Amidst the celebrations....

https://3dwnh01icn0h133s00sokwo1-wpengine.netdna-ssl.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/07/2015-07-08_15-19-12.jpg

The frenzy of Bahati residents in Nakuru celebrating the victory of President Uhuru Kenyatta was cut short after a 14-year-old boy was run over by a lorry and badly injured.

The boy, a KCPE candidate at Lenana Primary School, was run over by the lorry that had the music system entertaining hundreds of residents along the streets of Mchanganyiko estate shortly after the winner was announced.

Wacera Chege, the mother of the victim, told the Citizen Digital that her son is currently unconscious at St. Mary’s Hospital in Gilgil, with his KCPE fate now not known as he is unable to sit for the national exam that kicked of this morning, October 31.

“He has also fractured both his legs and hands. I am confused at the moment because my son was to start his exams today,” said Wacera.

The single mother is now calling upon Jubilee elected leaders in the county to help her settle the mounting hospital bills.

If the boy was above 18, I would have said he was naturally de-selected.

In this case, I will blame the singo matha.

Sorry to her and I pray him a quick recovery…but I never understand how parents let their children out in such situations ie political or events that are for adults. Whether protests or celebrations, I just don’t get it. Kwanza huyu, akona KCPE asubuhi, but you as his Mum let him go “celebrate” (idek what he’s celebrating tbh)…wacha tu…it just bugs me. For me, first thing I do when I even hear noise in the estate, is to make sure the kids stay in the house, lock the door, stay away from windows and don’t leave, until I come back from confirming what’s happening.

Fully agree with you. How a parent allows a kid who is expected to sit a NATIONAL exam THE FOLLOWING MORNING to join a political mob is beyond me.

huyo mama ndio wakulaumiwa

they definitely should…

Most of the times they are out looking for something to feed the kids.

I don’t know why you need to look for someone to blame. I moreso don’t see why the mother is to blame. when I was fourteen I would pretend to go to bed, jump out of the window to go watch safari cars. It didn’t matter that the previous year I had almost died after falling into a disused well full of rain water when escaping from police. It’s the way of ipii.

I believe it is something you teach the kids to do- similar to “don’t talk to a stranger, don’t take sweets from them or follow them”…unamwambia don’t join crowds and stay home when such crowds form cause you can get injured/kidnapped/killed. Make them repeat it like a mantra and they won’t forget. The KCPE bit makes me uneasy, it’s painful for such to happen at this time, but she should (and could) have ensured he is safe. When she heard results were announced, she could have called a neighbour if she was away, to ask them to tell the boy to stay at home for his safety and cause of tomorrow’s exams. This is just sad, but I feel it was avoidable.

There doesn’t have to be someone to blame all the time. This was an accident.

Parenting is not as easy as ABCD and especially for a single parent who has to toil the whole day to bring something to the kids.
Raising a kid and telling the kid not to do this or that requires time (that time the parents are out looking for their daily bread) and remember u are dealing with someone who is in a state of constant brain development…a parent may leave the house having told the child not to do things but being the curious one, they ''enter the water to test the depth" and unfortunately it ends up being fatal

:eek:nigga survived that:confused:

shiieeth

Quick recovery to the lad, he will miss the best dances of his life though.

sasa all you yapping blaming the mother here …do you know how hard is to watch over a kipii,
kipii are the most crafty people on earth, huwezi chunga uyu mtoto 24/7