Ankleversary July 31 2011

The Cheki Maneno That Never Was.

July 31st 2011 is a day that will forever remain engraved in my mind coz of a life changing event that happened. I had woken up at 5:30am to prepare myself for a cheki maneno to Chumani ( @MISCHIEF anajua ni wapi, Just about 80kms from Mombasa) which is just past Kilifi and back with the boys, we were to meet at Mama Ngina Drive coz we had some members coming all the way from Ukunda.

Nikaoga chapchap nanikavaa my white jersey ili mboys wajue Meria can still pedal despite being the oldest in the team, I then had my breakfast of fruits and stepped outside to get my bike from the garage which was a few meters from the main hse, kulikua kumenyesha kiasi usiku and the compound had patches of water and to get to the garage door we had placed some blocks to step on to avoid wetting our feet, so sikua na budi but to hop, step and jump ndio nisikanyange maji.

Nika hop ya kwanza, nikastep ya pili nikaanguka ndani ya maji, nikasmama nikaanguka tena, nikajaribu kusimama tena nikashindwa, it was then that I looked at my left foot, OMG OMG my leg was in two pieces, I had landed on the block with the outside of my left foot and had sliped and broken my ankle joint, my foot was severed from my leg, ilikua imeshikiliwa na veins zile ziko hapo kwa heel. instinctively i tried to wiggle my toes and i was amazed to see them move. Nikaangalia mguu wangu vizuri nikaona the horrible injury I had and surprisingly there was no pain and the blood had not started flowing.

Sitting right there in the puddle of water three things closed my mind in quick succession

1. I will never be able to drive a truck again

2. I will never do another cheki maneno

3. I will never be able to go up a ladder and onto the roof to do an fta installation

It is with this sinking feeling that I dragged myself on my butt to the corridor and called my son whose room was nearest the garage. Time was 5:50am

Alipocome akaniuliza kwanini nimeketi kwa floor nikamshow mguu na saa hio ndio blood ilianza kutoka, roho ikidunda blood inaruka, haraka karaka bila swali ingine akarudi kwa room yake akaja na tie ya shule akafunga mguu hapo just above the knee alafu akachukua simu akaanza kuchukua video and at the same time shouting for his mom to wake up.

Mama watoto aliamka speedie speedie due to the urgency in the tone akaja still in the night dress, I thought she would scream when she saw the extent of the injury but she didn’t, she just asked “umeanguka ukifanya nini?” sikujibu hio although I suspect she did not expect an answer, I told her to call my immediate neigbours nikimbizwe spitari. Sadness of life, gari ilikua hapo inje na wife hajui kupeleka, my son nilikua nimemfundisha kidogo lakini hakua amezoea main road. She also called my sis who lived nearby.

The five of them carefully lifted me and placed me in the backseat of the car, wakachukua cussions za viti in order to make me as comfortable as possible na safari ikaanza. Barabara ya kisauni those days would have put the lunar landscape to shame coz of the massive craters and ruts, the driver tried his best to move fast while at the same time driving very carefully so as not to jolt me and aggravate the injury. kufika bridge two things happened, uchungu ilikuja na watoto wake wote alafu nikahisi baridi ya ajab, even my intestines started shaking, its like I was somewhere at the top of the aberdares, my teeth were chattering faster than a tickertimer placed next to a kilo of topgrade uranium. By the time tufike Buxton I was breathing in slowmotion, I would take a deepbreath and then hold it in and exhale slowly in short gasps, it helped to ease the pain or so I thought, soon enough we got to the casualty departments of one of the top hospitals. Time 6:30

Doctors and nurses came rushing out to attend to me, one young doctor took a look at the injury and asked everyone around why they had not put the broken ankle back into its socket, so saying he held my foot and leg and slotted the bone back into its place. Vile niliskia siwezi kuelezea sababu ni uchungu kuruka, something I cannot even wish on my worst enemy, I tried to scream but nothing came out, I was paralysed by pain and thankfully I passed out.

Episode 2 coming up nikitoka church

Mbona mtoto anachukua video?o_O

Pole boss.
Wapi import?

the slide screen generation

ameenda south coast to see her cousin

eehh, when was your mind opened?

Mbona ukapita jocham?

had heard of horror stories from jocham

Pole sana ES

If you love yourself, and are in such shape, pita Jocham mbio sana

:D:D:D ati umeanguka ukifanya nini? Maswali ingine hawa watu huuliza inabidi unamrushia tu jicho

Vile umedescribe hiyo pain is worse than labor

aish…i felt the pain for you…

@Guru …is there any worse pain than labor pains? i highly doubt…but the the toothache am having is competing for the first position…:slight_smile:

Wah. Sijawai pata any bad stories concerning jocham though pia sijawai enda huko, thanks be to God. Vile huwa naiona kama hospitali ya maana tena private.

Pole dear. You should visit a dentist

Wueh! Usinikumbushe! I’ve had two fractures in my life and the pain…oh the pain…:(:mad:

Pole swits.

But I hear a kick to the balls is 100x labour pains.

Wah, quite vivid… Can relate to the foot hanging by the veins. Cut my finger deep enough back in the day with a panga atop a tree, it was hanging by soft tissue only. It was quite a task rclimbing down seeing as at first, like your case, all I could see was white tissue… But when blood started gushing, pain set in. It was hell since the only remedy our mboch knew of was salt, and salt she poured in good amount. Good thing my dad’s work place was nearby, it was stitched back.

Ona dentist. Sensodyne imekutuliza ama hujaijaribu?

pole musubcounty kumbe wewe ni brittle bones pia

Women are conditioned for child birth and it’s something you know thats gonna happen when you get pregnant, this was different