]117200[/ATTACH]

Tobacco[ATTACH=full]117201[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=full]117202[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=full]117203[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]117204[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]117205[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]117206[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]117207[/ATTACH]

The agreements of the Maasai. What were these about? Nikijaribu kusoma haisomeki juu ya handwriting…

[ATTACH=full]117210[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]117211[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]117212[/ATTACH]

What did the caption attempt to mean, as it looks incomplete?
[ATTACH=full]117213[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=full]117214[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]117215[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]117216[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]117217[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]117218[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]117219[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]117220[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]117221[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]117222[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]117223[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]117224[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]117225[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]117226[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]117227[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]117228[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]117229[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]117230[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]117231[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]117232[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]117233[/ATTACH]

[CENTER]Political history [/CENTER]

Check out the difference between European and African housing…
[ATTACH=full]117235[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]117236[/ATTACH]

Who attended the facade of the Duke of York boys secondary school?
[ATTACH=full]117237[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]117238[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]117239[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]117240[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]117241[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]117242[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]117243[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]117246[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]117247[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]117248[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]117249[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]117250[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]117253[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]117254[/ATTACH]

Woow this is so impressive. I must take my nephews and nieces to the Museum when we are home next. A few years ago I handled a project that gave the museum £100,000 …had nothing to do with the logistics but I signed it off and the Manager was so excited as my surname is Kenyan, he got in touch but lines have to be drawn. Naona it went to good use. However, the younger ones were so bored at Fort Jesus, they refused to walk. But they loved the Animal Orphanage.
Older ones were so interested and were taking piks and NOTES.