Akombe vs UN

[SIZE=4]2 NOVEMBER 2017[/SIZE]
[SIZE=4]Daily Press Briefing by the Office of the Spokesperson for the Secretary-General[/SIZE]

Question: Sure. A couple of things. On Kenya, the… the… I was told last week by… I guess by Farhan [Haq], that Roselyn Akombe is on leave until the end of the year and I had asked whether Ambassador [Macharia] Kamau had somehow démarched the Secretary‑General about [Ms. Akombe’s] role on the IEBC (Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission) and things that she said. I’m asking you now because I see an interview in the [Daily] Nation of Kenya quoting Roselyn Akombe as, “‘Yes, I’m back at my old job, but I am prevented from talking to the press. This was contained in the new contract I signed recently,’ she said via phone.” Maybe they talked to the wrong Roselyn Akombe but… or maybe talking to the wrong spokesman, but did she get her job back? I mean…

Spokesman: It’s… that would be… I can’t vouch for the veracity of the quotes, but that’s not the information I have, but I will be happy to look at what the [Daily] Nation says.
http://www.un.org/press/en/2017/db171102.doc.htm

Deputy Spokesman: I wouldn’t pronounce myself on anything that’s an action by someone who is on leave. If there’s an issue for them upon their re‑entry, we would have to resolve it with that staff member upon that point. At this stage, like I said, she’s on leave until the end of this year. She… and so she does not act in UN capacity and shouldn’t be identified as acting in a UN capacity.

[SIZE=4]26 OCTOBER 2017[/SIZE]
[SIZE=4]Daily Press Briefing by the Office of the Spokesperson for the Secretary‑General
[/SIZE]

Question: So, she should… that should be removed… I mean, I’m wondering… can you see why the public sees UN Secretariat boycott election…?

Deputy Spokesman: Well, what I’m saying, clearly, from here is that, at this point, she’s not acting in a UN capacity. You know, she is on special leave without pay, and that’s been clear. If… like I said, if there are any issues that the Ethics Office needs to deal with, I will leave it to them to handle that. All right. Yes, one more.
https://www.un.org/press/en/2017/db171026.doc.htm

[SIZE=4]23 OCTOBER 2017[/SIZE]
[SIZE=4]Daily Press Briefing by the Office of the Spokesperson for the Secretary‑General
[/SIZE]

Question: Same topic? Sure. I wanted to ask you. This, again, goes back to Ms. [Roselyn] Akombe, because, since Friday, there’s been an article in the Nation in Kenya in which Raila Odinga is… is quoted as saying he was in, quote, constant contact with… with Ms. Akombe, you know, speaks about death threats. But, in any case, it really calls into question the… the… the… it would seem important since she is… at least was and presumably still has a post at the UN, to have some kind of disclosure of what… how this took place. I asked on Friday whether the Kenyan ambassador, Mr. [Macharia] Kamau, demarched António Guterres for the entire situation around Ms. Akombe. He said he wasn’t aware of a meeting. So now, three days later, can you confirm that? Because people upstairs, that’s what they say.

Spokesman: I have no meeting to confirm, as I pointed out the last time you asked this. Regarding Ms. Akombe, she is on leave and will continue to be on leave through to the end of this year.
http://www.un.org/press/en/2017/db171023.doc.htm

[SIZE=4]19 OCTOBER 2017[/SIZE]
[SIZE=4]Daily Press Briefing by the Office of the Spokesperson for the Secretary-General
[/SIZE]

Question: Okay. All right. And the other thing, this is about Roselyn Akombe. There’s a lot of questions now in Kenya. She had quit, as you may… as I’m sure you know, the Electoral Commission in Kenya. She said the elections won’t be credible, and she’s returned to New York. So the questions are, including from there, has she now resumed her work for DPA?

Spokesman: No. As far as I know, she continues on special leave without pay.

Question: Does the UN, given that she obviously has been a respected member of DPA and that she said publicly on BBC that the election on 26 October will not be… cannot be credible, does the UN share that assessment?

Spokesman: Her assessment is hers and hers alone. Yep, in the back. Go ahead.
http://www.un.org/press/en/2017/db171019.doc.htm

[SIZE=4]RUNAWAY AKOMBE RETURNS TO WORK AT UN, BUT ON A CONDITION[/SIZE]
“Yes, I’m back at my old job but I’m prohibited from talking to the press. This was contained in the new contract I signed recently,” she said via phone.
http://nairobinews.nation.co.ke/news/runaway-akombe-returns-to-work-at-un-but-on-a-condition

UN Standards of conduct for the international civil service

1. In view of the independence and impartiality that they must maintain, international civil servants, while retaining the right to vote, should not participate in political activities, such as standing for or holding local or national political office. This does not, however, preclude participation in local community or civic activities, provided that such participation is consistent with the oath of service in the United Nations system. It is necessary for international civil servants to exercise discretion in their support for a political party or campaign, and they should not accept or solicit funds, write articles or make public speeches or make statements to the press. These cases require the exercise of judgement and, where there is any doubt, should be referred to the executive head. http://www.un.org/en/ethics/pdf/StandConIntCivSE.pdf

Chickens are coming home to roost?!?

