Another BMW, another valve seal replacement, another success story!!

So…

Where at thou the nay sayers? My first project was a challenge. After putting back the engine it refused to fire!!:(:frowning:

Well, you see, I was doing all this from a manual and I misread a timing note because the photo was not very clear and when starting I had the engine on TDC exhaust stroke rather than TDC compression stroke. That is a 180 degree misalignment meaning instead of valves being closed in compression stroke, intake side they would be open:eek::eek:

Never mind, got this corrected, engine fired but with a misfire on cylinder 3. Compression test showed 30psi instead on a minimum of 90psi required. Ill leave it at that:D:D

Second engine came in a week later. I had by then acquired the tools I need and experience from the first job. Started at 2pm on a Sunday, engine fired at 9PM and just because there were other cars to look at here and there. Let us just say this is becoming very very easy.

Here is the second engine at work. Because of my experience with the first engine I now do compression test to verify all valves are sitting good. If they are not the cylinder head comes off, a job I don’t do:D:D

[ATTACH=full]150109[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=full]150111[/ATTACH]

One of those is a very specialised tool

Good stuff. Bado sijafika league hii.

Great job.
May Jah bless the work of your hands

You won’t last long in your day-job, which you are starting to dislike for interrupting the good time. Architecture kipara can attest to this.

yaani ulitumia engine ya mtu kama lab rat, mungu anakuona

When the office parking started to have an influx of bikes I knew there was a problem.

Great work bro. Work hard and more harder.

The first day I got into the garage and found my car’s engine open like that a sharp lightning stroke from head to toe. You see that feeling when all you hair follicles engorge sharp standing. I never thought it will work again. But I think you are on the right path.

Well in!

You amaze me. Good work there.

Good work hapo and i see it needs determination, lakini hapo mimi nimechapa 00000 mi naona tu chuma, maybe one day i will be forced to know such tings

Hehehe you and me both when Subaru’s started showing up on weekends :smiley:

Hakuna kitu nimeelewa hapo…

[ATTACH=full]150135[/ATTACH]
Ambia huyu ashikilie crank shaft

:D:D Not really. He had a smoking car. He challenged me to try repair it since I had tools and I had started doing minor service works and diagnostics. I told him if things went south we would get a new engine. He is enjoying the fruits of his faith:):slight_smile:

By the way all this started with me getting a diagnostic software for my car.

:D:D My background is building construction. My first engine was opened two weeks ago. I just printed the repair manual, 8 pages of it and said what the fuck!! Takes interest and self belief but my power mechanics classes and the single cylinder lawn mower engine back in Mangu High really helped!!

Bro, si unipe through pass to your tools source.

I buy them from all over depending on urgency, availability, impulse, convenience or just for the heck of it, Toolcrafts, Karen Hardware, Ebay, Amazon, name it!

If you need guidance let me know what you are looking for and we can help.

Back then were you still taught by Mr. Gacango?

Just a nice toolbox with virtually any spanner, screwdrivers and what nots which I can carry around with me and be handy for any simple roadside repairs I chance upon. Prices on then will be appreciated.