Android N Nougat vs. Marshmallow: 10 Features Make Android 7.0 Worth the Wait

While a lot of Marshmallow-eligible smartphones are still running Android Lollipop, Google will be releasing Android N Nougat soon. Yes, the name’s decided and is final, and all we can do now is wait for the final version of the operating system to be rolled out. That will happen soon when Google will unveil its new Nexus 2016 smartphones.

http://mobi-4a21.kxcdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/07/Android_N_leadimage.jpg?e7a94a

Meanwhile, let’s talk about the difference betweenAndroid N Nougat vs. Marshmallow. Of course, Android N isn’t a total makeover to Marshmallow, but it does come with a lot of changes enough for a major update. So let’s take a look at the 10 features that make Android 7.0 worth the wait.

[SIZE=4]1. Improved Doze Mode[/SIZE]
http://mobi-4a21.kxcdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/07/android-n-doze.jpg?e7a94a

Doze mode was one of the major highlights of Android 6.0 Marshmallow, and in Android 7.0 Nougat, it has just become better. Doze in Android N will be much more efficient and will also provide better device performance. This translates to better battery life, and that’s something Android users always look forward to.

[SIZE=4]2. Multi-Window Support[/SIZE]
http://mobi-4a21.kxcdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/07/Android_N_Multiwindow.png?e7a94a

Finally! Android N supports multi-windows, which means you can keep more than one app on the screen, thus providing better multi-tasking. The multi-window feature was previously available only in Galaxy S7 and Galaxy Note5, but with Android N, all the Android phones can get the feature. Isn’t it cool to watch a YouTube video while reading news? Small screen may be an issue sometimes, but something is better than nothing.

[SIZE=4]3. Redesigned Notification Panel[/SIZE]
http://mobi-4a21.kxcdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/07/Android_N_NotificationPanel.png?e7a94a

You may not notice this change immediately, but it is one of the most significant new features in Android N. The notification shade has been improved and organizes all the similar notifications into one. Also, you can now directly reply to messages from the notification shade itself without having to open the full app.

[SIZE=4]4. Data Saver[/SIZE]
http://mobi-4a21.kxcdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/07/Android_N_DataSaver.png?e7a94a

If you are fed up with apps using up all your mobile data in the background, then the new Data Saver feature in Android N will surely make you happy. With this new feature, you can basically choose which app needs to be given unrestricted data access and which apps needs to be checked. So your mobile data won’t drain up as fast.

[SIZE=4]5. Auto Update[/SIZE]
http://mobi-4a21.kxcdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/07/android-n-auto-updates.jpg?e7a94a

Isn’t it frustrating when a major Android update is released and you need to wait a few days before the roll-out reaches you? With Android N, Google hopes to solve that problem. Whenever the device is connected to internet, it will download the latest available system images automatically so that you won’t have to wait for OTA updates or notifications. This will also prevent fragmentation issues. We hope it does not work on Mobile Data.

[SIZE=4]6. Improved Settings Menu[/SIZE]
http://mobi-4a21.kxcdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/07/Android_N_SettingsAPp.png?e7a94a

Though we never asked for it, Android N comes with a redesigned Settings menu, and it does look good. Data usage, RAM usage, Bluetooth connectivity, etc. are some things that will be available at a glance to the users. Overall, the menu is still clean and slick as we like it.

[SIZE=4]7. Keyboard Themes[/SIZE]
http://mobi-4a21.kxcdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/07/android-n-keyboard-themes.png?e7a94a
This is a small change, but is still something significant. You can now find more themes for the stock Googly keyboard in Android N. Just a little something to keep your device customized according to your personal preference.

[SIZE=4]8. New Emoji[/SIZE]
http://mobi-4a21.kxcdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/07/android-n-new-emoji.png?e7a94a

The emoji set in Android N is being updated and all the quirky blobs will now get a uniform appearance. Also, Google is suggesting 13 new emoji to be adopted in the Unicode Consortium for representing professional women better. Well, new emoji are always welcome as long as they aren’t offending.

[SIZE=4]9. Performance[/SIZE]
According to Google, Android N will increase the overall performance of the operating system in various aspects. Vulkan, a new graphics API, is being adopted in Android 7.0 that will deliver better graphics performance on tablets and smartphones. The same API is also being used in PC gaming. Apart from that, a new JIT compiler has been integrated in Android N that will supposedly improve battery life while also installing apps 75% faster as they will be 50% smaller in size. Looks like a tall claim but we are sure we can expect something like this.

[SIZE=4]10. Project Tango[/SIZE]
We don’t know much about this one yet, but it is being said that 3D location mapping for gaming and native augmented reality will be added to Android phones. Of course, high-end specs are needed for these things to work like depth cameras and 6-DOF sensors. But if Google includes Tango in Android N, it will come with minimum specs and requirements.

So that’s all we know right now about Android N Nougat features, but we’ll keep this list updated with new information about the OS
http://www.mobipicker.com/android-n-nougat-vs-marshmallow/

Nitaipata next year

[SIZE=5]Android 7.0 update: when will I get it?[/SIZE]
[SIZE=4]Samsung Android 7.0 update[/SIZE]
Samsung isn’t exactly speedy when it comes to rolling out Android updates, and we sadly don’t expect that to change significantly with the Samsung Android 7.0 update.

