Am feeling like a monster, aki! Was I wrong?

So today am working from home and this brat, a boy of about 12 jumps over my back wall at about 12PM to chuna those yellow yellow fruits called (loquits?? no time to gugu right spelling).

Now this troop of boys has been doing that for some time, jumping over the wall and making my backyard their playground like its some government property. There’s a big kijiji across the road, and you can imagine the number of children in my backyard sometimes - like 15, including gals, making all kind of noises.

THEY HAVE EVEN BROKEN THREE PANES ON MY HOUSE IMAGINE, I GUESS WHEN THEY ARE THROWING STONES AND STUFF UP THE TREE.

Over the last three weeks I’ve been asking the kids to send in three big boys at the same time to chuna for all of them, after getting my permission or that of another adult in the house, to no avail. I have told them its wrong to jump into somebody’s compound in such large numbers without permission and that amounts to stealing. The kids don’t care. They just jump over and make a racket. The other day I was called at work and was called to ask the watchman to chase them off - they were making a mess of everything!

In the new legal dispensation, am also afraid that if any of the kids falls down the wall or the tree, the law could be against me. And there’s that distant possibility of a rogue parent accusing me or a male resident of my home of DFHKM their galchild, who in fact would have been defiled by a bigger boy…

So today there I am, trying to reply to emails and this noisy kid jumps in and goes up the tree like he owns it. He shouts to his pals out there and starts making a racket that awakes a baby in the house.

I JUST SNAPPED.

I got hold of the boy and gave him those very painful michunos that our mothers used to give us kwa cheeks na neck. The boy started howling like crazy. Nikamchuna some more and he howled and howled mpaka a small crowd of other boys and gals gathered up the wall on the other side to watch.

The boy climbed up the wall and disappeared.

Now the trouble is, I CANT EVEN ANSWER THE EMAILS. I CANT WORK. I FEEL LIKE A MONSTER.

Am not sure I did the right thing in chunaring the boy. AM I MONSTER?

(For the record, I only chunad ile without nails.)

YES YOU ARE! SHAME ON YOU. Lets the Kids be. Who will eat those wild fruits if you don’t let the kids be themselves…eeew I cant imagine the thought of a guks climbing a tree.:confused::confused::confused:

I don’t think you acted wrong, that’s not excessive punishment, how else were you supposed to deter this. You select one and make an example.
You have been very torelant and no good could have come out of this

ungeongezea two hot slaps juu yake

Zamba, Lugards(sp)… are trees that attract both kids and monkeys… in my opinion you should have given him hot ngotoz… its more manly than pinching… hehe

Tl;dr an old geezer feeling remorseful for pinching trespassing kids.

Kudos! If we had more people like you this world would be a better place…

Manki, these ones DONT get in through the gate - THEY JUMP DOWN A SIX-FEET WALL.

They DONT ask for permission.

They dont clean up after.

And they have broken my window panes.

Still…that gukaish thing…

Wewe ni mpole mimi nachapa mtoto wa watu nyahunyo proper plus two hot slaps

Did the others witness you discipline this boy? If so then they learnt their lesson.
However, pinching can be dangerous as the marks can be visible much later and somebody might accuse you of child molestation. Next time just slap.

Octogenarian, two rottweilers should do the trick. BTW, i have Gsd puppies

Kwani huna razor wire on your wall. Wait until some bigger boy jumps over and DFHKMBL ndio utajua umuhimu

Child molestation…naaaaaaaaaaaah! The others were watching. Maybe assault

Nothing wrong …wait and see whether the parents will try and come to confront you , I highly doubt that …since the kids are naughty

get a dog and leash it to the tree

You can make a deal with one, come through your gate, picks all the boys fill and exit through the same gate. No need for fruits to go into waste if can benefit someone.
Saidia watoto mate.

Pheuxxxxxxxxxxxxx! The verdict so far is that am not a monster. I feel a little bit relieved ukweli.

And to clarify Brayo, I did not completely refuse the kids to have the fruits which would waste anyway. ALL I ASKED IS THAT THEY FOLLOW PROCEDURE. THIS WILL HELP THEM APPRECIATE BAD AND GOOD, AND PROPERTY RIGHTS too. JUST BECAUSE I HAVE MAIZE IN MY compound doesn’t mean anybody should harvest even a cob, does it? But if you ask, why not?

people are wonderfully gifted:D:D:D, wacha nicheke kwanza

Agreed Guru. BUT THIS IS EXACLY WHAT I HAVE BEEN ASKING THE BOYS, TO NO AVAIL (re-read my post). They just dont seem to care. They jump in, make a racket, drop down a tonne of leaves and branches, and make off with their loot.

(Confession: It doesn’t help that my compound is unkempt!)