Abolish all boarding schools.

A few days ago, a government taskforce committe proposed the abolishing of all boarding primary schools in Kenya, citing the institutions as encouraging lazy parents to abdicate their parental responsibility of bringing up children and passing it over to teachers and school management. In the same spirit, I propose that boarding secondary schools should also be abolished. Alongside that, the categorizing of schools as national, regional, county etc should also be abolished for the following reasons:

1. The high school learner of today is quite different from the learners of 60s,-90s. He/she has been brought up in a completely different environment with different dynamics and changing culture as opposed to the child of the former years. These learners require close supervision even during the high school years when they are in their delicate teenage years. We have all seen how these kids are burning schools, engaging in drug use amongst other ills. This is a sure wakeup call.
  2. National and provinvial schools were a colonia relic carried over from the colonial times. The children of the white mzungu and a few deserving homeguards attended the national schools while the children of the non-collaborating Africans were sent to these other schools. It is important to note that these so called national(mzungu) schools were better equipped and built compared to the ‘Nyeuthi’ schools. Buildings in schools like Alliance schools attest to this.
  3. No one derives any pride in the current times because their kid has been called to a big school. The end justifies the means.
    In the light of this, the govt should move forward and abolish boarding sections in all schools together with the colonial tags of categorization. They shoul then equip all schools equitably, with all facilities and workforce needed for conducive learning. Lariak day school should have the same facilities and same ratio of teacher: students as Limuru Girls. Students should then learn in the schools next to their homes or where it is convenient for them.

I tend to agree. Though some parents contend that a child becomes a man in boarding schools. I disagree with that notion. Also there is the fact that homosexuality is rampant in boarding schools:

https://www.nation.co.ke/counties/mombasa/PS-acknowledges-homosexuality-rampant--in-schools/1954178-4659698-wq4bc6/index.html

Ati a boy becomes a man in boarding school? Hogwash! What of the boys who go to day schools or don’t proceed to high school? Do they become women?

:smiley: :smiley: :smiley:
True, hio ni mistaken notion in my books

My woman told me alipelekwa boarding primary class 4.Fucking class 4. Hiyo ni mateso zaidi. She even told me there were class 1 boarders. That shit should be illegal straight out.

Such parents should be jailed!

Reminds me of a friend yy alianza boarding class three …we met in high school alinichapia hivo nikashtuka …ilibidi nimchapie reality nimshw hio wazazi walimfukuza nikamshe parents wake dont knw shit about him na yy hajui parents wake poa juu hio ni abandoning their duties

Kufika campo guy is always home every weekend

That thing will affect him for the whole of his life. He will never forgive them.

Nakubaliana na hii shit ya primary boarding schools. I know of a lady who was looking for a boarding school apeleke her brat, ndio apate time ya kuslay proper na kukamua wanaume!

Lakini boarding high school hapo napinga! Kuna umama fulani day scholars wa high school huwa nayo!

She turned out Ok; didn’t she?

Mnataka mulee mayai alafu mucomplain baadae the generation is not empowered enough. Let them go to boarding school where they learn to be independent and self reliant; not like this cerelac babies of nowadays who are very dependent of their parents hadi akioa anaishi kwao…ama husstle ni kitu unheard of just because they have no job. And you wonder whats wrong with society nowadays??

The argument about homosexuality is weak. i attended boarding school and did not end up gay or encountering gayness.

Boarding schools are where men go to be men and women to be women; where self awareness is realised, independence, knowledge about life etc Let kids grow up.

And the caste system should definitely be encouraged. Categorization of schools is a must. No one in society is equal and that is just that. There is the rich and there is the poor. no need to feel pity for the poor just because they are poor. It was meant to be and the society can never be equal. Similarly with schools; the brainier kids will always be brainy and the dunders will always be dunders and its Ok. I detest that a kids works so hard to get 440 and gets sent to mumias high school against his choice of alliance(read today’s paper). Whats the point then?

I was dating another lady 3yrs my junior so I expected her taste in music to closely rhyme mine but it was not. That all her years since class one she was in boarding school. Parents who take their kids in primo to boarding schools are just lazy mofos running away from their roles as parents

I hear you Sir. But why don’t we also categorize our primary schools and use the pre-primary results for admission to kajinga schools and brainier schools.

True.

Lakini mimi siwezi tafuta pesa na nipeleke mtoi wangu boarding school. Kwanza lower primary? Never.
I was a day scholar from class one-campus-the day I earned my first three months salaries. Never been to a dorm or a hostel.

That’s how it should be. Loving financially stable parents can’t take their kids to so called boarding schools. Especially primary and junior high school.I know you are well brought up and you will always appreciate your folks for that gesture. May you do the same for your kids!

Wah, those were so many years kuachia mzazi mafudhi kwa sabuni yao. . I wouldnt say you are lucky or spoilt! But hiyo ni maisha siezi taka. Boarding school and living in campus taught me alot.

I leaned the family car since class 4, trimming the fence, working on the flower beds, chicken and pig rearing,… Basically weekend chores for a teenager.
Even today siwezi ita mtu afix area yangu ama maua. Or even playing some foot ball with my son. Juzi nimenunua haka ka car washing machine. Nipige gari maji na family hapo nyumbani badala ya kung’ethia na slayqueens tukimeza Jameson kwa carwash and grill clubs on a weekend. [ATTACH=full]213105[/ATTACH]

Mimi the only reason I went to boarding school is because it is a national school so singekataa. Though mi huwa lazy sanaaaa at least hio boarding ilinikeep on my toes. For primary school kids it should be illegal up to class 6. Wakienda 7 they can be allowed because some argue they concentrate better on their studies in such environment. High school Nate boarding is very important. Kitu tu wafanye ni kuforce all boarding schools zikue mixed. It’s not normal to have boys or girls only institutions when out there they’ll still mingle with members of opposite sex.

The only thing that should be abolished is Primary school boarding… Secondary school boarding ikos sawa tu.

At least class six and above.