Access Kenya aiming to offer low cost home broadband

Via Business Daily http://www.businessdailyafrica.com/Corporate-News/AccessKenya-returns-to-low-cost-home-Internet-with-US-partner/539550-3504870-1il43bz/index.html

http://www.businessdailyafrica.com/image/view/-/3504872/medRes/670063/-/maxw/600/-/6byth1/-/cable.jpg
Workers lay an underground cable for Internet service provider Access Kenya. PHOTO | FILE

By DAVID HERBLING

Posted Monday, January 2 2017 at 19:55

AccessKenya has partnered with a Silicon Valley start-up to offer households with low-cost data connectivity, returning to a market segment it exited in 2014.

The Internet service provider, ranked third in terms of broadband subscriptions in Kenya, is working with EveryLayer, a California-based firm, to deploy its excess bandwidth to homes in Nairobi’s densely populated Eastlands area.

Offered under the ‘Surf’ brand name, this last mile Internet service has already signed up more than 500 households in areas such as Buru Buru, Jericho, Kariokor, Pangani, Umoja, Hamza, Jogoo Road, Ngara, Nairobi West, and South C.

Surf’s cheapest home Internet bouquet costs Sh999 per month offering speeds of five megabits per second (Mbps), Sh1,999 monthly for 10 Mbps and Sh3,999 for faster downloads of up to 20 Mbps.

AccessKenya CEO Richard Hechle said even though the firm exited the home Internet market more than two years ago the deal with EveryLayer, ‘ensures that our infrastructure is fully utilised.’

“It is a mutually beneficial arrangement as we are reaping from the better use of the massive investment made in infrastructure and Surf’s expertise to increase connectivity in high density areas,” Mr Hechle told the Business Daily in an interview.

The company was serving only 2,000 domestic users who were plugged into the firm’s retail broadband product dubbed Access@home prior to the 2014 change of heart.

The AccessKenya-backed service also offers pay-as-you-go Internet through 50 hotspots located across the capital’s central business district and Eastlands areas, and says it has registered more than 38,000 users.

Users buy daily, weekly, monthly or 90-day bundles and pay via M-Pesa. For example, it offers a daily plan for 100 megabytes (MB)at Sh20; 500 MB weekly bouquet for Sh100; and 3 GB in a monthly plan for Sh500.

“It is aimed at delivering affordable and quality bandwidth to middle and low income households, by using our infrastructure to deliver the connectivity to these residential areas,” said Mr Hechle.

Hii wimbo temeskia tangu 1963. Watafute kazi ingine.

These businesses will never learn.

They should ask Barclays Kenya - walijifanya they don’t deal with peasants and closed all the rural branches and sold the properties/premises.

Nowadays branches zimefungulia hata kwa cattle dips - but peasants had already moved on to Equity Bank.

11 Likes

Niliwaitia job wakajifanya “kisukari” na ku quote prices zingine hazijuani, hehe
Now i see they are swallowing their humble pie.

I use access kenya 2mbps and it is very good.

The price is OK but why do all ISP only consider Eastlands or densely populated areas of Nairobi where all other ISP is serving the same pool of customers. Three months ago Safaricom came calling on my door asking if I would consider Vuma fibre if they lay the fibre in the whole area. I told them I will even volunteer to help with the work. Everyone said yes and 2 weeks later the whole place is connected. I’m literary streaming and downloading books, documentaries and shows.

Asked for connection to their service, was told that capacity is full. Ati they would notify me once they re-open connections in my area. Guess who got my money again? Zuku :frowning:

Economies of scale kaka. They don’t require much to connect you to the KP fibre grid. And you pay them every month.

Zuku and Faiba better lube arses. It’s no longer business as usual.

Na hizo hotspots ziko wapi?

Where does Faimba get its business? They are damn expensive, compared to Zuku and Access Kenya

how much @virus? naitaka; connect mimi na wao.

It is shared though; uko mtaa gani?

huku embakasi can it be shared?

Definitely

fuck mbs, we want reasonably priced unlimited Internet.

Shida ya hizi kina ‘surf’ ni eti you don’t get your own router, so mostly you’re restricted to wireless, secure devices only. And then the issue of privacy arises… Wacha nikae na Zuku nitegee mwenye atajitokeza na router yake…

…@the_virus, Can I have the same services at Kikuyu?

…if they don’t have their fiber cables here, I have my WiMAX kit… the Radio and the IDU… how much will they charge?

kama kila mtu hana router yake then hata pricing ikue poa aje bado ni meffi

waaah kukiendelea hivi ISP watakua wanazunguka mitaani kama wale wa kuuza simcard napenda sana[ATTACH=full]76422[/ATTACH]

Virus, can you share cable Internet? I have asked same question again but I don’t see the reason why i can’t turn myself into a supplier to small homesteads around