AFCFTA launch given a total media blackout by most media houses worldwide , kenya included

The AFCFTA inaanza leo ; 1st jan 2021 …and i expected all news outlets to spread this information from limpopo to timbuktu…but looking around, even the world’s major news sites have ignored the story , how can the biggest trade bloc in the world get almost zero press even in africa… yenyewe people don’t want africa to unite

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7LkCbzRFYaE

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=worUgW3nxQM

@Jobi4 or @Jobi njoo hapa. This is how you help Africa help itself.

What this means is that a country like Congo will sell minerals to Kenya at lower tariffs than selling them to Europe.

This will force those international companies open factories in Kenya or any other African nation to take advantage of lower tariffs. This in turn will open employment opportunities and poverty will reduce somehow.

Question: does this free trade agreement apply to Tswana women of south Africa? Asking for my pet dog.

ABBA

If this goes to fruitation, the benefits will be immense for Africa.
ION, will the Kenya/Brit trade Agreement (And other trade deals) derail this important African Trade Agreement?

I think SJ, Goodhope, among others will be forced to lower/raise their tariffs to the level of other African Countries…
Meaning @cortedivoire akisema bei ni 150/=, hata wa-Tswana watalipisha hio bei.

Wacha upuss… tswana women are very decent and nice .hawaezi enda SJ.

the benefits will be instant… vijana watapata kazi

Omwami, I’m talking of standardization of (bei)…

Oooh si ungesema hivyo mapema… yes agreed .tariff ya sex itapungua pia…agreed

Free trade is the biggest hoax there is, 99% of the benefits are captured by the more developed country/ies in the agreement

Ngoja muone, Egypt and SA will accrue most of the benefits and increased employment and corporate growth will make up for the lost customs revenue.

The rest can only lose and will eventually introduce non tariff barriers

That is assuming that intra African trade grows. I can’t imagine Kenyans will now be looking to buy anything from Mozambique or Chad just because such imports are tax free

The speed with which the AfCFTA was negotiated, signed and implemented proves how useless it is likely to be

Ukiona CGTN doesnt that already tell you who is behind this new trade bloc.

And how his goods will move from Ghuanzhou to African capitals more easily.

[SIZE=6]AfCFTA an opportunity to expand China-Africa ties[/SIZE]
By Charles Okeke Source:Global Times Published: 2019/9/11 20:58:40

Illustration: Luo Xuan/GT

May 30, 2019, marked the official commencement of the African Continental Free Trade Agreement (AfCFTA). The agreement has been signed by 52 members of the African Union (AU), with three countries yet to sign. Observers are hoping that the three absentee members will sign the agreement in the near future to help bring together the over-1.2-billion people on the continent.

It is expected that the world would witness an increase in intra-African trade, and the agreement plans to cut tariffs by as high as 90 percent and harmonize trading rules. If everything goes as planned, AfCFTA is expected to increase intra-continental trade by 52.3 percent by 2022.

With the ambition of boosting Africa’s trading position in the global market, AfCFTA hopes to encourage more commercial activities within the region, with a more relaxed trading arrangement suitable for the unique circumstances of countries in Africa. It aims to raise Africa’s voice and negotiating power in the world’s trade engagements.

At the moment, it could be said that the majority of the members of AfCFTA are largely underdeveloped. The GDP of all AU members is $3 trillion, which makes it an important trade bloc in the world - but one that is still lacking in many areas.

[SIZE=7]China was able to use its clout in Africa to hasten the signing of the trade agreement, because the country sees huge potential in a united Africa where trade policies are harmonized. Low-cost manufacturing in a few years will shift to Africa, and for China that is a good thing as it constantly needs to buy cheap and quality finished goods.[/SIZE]

The scrabble for Africa since the end of the Cold War has made it the hub for investment. Superpowers like the US, the EU, China, Russia, and even India have pushed billions of dollars into Africa.

[SIZE=6]AfCFTA and the Belt and Road Initiative will not only consolidate the already-flourishing relationship between Africa and China, but will also help push for more investments in infrastructure connectivity, trade facilities, and industrial promotion.[/SIZE]

Critics of AfCFTA say that Chinese people will see loopholes in the agreement, which will be detrimental to the continent. For example, they argue that cheap and low-quality Chinese goods will fill up the market, thereby destroying existing, local manufacturing businesses. Proponents of the relations have said that this argument is baseless.

This trade bloc is just China invading Africa with its finished products as well as the desire for the raw materials and minerals found on the African continent.

The Chinese want to create a massive market in Africa.

China is in fact funding AfCFTA:

https://amp.scmp.com/news/china/diplomacy/article/3109800/china-africa-relations-beijing-says-it-will-help-pay-worlds

China this china that …Ferrk that. What has yunyaited states done for africa close to that trade agreement apart from AGOA shiit? Keep blaming on obama, soros, biden and china on your misfortunes. At least china is better when it comes to partnership than the west who tie aid to some untraditional african values . Ferk you and your ruthligans minions. We will make trade pact with whoever lifts us up hata kama ni cut and throat. Mkule kwenu…

Hahaha naona @T.Vercetti pale kwa corner amejikunja akimumunya kidole cha gumba pale kwa corner, tears flowing freely :smiley:

[SIZE=5]

And you think China does it for free or gives Africa free money???

You see that’s why you are a bonobo because you don’t use your brains.

China has no interest in helping Africans they just want to make money! Period.[/SIZE]

[SIZE=5]And they now realise that Africans have a large population with lots of money and potential.

With the U.S trade war China stands to lose a staggering $550 billion in exports to the U.S and they want to make Africa that new CUSTOMER. Whatever little manufactuting was going on in Africa will be wiped out instantly with this new dumping.

(But I know you have understood nothing from that comment, being a Luhya bonobo and all.)[/SIZE]

No foreign power will help you altruistically. Lazima someone who is funding you or a proponent of something ameona angle ya kujinufaisha… Probably at your expense rather than win-win

AFCTA much like the AU and its member countries is a non starter that’s going nowhere.

rare recording of talker

Mzee na huwezi erect wanawake ni wa nini unatafuta?