Dismiss Notice
You cannot view some content because you are browsing this site as a Guest. CREATE AN ACCOUNT to enjoy access to all content.
  1. Gio

    Gio Village Elder

    @admin @Deorro @Mundu Mulosi @Electronics4u why isn`t there an award for correctly betting who the winner of Checki Maneno Tours will be? Hata sisi we demand to be recognized in the roll we play. Checki Maneno TDF is arguably one of the most anticipated sporting events in the world and is an all out assault on the body and mind, and it is incredibly difficult. Hata sisi we want to enter a competition as to whom will win the Tours and get a FINANCIAL INCENTIVE as WELL AS A BIKE EMBLEM NEXT TO OUR AVATARS. Let`s have this debate now and here @introvert @Meria Mata @Mkufuu @Kenyacyclingnews @amun and any other cyclist, cyclist enthusiast and fans come let us agitate for our rights
  2. Gio

    Gio Village Elder

    Look at the statistics

    One rider has been King of the Mountains, won the combination classification, combativity award, the points competition, and the Tour in the same year—Eddy Merckxin 1969, which was also the first year he participated.[1]

    Twice the Tour was won by a racer who never wore the yellow jersey until the race was over. In 1947, Jean Robic overturned a three-minute deficit on a 257 km final stage into Paris. In 1968, Jan Janssen of the Netherlands secured his win in the individual time trial on the last day.

    The Tour has been won three times by a racer who led the general classification on the first stage and held the lead all the way to Paris. Maurice Garin did it during the Tour's very first edition, 1903; he repeated the feat the next year, but the results were nullified by the officials as a response to widespread cheating. Ottavio Bottechia completed a GC start-to-finish sweep in 1924. And in 1928, Nicolas Frantz lead the GC for the entire race, and at the end, the podium consisted solely of members of his racing team. While no one has equalled this feat since 1928, there have been four tours in which a racer has taken over the GC lead on the second stage and carried that lead all the way to Paris.

    Laurent Fignon, winner in 1983, was the last rider to win the race in his first appearance.

    The longest successful post-war breakaway by a single rider was by Albert Bourlon in the 1947 Tour de France. In the stage Carcassone-Luchon, he stayed away for 253 kilometres (157 mi).[5] It was one of seven breakaways longer than 200 km, the last being Thierry Marie's 234 km escape in 1991.[5] Bourlon finished 16 m 30s ahead. This is one of the biggest time gaps but not the greatest. That record belongs to José-Luis Viejo, who beat the peloton by 22 mins 50 secs in the 1976 stage Montgenèvre-Manosque.[5] He was the fourth and most recent rider to win a stage by more than 20 minutes.

    The 2005 edition was the fastest Tour de France in history. Lance Armstrong rode 3,592.5 km in 86h 15' 02", thus realising an overall speed of 41.654 km/h, though his win was later annulled.

    The slowest Tour de France was the edition of 1919, when Firmin Lambot's average speed was 24.056 km/h.[6]

    The fastest massed-start stage was in 1999 from Laval to Blois (194.5 km), won by Mario Cipollini at 50.4 km/h.[7] The fastest time-trial is Rohan Dennis' stage 1 of the 2015 Tour de France in Utrecht, won at an average of 55.446 km/h (34.5 mph).[8][9] The fastest stage win was by the 2013 Orica GreenEDGE team in a team time-trial. It completed the 25 km time-trial at 57.7 km/h.[10]

    The fastest climb of Alpe d'Huez was by Marco Pantani in 1997 Tour de France at 23.1 km/h.[11]

  3. Meria Mata

    Meria Mata Village Chief

    Hapo Sawa Gio, even @admin is a cyclist.
    Before epl kicks of tuanze kuona thread za arsenali inaua nyoka Leo let's talk cycling.
    introvert likes this.
  4. Gio

    Gio Village Elder

    Wacha niwekelee highlights za stage 2
  5. Thagichu

    Thagichu Village Elder

    Use the time to enroll for an English lesson pale kiwan computer college.
  6. Deorro

    Deorro New Villager Staff Member

    Gio wewe hata picha hauwekangi, kazi ni kuweka announcements pekee. No follow up posts.

    Akina @123tokambio always talk about football even when soccer seasons are over.
    123tokambio and Meria Mata like this.
  7. Gio

    Gio Village Elder

    Which one haina follow up after event photos?
  8. Gio

    Gio Village Elder

    Which one haina picha?
  9. Meria Mata

    Meria Mata Village Chief

    sande sana mwalim, sijui ni shulegani itachukua a fayfte yr old pupil
    amun likes this.
  10. The.Black.Templar

    The.Black.Templar Village Sponsor

    Good stuff...ata mimi naomba voice iskizwe!