An interesting read: Cytonn has gone public :-|

[SIZE=6]How Cytonn went public without taking IPO path[/SIZE]
Thursday, August 3, 2017 6:40
http://www.businessdailyafrica.com/image/view/-/4042396/medRes/1719704/-/maxw/900/-/11v01t0/-/cytonn.jpg
Cytonn Investments chief executive Edwin Dande. FILE | PHOTO | NMG

When the board of directors of Cytonn Investments Management Limited announced the conversion of the privately owned firm to a public limited company on Monday, many Kenyans were left wondering how that would work out without any reference to an impending initial public offering (IPO) or going to the bourse by introduction, the two known paths private firms have been using to go public.

But the investment firm that was founded in 2014 with offices in Nairobi and DC Metro in the US was on track to using a new provision in Kenya’s Companies Act to chart a new path for its owners.

The new provision, which came with a 2015 amendment of the Companies Act, allows any private business with more than 50 shareholders to become a public limited company — after meeting a raft of conditions meant to streamline their governance.

Edwin Dande, the firm’s chief executive, said Cytonn’s board of directors had earlier this year realised that the number of shareholders had passed the 50 mark.

The directors decided that they would ask shareholders to consider passing a special resolution converting the private firm to a public company.
That happened on March 3 during Cytonn’s annual general meeting (AGM).

“We held our AGM on March 3, 2017 and this is where we passed the special resolution. We put the matter to vote according to procedures in our articles and memorandum of association and it was adopted,” Patricia Wanjama, Cytonn’s company secretary, said.

The shareholders’ resolutions were then filed with the Registrar of Companies for approval — subject to meeting the set legal requirements.

“We met the requirements of Division 2, Section 70 of the Companies Act, 2015, and received notification from the Registrar of Companies in early July confirming that the conversion was indeed successful,” said Ms Wanjama.

READ: Ex-Britam chiefs’ private offer values Cytonn at Sh1bn

Section 70 of the Act allows a private company, whether limited or unlimited, to convert to a public company limited by shares if (but only if), it passes a special resolution to that effect.

Conversion application

An application for registration of the conversion is then lodged with the registrar in accordance with Section 74 of the same Act, together with the documents required.

A private company that has resolved to convert itself to a public company may lodge an application for registration of the conversion subject to meeting, among others, the following conditions.

First, the nominal value of the company’s allotted share capital must not be less than the authorised minimum.

The company’s allotted shares must be paid up for at least to one-quarter of the nominal value of that share and the whole of any premium on it.

If any shares in the company or any premium on them have been fully or partly paid up for by an undertaking given by a person, that person or another person should do work or perform services (whether for the company or any other person) – until the undertaking has performed or otherwise discharged.

READ: Why being a company director may no longer be rosy

The Registrar of Companies’ approval of Cytonn’s plan to convert to a public company paved the way for the firm move to the next stage of the journey, which was to change the name.

“That is why we have changed from Cytonn Investments Management Limited to Cytonn Investment Public Limited Company (Plc),” said Ms Wanjama.

Section 70 (f) of the Companies Act states that a company must make such changes to its name and articles of association “in order for it to become a public company.”

Besides, under Section 62 of the same Act, a company may change its name by special resolution or as may be provided for by the articles of the company.

Selling stakes

The change in designation means Cytonn shareholders can trade their shares in-house through bid forms. Shareholders wishing to sell their stakes will place the order indicating the number of shares they want to sell and at what price.

The management will then alert an interested buyer through an established internal platform designed to handle such transactions.

“We are providing a platform, the willing buyer fills in the form and the willing seller also fills a form. There is a recommended valued price and we show them the valuation, how it is arrived at, and as long as the purchase is above Sh100,000, we will match willing buyer with willing seller,” Ms Wanjama said.

Mr Dande said going public is mainly driven by the quest to strengthen corporate governance at Cytonn in light of the negative impact that poor governance has had on many Kenyan firms in the recent past.

Here is the Gist of the article…

Cytonn shareholders can trade their shares in-house through bid forms. Shareholders wishing to sell their stakes will place the order indicating the number of shares they want to sell and at what price.

