Android Studio

This thing is the hardest in IT world to set up and run as required. The initial software is around 1GB, then after installing it it installs other dependencies that are around 1GB too. After creating a project now to run it it installs other tonnes of dependencies and mind you you haven’t installed an android image yet that is another 1.5GB latest android version. Why can’t the developers just include all these files in one big 4GB software and spare us all these hassles of setting up this thing? It is just discouraging. And then if you want to use VS Code you have to install the Android studio too, something that these tutorial videos are avoiding

Why are u complaining kwani unatumia pentium 4 ama ni hindernet ya fuliza,its better that way coz people use it for different goals u might be building an app but someone wants to extract a source code.

they could have just bundled everything in one package including the JDK rather than all these long processes. Hindernet iko sawa

Na bado. If you’ve played with loading and unloading custom ROMs (OSes), the OS for the phone is actually 1 - 1.5 GB which is your android image. So basically you are running this virtual machine and it performs really bad when you want to test sensors and graphics

Best way to go about it is to test on a phone and reduce the load which is what they hope you will do.

On a side note, doing the custom ROM thing only needs adb, so unaona why they’ve put everything separate.

You only install what you need.

There are more than 10 different images. Do you want someone to download all of them? The installation package will be huge

On the SDK, if i want to develop apps for android 9 and Android 10 why should I be forced to download the SDK for 4.4

That software just sucks . and its slow as hell even on i7 16GB RAM. make sure you have a stable internet connection all the time when using it and don’t use the emulator use a physical device for testing. There are almost weekly updates that don’t seem to improve anything.

Android studio is not for safaras.

and in every SDK they change directories for core dependency files

Unaweka Android studio kwa Celeron chieth :D. Jaribu eclipse Kama bado inaexist

Windows or linux? I use mine on 8GB i5 linux and it runs fine. And also why stable internet connection?

Why do you want to download VS code with Android studio? This does not make sense

Tumia visual studio. Install necessary plug-ins za Mobile dev

VS Code Flutter requires you to install Android Studio and an Android Image ndio uweze ku run flutter run

Sorry my question wasn’t too clear. I mean like once you install android studio, you do not need VS Code. VS code is a text editor and is useful for mainly general purpose development. But android studio is an IDE(built from intellij) that is just designed just for android development and is very very good at that. It’s basically everything you will need for android development. And kuna some things it beats normal text editors kama VS Code at(e.g code analysis).
Some very experienced devs are power users of certain editors && that is why you are seeing support for vs code, emacs etc. But if you are learning then just stick to android studio. It will make your life easy.

What are you hardware specs mkuu? Iyo kitu hukasirisha. Have you tried Intellj?

Core i5 8G RAM

yes i moved to linux its very smooth vs on windows

Inategemea na machine yako. I tried on pentium it takes like 10minutes to open. Using on Ryzen5 takes less than 5 seconds.