Accident Alert: Salgaa

1 dead, several injured in an accident involving three lorries, a 14 seater matatu and a saloon car at Salgaa
[ATTACH=full]82535[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]82536[/ATTACH]

This is becoming a common occurrence, at this rate we are going to have national holiday to remember victims of salgaa accidents…

gover should consider extending the dual carriage from nakuru to salgaa

Shait!

will this eliminate the driver indiscipline?

no but it will reduce incidences head on collisions which are majority of accidents there

The dual carriage on that stretch has always come up whenever there is an accident… sometimes i wonder if the government has a specific number of ppl that should die before act… This thing is due yesterday!!! :mad:

and then they are doing the grid separation at njoro turn-off and total, that cost would have done a few kms of the dual carriage

i will say it again, make acquiring PSV and heavy commercial driving licenses a difficult task. One has to undergo a tedious test before acquiring any of the two licenses .yaani mtu akipata he holds a party kama vile graduates do. In Europe before getting a PSV/Heavy commercial DL utakuwa umeona moshi na kunyanganywa pia sio ngumu. Do an accident like the above and you’re banned from ever driving again.

People here fail kawaida driving tests more than 3 times and mind u it’s not cheap. A driving course takes 3 months…wacha vile Kenya in 2weeks one has a lic3nse

If u have ever driven a manual lorry or any car at high speed and on single lane roads, an accident is always a blink of an eye away. Any slight miscalculation kwa steering will lead you direct to hell…That road should be dualled mpaka Eldoret.

Niko na swali I don’t think that stretch ya salgaa blackspot ni mrefu. Why not put under passes ,Fly overs and dual carriage on that black spot . Even if you increase fuel levy with 20 shillings for 2 years to fund this project to save life of Kenyans hatutakataa. Jameni how many deaths will be enough to spark changes ?

black spot means what?

@Eng’iti nchwango onkonyi egasi eye

We will hold inter-denominational prayers at that “black spot” to drive away the demons that have been causing accidents, go back home and hope for the best.
Prayers are a revolutionary way of stopping accidents. Plus they’re faaaaar cheaper than cracking down on errant drivers, building dual carriageways, toll booths, speed bumps and other nonsensical solutions that have been suggested by other talkers.

unaitisha backup na kikwenyu

Wapi ile ya modern coast ikitoka Mombasa asubuhi?

Scroll down, na sio modern coast ni dream line

i think i can explain why there will always be more accidents apa salgaa and pia mtito andei areas. if you have ever driven yourself like from western kenya like say kakamega or kisumu you will always realise you normaly start getting tired as you approach nakuru or once you pass kericho. you normaly loose concentration and even you might doze off a couple of times. ukifika limuru baridi hukupiga mpaka unaamka tuu. the same way when you coming from nairobi to mombasa or vise versa normaly drivers hua kuchokea mtito andei , emali etc. esp for someone who aint soo used to driving long distance or its even worse if you got the underpowered uncomfortable jalopies like say premio 1.5.(pun intended )
i think these are some things that contribute to increased accidents in our highways. but then again this is just my thinking

Hio stretch iko poa…its the drivers who are reckless and impatient. Atataka kuovertake the car in front just because kuna space imetokea. People should learn patience bana

nice analysis and observations. kwanza hapo kwa 1.5 premio ni kweli mtupu. trying to overtake a stretch of trucks on a single lane with this jalopy is a nightmare, you floor the pedal but acceleration is too slow and you just invite full beam flashes from oncoming vehicles.