The management will then alert an interested buyer through an established internal platform designed to handle such transactions.

“We are providing a platform, the willing buyer fills in the form and the willing seller also fills a form. There is a recommended valued price and we show them the valuation, how it is arrived at, and as long as the purchase is above Sh100,000, we will match willing buyer with willing seller,” Ms Wanjama said.

So my question is this:-

Does this mean that cytonn is stable (considering that they have achieved all this international success in just 3years? since it was founded? ) and that you cannot expect your investment to go missing?

I like cyton investment, their projects are getting built and sold out quickly. For a firm that started barely 5 years ago they have two completed projects and 4 more ongoing. They get Nordic investment funds to finance their projects and as construction continues they aggressively sell the units. Thats a better strategy than others who announce a project, start selling units before even groundbreaking has started. They are also taking up finances from investors at 18% pa ROI for a minimum 1 million investment.

That said they have their critics. If you ever are in wazua.co.ke, a lot of positive and negatives are discussed there at length. I’m caught up there 50-50, very rare for me. I see their projects and disclosed audited accounts every quarter but people rightfully point to growing debt and risk exposure in their operating accounts. That said the convention to public PLC is welcomed as it adds more structured scrutiny into their accounts and operations. I like as well they expanded the board members to a diverse group of outsiders with strong corporate success in other companies. I wish them well in developing the nation.

Sounds like a very elaborate pyramid scheme.

Why say so? They have projects on the ground. I was at their AGM on Saturday. The people driving the hate have bile because the lead team of Dande and 3 others took Kshs 20B Acorn of business from Britam. Can Acorn invest in a pyramid scheme?

I have no evidence to support my position, call it an opinion. I just don’t like these fairy tale stories.

Okiya mimi niko na swali! How did they get 20B having only been in existence for 3 years?

Mr. Dande had this to say today.
[ATTACH=full]116435[/ATTACH]

They were Britam asset managers handling the Acorn 20B deal. Acorn moved it to Cytonn.

This brings even more questions. Why did they leave britam in the first place? I have one other q about Acorn…but let me google them first!

Wewe when you realize that you are the one bringing all business to your employer, wouldn’t you go form your own similar company and move the business there?

Will do some more reading about them. Never had any interest before lakini sasa niko nayo

As you google, please note that one of the investors @ Acorn is Helios. Helios is one of the major PE firms in Africa with investments in Telkon Kenya and until last year one of the biggest shareholders @Equity

Cytonn is a pyramid scheme. Its a question of when not if it will go under. Yes they have received funding and investments from PE firms and private investors but lets ask ourselves this question. At the current rate which investment gives you 18% interest p.a. even the t-bills and bonds are not at that percentage. Basically they can keep up paying all these interests to members by bringing in new members everyday. If just 30% of the investors decide to withdraw, the house of cards will tumble. My advise: if you have a million put it their in the short term and renew every 3 to 6 months. Anything long term you will get burned.

The money they are borrowing at 18% goes directly to invest in real estate. According to Kenya National Bureau of Statistics, the returns of real estate in Kenya have consistently been at 25%-30% for the last 5 years. And on the issue it collapsing if 30% of the investors decide to withdraw, show me any bank in Kenya that can survive if 30% of depositors demand their cash.

what are the returns in their short term investments (3 and 6 months)

Moto ya kuotea mbali saana

see

I don’t think there is anything unusual in that. They have confirmed what I said about them investing the money in real estate. The projects are there on the ground. They are currently searching for 10 acres around Loresho area and another 10 acres in Karen and Garden Estate. This money that they are borrowing is going to invest there. For me, a pyramid scheme is where one borrows Peter to pay John. These guys are investing in real estate and the projects are on the ground.

This is one of their projects. Amara Ridge in Karen. The houses are 100% fully sold. 1 unit goes for Kshs 95million when you pay cash.

[ATTACH=full]116539[/ATTACH]

not bad! @Okiya is such a return guarenteed ama wanaweza kuruka?

I remember such a scheme by land sellers. They tell you to buy a piece of land and they farm it for you and give you 300k return…apparently they jumped that deal na kuwazungusha saana