Agri-business ideas

with kedo 80k and 2 acres of land and irrigation water available, which profitable crop can i plant?

Onions

depends na uko wapi…I have 4 acres and manages so well with 150k. In asal lands pepper or tomatoes could be good to go…or watermon of which 50k is enough for 2acres

Red passion F1 ama ambari F1. Do you have any quotations i can use?

THIS LOOKS LIKE YOUR REAL NAME. TAFUTA JINA FAKE BANA. TIGA WANA

shamba iko laikipia. I saw melons zina do well pia. I will appreciate any quotations

huko inaweza do…enda tafuta sukari F1 hybrid seeds…they r xpensive…1kg n 18k and a kg n half are enough for 2 acres. kuna mbegu zile za melon za dark green n cheap like 2k tho melon ya dark green haina market.

ka ni nyanya tafta assila F1 inazaa poa n its the only hybrid thats disease resistant. …esp heat stress

An important thing will be to have the soil tested to be sure the crops you want to plant will do on the soil. Kitu 10k will do for the agronomist.

Crop enterprise selection depends on several factors key among which are
1 Land,
2 Capital,
3 Labour,
4Certified seed
5 Water, and
6 Esp Market for your produce.
A Gross margin analysis for the crops you intend to grow will then guide you as to the best crop.
But as rule of thumb, horticultural crops like onions, tomatoes, Spinach and traditional African vegetables and fruits including passion, pawpaw, melon give good ROI.
But without a good cropping calendar to guide you on when to plant, you’ll get high yields but low prices.
Onions are good coz you can store (about 6mnths) them and sell when the price is right. An acre can make you a Millionaire in just two seasons if you play your cards well.

I have a half acre sitting idle in Nairobi, good roads and all. Hii story ya onions fafanua tafadhali. Do I need a greenhouse?

Following upande wa onions,i’ve got half an acre in bungoma lying idle.

Water melons

[ATTACH=full]13048[/ATTACH]

@kijanamrefu you don’t need a greenhouse for onions. Profit from onions is about plant population. The higher, the better assuming you’ve taken care of the other factors esp husbandry and market timing. Let me put something together to act as a guide on the same.

If you going for melons search for sweet melons. Galia F1 or Cantaloupe. With that amount and location returns ziko poa. Only downside ni they require attention more than other types of melons.

With all the drama in the sugar industry, growing stevia ni option ama ni kuogezea mafuta kwa moto mkali?

Thank you. Waiting patiently.

Wait! Stevia has been a plant this whole time??? Salaleh!!