Any KRA specialist around

Guys mimi niko abroad. Im in the process of buying property hapo isinya and its kinda frustrating. so im told that i have to pay capital gain tax if the property has to be transfered to my name. Sina shida na hiyo . im to pay a total of 100k, no problem ill pay that. Shida ni when paying that capital gain, i have to do it via itax. and for you to use ITAX you must have filed with KRA tax returns before!!!

i don’t live in kenya , im taxed here abroad. So if i file nil tax , those agents told me that the govt will want to know how did i buy this property with nil taxes.So it might get auctioned juu ya money laundering. Tafadhali who can assist me in finding the right way to file my taxes without giving much information about my income i earn abroad!!!.

NB if this is the gibberish going in, it will be hard for some of us to buy property back home. It’s frustrating as it gets and things shouldn’t be this way
@Guru , @Nananimpa and anyone . please help before i loose the remaining last hair on both sides of my head

Huyo abroad ni nani?
Hebu muulize, labda anajua KRA ni wapi.
Cretin mushienz

Chomea hao “nyama”

did you know that the empty brains make alot of noises. If you have nothing to offer please use the toilet …idiot

how did you buy yours ? you been stalking me for a while . I need help though

I am not a tax expert lakini from news paper /social media reports,fine ya kutolipa taxes ni 20,000. Pay that and then update your records. Alafu kila kitu itakuwa shwari baada ya hapo.

Unalia nini … haya pole basi. Jinga

Hehe hapana … not been stalking you. unless nimecomment on your posts which is normal.
I only report like 1 percent of my income from outside kenya and I usually report it as some other local business. Otherwise if KRA investigates assets versus tax reported I will be fried. I only do this because I believe there are people doing worse stuff and i am small fish anyway. If you pay tax in the country you are in then there is a way out otherwise if you are tax exempt as an “expat” or for some other reason “utachoma nyama”. this is because it is expected you will pay some tax in either of the countries.

so give me steps .
do i have to file taxes for last year then if i do
do i put nil returns

If you paid tax outside country youre not supposed to pay again here, high chance youre bieng conned

I thought the person transferring/selling the property is the one supposed to pay the CGT ? for more info refer here http://www.kra.go.ke/notices/pdf2014/Capital-Gains-Tax-Guidelines.pdf

Get a trusted family member (ambaye ako KE & up to date on iTax) to buy that land as a proxy, then “gift” it to you.

Please dont even think of this

Big mistake. I have history with trusted relatives. That’s a story for another day. But thank you

thank you , this is an eye opener

the person selling you land is the one supposed to pay the CGT, not you the buyer. You can read more on these links

https://www.standardmedia.co.ke/business/article/2001228785/back-to-basics-understanding-how-capital-gains-tax-works

okwonkwo thank you for this.this has solved my problem.They wanted me to pay capital gain tax yet it is their responsibility. You have given me firepower. I wish most people would be as generous as you. God bless you. My problem is solved kabisa

karibu

Yes but as a Kenyan you have to file tax for the income earned here. If its nil then its okay but you must have paid tax where you are. The thing is that you have to file tax returns. KRA has a complex system of determining whether you should pay some tax in a particular year if you are a “tax resident”. kama ulilipa tax kwenye umetoka you should not be double taxed but i think there are some explanations to be done ndo ukuwe exempt. if you are not taxed there in expectation that you will be taxed in kenya jua tu watajaribu kukudai. If you believe that you are somehow escaping taxation in both countries they might complicate things for you. There is no official way of escaping taxes isipokuwa kuchoma nyama hapa na pale. way If you had been reporting something small through a local business they wouldnt bother audit you.

Lakini capital gains tax si wewe unafaa kulipa. I dont know how that works with what you are doing. Ama mwenye anauza anadai umuongezee hiyo fee?