AOB .. 1.6L Diesel Cars, Citroen, Mumeoza, Two and Done et al

[ol]
[li]I have been watching some car reviews on YouTube …particularly SUVs, Crossovers, MPVs. In all these I am noticing every reviewer is choosing 1600cc Diesel variants for their lower engine noise and excellent MPGs (actually above 30). Mark you all these vehicles have petrol options and higher cc Diesel engines. Have we as Kenyans been missing something coz I don’t hear this type of convos. [/li][li]I remember in the past when I was much younger I could see Citroen cars. Old yeah but still cars. I don’t see them anymore. On SBT they have only one that’s eligible for Kenya …and 1000 more not suited. Waning market interest? Perhaps. AND YOU SHOULD SEE THE CITROEN C4 PICASSO. Styled so good you could finger it, and smell. The 1.6L Diesel returns 70. Citroen is still sold so much in Europe. Peugeot 3008 is also a boner. [/li][li]Talkers mumeoza. Now, you do realize that hii forum si baze mtaani …esto …Hii ni kitu National with an international pretentious front. Issue ni lanye anapostiwa hapa na immediately someone ashawahi mkula anatokea …the rest wanaomba digits …others are seeking reviews for massage parlors …guys mumeoza. But lemmi ask you hii ugonjwa hamuogopi? Dude mi kumangana ni tene na ni dem tulikuwa tunaaminiana …been a while hadi naweza feel wierd kuenda shop kubuy CD… aiii aje sasa …tabia mbaya[/li][li]Hey, tulisema shots ni mbili …don’t try to be a hero uende tatu …hiyo bidii yote bado ukiwachwa utaambiwa ulikuwa bure ka tu sisi wa ya kwanza speedy speedy …na ingine moja then kazi kwisha [/li][/ol]

Point 2, 3 and 4 highlight them, click Control X, ufngue section ya sex and relationships uclick Control V. Na ukwame huko. Just know your lanes

2500cc, diesel, not toyota?

many kenyans cannot maintain diesel vehicles. Many with budget japanese petrol cars want to believe there is engine oil that does 15000km and they do actually survive like this. how many kenyans even buy genuine filters? Diesel engines dont stand that nonsense. no engine oil does that mileage without being fouled by metal shavings. maximum mileage is 5000km regardless of the oil cost. even if oil doesnt break down, the metal shavings eat the bearings and cylinders away. the other problem is the quality of diesel we have compared to europeans.

Why would anyone want to go above 5k kms without a service? Kenyans though

I have come to find out that when you go beyond the ordinary models on our roads, there are really good offerings …competitive

Bingwa unasumbua. Why can’t you keep your posts compartmentalized. Unatuita tuangalie your good post ya gari and then you post poop all over the place. Sasa Sijui kama I reply to post #1 or #4.

Alafu nasikia you are a sic donkey ya 94. Are you?

Kigui if u cannot handle 4 things …kigui what are you doing living …si ufe tu? Or ukubali tukufunge nyororo kwa shingo uwe mnyama

I’m thinking of going electric, been checking them EV online.
Anyone knows if our govt has incentives on importing EV?

Yesterday I saw a maroon Saab saloon car around Marurui on the bypass as I was coming from Ruaka. Quite a rarity in these streets. The European mid-class salon cars have been completely muscled out by the Japanese in this market.

Hizi shores hapana jaribu small turbo’d engines kina T/FSi, PureTec, EcoBoost & others.
Also stay clear of sub 2500 cc dithoro engines.

Once you take a closer look at electric cars, you realize how archaic internal combustion engines are:

1. A good electric car needs no transmission - adequate power is available across a wide range of RPMs (0-20,000); internal combustion on the other hand: (1,000-6,000). Most modern trains incl. SGR use (electric) traction motors to turn the wheels powered by the diesel engine as generators
  2. Noise
  3. Reliability - this can only get better once manufacturing of electric cars get standardized and owners are given the tools, the schematics and rights to repair on their own.
  4. Inefficiencies - an electric motor the size of a typical 2,000 cc engine can produce enormous amounts of smooth power.

Then there is hydrogen fuel cell - an idea that has been known to be workable for eons; a high school graduate can already visualize. The potential is enormous, since it can be used to power electric motors.

Unfortunately, for EV to work in Kenya, we need to have the energy infrastructure to support it. To charge an EV car like Tesla requires a lot of power (very high amounts of charge within a very short time); it would take years before we can generate the amounts of power to be able to meet the demands.

Diesel engines are generally more delicate than petrol engines and carry a higher cost of maintenance, especially with the unrefined diesel we have in Kenya. Also, a fair amount of technologies need to be put in there to give a diesel car decent acceleration. The diesels of the 80s had atrocious acceleration (I was once in a 300D w123 mercedes and I can tell you, that is not a car you want on the highway) due to much less technology in the engines than todays diesels. And they also need to conform to emissions. The more complex an engine, the more it is likely to break something. Its normally said what you save at the pump you may spend in maintenance. Also, they tend to be smokey and the smell of diesel can be strong in some of the cars.

Maybe if the fuel here was of better quality than a diesel would make sense but until that day, I will literally remain a petrolhead.

These EVs are already in Kenya my friend , what high power are you talking about? You can charge it using an extension cable but it will take 12hours on average and if you have a quick charge installation it takes 4hrs and there’s also a faster option than this.
They are even used as taxis in Nairobi as we speak.