Antibiotic Resistance

http://www.peacefmonline.com/pages/local/news/201812/369789.php

There’s a growing resistance to antibiotics in the country. This is arising from farmers administering the drugs themselves to livestock. And this is later passed on to consumers in our meats, eggs, milk…kwanza watu wa kuku porno and porko…

the days of momentus victories against bacteria/microbes is over. HII STATEMENT HUNIBAMBA

Correction: The World, not Country.
We’re headed down a very very deep abyss if new antibiotics are not discovered. Man will succumb to ailments that are currently classified as simple illnesses.
Magonjwa ya mjulubeng na Ikus hata usitaje.

The impending apocalypse is gathering all its ingredients and getting ready to do the grand cooking. Natural disasters are increasing by the day, sophisticated weapons are being developed all over and could land anytime in the hands of terrorists and war-loving rulers, famine is taunting multiple nations due to climate change, cancer is felling scores of people and steadily increasing, and now the antibiotics resistance is pointing to a bacteria epidemic. By the way the good old book predicted this. Didn’t it @Atheismo and @Cloe

Very true. Mankind is under sieke from these diseases. Juzi gonorrhea has mastered the art of resisting antibiotics

https://www.businessinsider.com/super-gonorrhea-is-antibiotic-resistant-2018-5?IR=T

Its only a matter of time before other diseases follow suit. And given the way the world is interconnected today, a disease that cant be cured and spreads easily will be devastating for mankind. And if a disease doesnt do us in, an asteroid probably will.

Kenya is one of the countries in the world most affected by antibiotic resistance due to overprescribing. The sole motive is of course, money. The pharmacy department in every hospital generates the most amount of money for the institution.

I was a recent victim of this scam when I went to see a doctor at Nairobi hospital for a minor issue. The antibiotics I was prescribed left me floored—-of course I never filled them because I knew better. I left there very disappointed because instead of a topical ointment, the doctor wrote for levofloxacin, metronidazole, fluconazole and azithromycin. Total cost was kshs 15,000! Cost aside, those antibiotics are not benign. They are used for treating people with severe, life threatening infections.

In developed countries, they keep stringent databases of what antibiotics practitioners are prescribing for common infections. If anyone is found prescribing outside of what would be medically necessary, the medical board issues a warning which could escalate into further disciplinary measures.
Kenya should adopt such to curb malpractice. I honestly felt like a victim of malpractice, thank God I had some medical knowledge to protect myself. What about those who aren’t as fortunate??

[SIZE=7]High prevalence of antibiotic resistance in Kenya[/SIZE]
Date:July 11, 2017Source:Naval Research LaboratorySummary:Antibiotic resistance is one of the most significant global public health problems in many developing countries. Researchers have discovered a high prevalence of antibiotic resistant bacteria in the East Africa nation due to over-use of antimicrobial agents.

https://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2017/07/170711121501.htm

Interesting. I believe we should have an international institution like the one you have mentioned exists in the US. A kind of watchdog to prevent this from happening. A disease knows no national boundaries and if drug resistant strains are developed here, its only a matter of time before they spread to other countries. AIDS started in a small corner of the world and is now all over the place.

This is ofcourse idealistic thinking given the way nations jealously guard their independence, but very necessary

@Bwenyenye tafuta a documentary ya dw tv pale YouTube and watch about penicillin na anti biotics you will be scared stiff

It is because of use of antibiotics that I am considering giving up eating chicken. 8 weeks is all they need to go from egg to 3kg
They pump the poor birds with antibiotics to prevent diseases instead of letting them build immunity.

You do not directly consume the antibiotics from the animals. They are metabolised and excreted. The problem is the constant exposure of bacteria to antibiotics where they develop resistance. We lost the battle a while ago when they discovered some strains of bacteria resistant to some of the last line antibiotics we have. There is some hope with things like phage therapy but we are way behind the timelines. Sasa nikukaza na kungoja.