There was a five-month timeframe between the Android 6.0 launch on September 29, 2015 and the first U.S. update to Marshmallow with the VerizonGalaxy Note 5 on March 3, 2016. Galaxy owners could easily be waiting until late February or early March 2017 for the first Samsung Android 7.0 update.

Even then, it will likely only be the Galaxy Note 7 to get it first, with the Galaxy S7and S7 Edge following a little later and the Note 5, S6, S6 Edge and S6 Edge+ after them. With any luck, the Galaxy S8 and Galaxy S8 Edge will both arrive in early 2017 running Android 7.0 out of the box.

Best case scenario: Five months after Android 7.0 launch (January/February 2017)

http://cdn03.androidauthority.net/wp-content/uploads/2016/03/Samsung-Galaxy-S7-Edge-photos-26-840x560.jpg

[SIZE=4]
LG Android 7.0 update[/SIZE]
LG has been pretty good with its update speed for Marshmallow, with less than two months separating the release of Android 6.0 and the first LG handset to receive it (the Sprint LG G4 on December 21, 2015). In fact, LG was the first OEM to get a carrier-based Marshmallow update out after Google. The LG V10 eventually got the update internationally in early March 2016, after the LG G3 and LG G Stylo already had Marshmallow in the U.S…

If this is anything to go by, the first LG Android 7.0 update could well be to theLG G5 in December 2016. It’s also worth noting that the upcoming LG V20 will be the first phone to feature Nougat out of the box, even ahead of the next-gen Nexus family!

Best case scenario: Less than two months after Android 7.0 release (November 2016)

http://cdn03.androidauthority.net/wp-content/uploads/2016/02/LG-G5-vs-LG-V10-quick-look-10-840x560.jpg

[SIZE=4]
Sony Android 7.0 update[/SIZE]
As mentioned above, some Sony Xperia owners were treated to an Android N preview build just as they were last year with Android M. However, for those of you not interested in installing a non-final developer version, the Sony Android 7.0 update could arrive as early as the start of March 2017, around the same time as the first Galaxy devices.

This prediction is based on the Xperia Z5series, Z4 Tablet and Xperia Z3+ all got the Marshmallow update five months after Google first pushed it out. Of course, it will most likely arrive first on the new Xperia X series rather than the Z5 series.

Best case scenario: Five months after Android 7.0 (February 2017), plus Android N developer previews

http://cdn02.androidauthority.net/wp-content/uploads/2016/02/sony-xperia-X-aa-3-840x473.jpg

[SIZE=4]
Motorola Android 7.0 update[/SIZE]
Moto owners will likely still get the Motorola Android 7.0 update a lot earlier than most, despite now being owned by Lenovo rather than Google. The Moto X Pure Edition got its first U.S. update to Marshmallow on December 7, 2015, but that was the unlocked version not slowed down by the addition of carrier bloatware and “optimization”.

With this in mind, Moto owners could be the first non-Nexus owners to see Android 7.0 in 2016, even beating out the LG G5. However, we’re yet to see how a Lenovo-owned Motorola handles software updates. At the very least we know the new near-stock Moto devices will run both the Android N and Android O releases.

Best case scenario: A little over a month after Android 7.0 arrives (October 2016)

http://cdn02.androidauthority.net/wp-content/uploads/2015/09/Moto-X-Pure-Edition-15-840x560.jpg

[SIZE=4]
HTC Android 7.0 update[/SIZE]
HTC also did pretty well with its first update to Marshmallow. The unlocked Developer Edition HTC One M9 and all variants of the HTC One A9 got the Marshmallow update in December 2015. The HTC 10 arrived in April running Android Marshmallow out of the box.

If HTC follows the same path this year, the first HTC Android 7.0 update should roll out to existing devices less than two months after Android 7.0 is made official. HTC’s next flagship, presumably the HTC 11, should arrive with Android 7.0 at launch.
unveiling (October 2016)

http://cdn01.androidauthority.net/wp-content/uploads/2015/10/htc-one-a9-review-aa-28-of-29-840x473.jpg

[SIZE=4]
Huawei Android 7.0 update[/SIZE]
Not including the Nexus 6P, the first Huawei device to get Android Marshmallow was not even an update, but straight out of the box. The Huawei Mate 8 arrived with Marshmallow on board in November, just weeks after Google had made the update available for Nexus devices.

Then the honor 7 Enhanced Edition arrived on December 14, 2015 with Android Marshmallow on board and thehonor 5X and honor 7 followed with the Marshmallow update at the end of February.

Best case scenario: Mate 9 running Android 7.0 at launch (November 2016), updates in February 2017

http://cdn01.androidauthority.net/wp-content/uploads/2015/08/Honor-7-vs-Huawei-Ascend-Mate-7-AA-8-of-17-840x473.jpg

[SIZE=4]
Xiaomi Android 7.0 update[/SIZE]
Xiaomi had a pretty bad case of the hiccups when it came to the Marshmallow update, so it may not be entirely representative to base assumptions about the Xiaomi Android 7.0 update based on its most recent update performance. Despite announcing Marshmallow was in the final stages of testing back in December 2015, it wasn’t until early April that the Mi 4, Mi 3 and Mi Note finally got Android 6.0.