It also brings into perspective how much they were prepared to lose for JaKuon to win. There’s Lady in Pennsylvania, or was it New Jersey, who once gave up her $40,000 retirement fund to support JaKuon’s bid in 2007. She ended up jobless and broke and Raila Odinga ever pick up her phone calls after he lost.

There’s a sucker born every minute.

Supporting a politician is a gamble. It’s a smart business move if your candidate wins. He may win or not. Many people support politicians to the tune of several millions in fact even in dollars. As for the lady, how sure is she Raila got the money because as is common in political fundraisers, his associates may have channeled it to other uses. The quickest way to extreme riches in Kenya is gambling politically, which is what the lady attempted. So par se, she is not a sucker.

Boss, unastajaabia Ksh. 4M retirement fund, kwani how worthless are you, meno brown?

all gamblers are suckers

4m ni pesa kidogo sana ya campaign, she should have thought twice or rather supported the President because that was a sure bet.

meffi

For a dish washer, that takes decades to save. But of course I do understand for the first-world internet trolls, that’s chump change.

During the August polls i supported our homeboy for the MCA post but we lost.
There was another candidate that approached me to be his campaigner, mimi kama Duke nilikubali but i was there for the mullah, jama alinistuka but luckily they both lost during nominations. Sasa kitu funny ni jama alipewa job kwa ward me nika parara

The more curious thing was the kind of people he was seeking this support from. People who support political candidates also normally have an agenda and can risk some cash to achieve their goals. But there are people a millionaire has no business approaching. If you live from pay check to pay check and don’t have a Lincoln parked outside, you have no business pouring your life savings into a political candidate, in another country, nonetheless! That’s just plain stupid and the kicker is, JaKuon knows these people feed from the palms of his hands! If he had told them to cut off an ear or a finger to raise funds, they’d want to know “right or left”.

It’s morally irresponsible to leave people who do not know where their next meal is coming from, high and dry. That DIV lottery does export some village problems to places where beneficiaries are worse off.

I am pretty sure what you gave your homeboy was money you were going to waste on “dirty sanchez” or beer. In other words you could afford it. There are people who defy logic however.

3 NOVEMBER 2017
Daily Press Briefing by the Office of the Spokesperson for the Secretary-General

**Kenya

I wanted to say that I stand corrected on the status of Ms. Akombe within the United Nations. Ms. Akombe returned to the UN earlier this week. She had been on special leave without pay after being nominated by the Kenyan government to serve on the country’s electoral commission. Following the end of that assignment late last month, Ms. Akombe requested to curtail the period of her special leave and resume her work for the Organization. Regarding a supposed stipulation in her contract prohibiting her from speaking to the media, there is of course no such contract and no such stipulation in any UN contract. According to the longstanding media guidelines for UN personnel, staff may speak to the media on their area of expertise and to provide factual information. I was just not informed of that development.

***Questions and Answers

Question: I have other stuff, but on this Roselyn Akombe thing, I guess, I wanted… since I’d asked yesterday, so apparently, they did… it seems like the Nation did speak to her because that is how, that’s how it became public, and they did directly quote her as saying that she signed a new contract and that she’s not allowed to speak to the press about the Kenya elections. I want to know did she, in fact, sign a new contract? Will you confirm, given the fact that it appears clear that the Kenyan Ambassador demarched and said there was something wrong with the special leave without pay that was granted to go and work on an election and then call for the boycott of the election. What has the Secretary‑General learned from this? Does he have any response to what the Kenyan Ambassador has raised, and why would she say it’s in the contract if it’s not?

Spokesman: I don’t know. I wasn’t present when she gave the interview. What I can tell you is the fact that there is, no UN contracts do not have gag rules or staff contracts do not have gag rules that prevent people speaking to the press. There are media rules in place, people are encouraged to speak to the press in their areas of responsibility. That is a fact and that stands. Her special leave without pay was granted through the usual channels, and each case is examined on its merits.

Question: Given that during the special leave without pay, she said boycott the elections, is there… I guess, that is why I’m asking you because it seems like it’s unclear to others what they can do either when on leave or not, like is there an inquiry into that? Is that a closed matter, is that something…

Spokesman: I’m not aware of any inquiry. Ms. Landry.
http://www.un.org/press/en/2017/db171103.doc.htm

http://www.innercitypress.com/kenya8akombe110317.html

8 NOVEMBER 2017
Daily Press Briefing by the Office of the Spokesperson for the Secretary-General

Question: Okay. Two investigation questions. One, I just want to ask you again whether you’ll, I guess, confirm or deny that… that the Secretary‑General’s requested an OIOS [Office of Internal Oversight Services] inquiry into the circumstances of the… of the leave without pay of Roselyn Akombe…?

Spokesman: I’m not aware.

Question: …several people on 38 have said… is it…?

Spokesman: You… the people on the 38th floor you talk to don’t talk to me, so I’m not aware.

Question: I guess, as matter of practice, given… given that this is the only way that UN staff can know what they can or cannot do, can you…?

Spokesman: No, no, if I become aware of things I can share with you, I can share, but I’m just not aware at all of this. Okay?
http://www.un.org/press/en/2017/db171108.doc.htm