In the worst case scenario, Xiaomi suffers similar problems with Android 7.0 and users won’t see it until six months after Google releases it. In the best case scenario, Xiaomi meets its timeline and has the update out in late December 2016 or early January 2017.

Best case scenario: Two or three months after Google (October 2016 – December 2017)

http://cdn03.androidauthority.net/wp-content/uploads/2016/04/Xiaomi-Mi-4S-Nirave-1-840x560.jpg

[SIZE=4]
Android One Android 7.0 update[/SIZE]
Android One devices occupy a particular sweet spot when it comes to Android updates. Because they run stock Android, Google handles firmware updates, meaning the Android One Android 7.0 update will arrive at the same time as it does for Nexus devices with both OTA and flashable factory image options. OTAs will likely take at least a few weeks or more to reach all Android One devices getting the upgrade, though the factory images should be right around the corner.

When do you expect your manufacturer and carrier to get Android 7.0 into your hands?

by Taboola

http://www.androidauthority.com/android-7-0-update-679175/

Sisi, team Infinix? Like always, I expect a brand new flagship smartphone, obscenely affordable and with all the latest technology advancements!

ai Mboss, Nougat was released on August 22nd. Ulikuwa wapi?

Wewe ulipojua imetoka ulituambia? Ktalk should be the pacesetter, and you have a role to play in making it so! People should come here for reference. Why sleep on news?

Besides hiyo reply to @Jazzman ni ya kuonyesha kwamba Nougat is already operational!
I also believe that you should be using it already, since yours is a Nexus.

Hii simu niko nayo sai naipenda kuliko kuma. Ntangoja official update ya manufacturer na zitakuja next year

kwani ulikuwa wapi when I posted this thread http://www.kenyatalk.com/index.php?threads/android-nougat.29529/
[ATTACH=full]57680[/ATTACH]

and I placed a screenshot to show I had flashed it?
https://dl2.pushbulletusercontent.com/ffZl0sqFHJcLlHA3MbseAvIeb3JxIUep/Screenshot_20160823-102941.png

Android ni useless updates every time and then…but you will never see changes when you upgrade…

Sorry sana, @Deorro!

hehehe its okay. you have some educative posts though. keep up with educating the villagers. Mimi I got lazy

There are times I’m afraid of posting anything here for fear that perhaps it was posted before by someone else! But in my opinion, instead of putting someone down for what Talkers call reposting, why not give the link to the earlier posting for further reading! Especially if the topic is informative!

only tricky thing huwa news. the rest its okay to repeat a post because every new post comes with new isht

Whenever I come to the Technology section of the Ktalk, I always regard it as @Deorro’s ‘airspace’:D:D:D:D

Nangoja kwa tecno

Hazichelewi! Tecno na infinix. Lakini simu mpya, wala sio upgrades!

Funny! Naona hii site na sijui kama ni fake ama ni ya ukweli!

[SIZE=5]Download Nougat 7.0 Update for Infinix Note 2[/SIZE]

Infinix Note 2 owner are reporting that they’re start to receive the new Nougat 7.0 update over the air on their devices. They can now update their smartphone and tablet to Nougat 7.0 using custom ROM.

What is custom ROM?
ROM is short for Read-Only Memory. It has many versions just like Windows OS does; no matter it is stock ROMs from companies, or custom ROM from third party. This new custom ROM can bring you the latest version of Android before your manufacturer. Anyhow, flashing a new ROM means installing a new operating system to your Android.

The new [B]Android Nougat 7.0[/B] comes with many new features :

[li]Mobile payments (Android Pay) feature.[/li][li]Better RAM Management.[/li][li]Fingerprint support.- A battery saver feature which extends device use by up to 90 mins.[/li][li]It has a faster, smoother and more powerful computing experience.[/li][li]Support for 64-bit SoCs using ARM, x86, and MIPS-based cores.[/li][li]OpenGL ES 3.1 and Android extension pack brings Android to the forefront of mobile graphics putting it on par with desktop and console class performance.[/li][li]Responsive, natural motion, realistic lighting and shadows, and familiar visual elements make it easier to navigate your device.[/li][li]More intelligent ranking of notifications based on who they’re from and the type of communication.[/li][li]See all your notifications in one place by tapping the top of the screen.[/li][li]New devices come with encryption automatically turned on to help protect data on lost or stolen devices.[/li][li]SELinux enforcing for all applications means even better protection against vulnerabilities and malware.[/li][li]State of the art video technology with support for HEVC main profile to allow for UHD 4K 10-bit video playback, tunneled hardware video decoding to save power and improved HLS support for streaming.[/li][li]and other cool features.[/li][/ul]
[SIZE=16px] http://deluxerom.xyz/download-nougat-7-0-update-for-infinix-note-2/ [/SIZE]

am still running android 4.4 and sucks like hell. fuck htc. i hate custom roms though