Are Kenyan men now the 'weaker sex'?

Girls are no longer the “weaker sex”. They are the stronger sex, not afraid to take on challenges and jobs initially meant for boys.
They are increasingly more active on the playground and more aggressive in workplaces, pushing the boys to the sidelines.
Experts attribute this change to increased focus on the empowerment of the girl child at the expense of the boy.
According to Mr Ndegwa Mbuthia, a family counsellor, the upbringing of children has been left to women — mothers or house helps — and this is working to the boys’ disadvantage.
“The first two years of childhood are very important and if a boy is exposed to feminine behaviour, where they tag along with the mother or househelp everywhere, the boys are likely to exhibit feminine behaviour,” he said.
Traditionally, the woman’s place was the kitchen; girls were supposed to tag along with their mothers to the kitchen as the boys accompanied their fathers to the fields.
While girls are still taught how to cook and clean and take up other feminine duties, boys rarely have mentors to show them how to be a man. In fact, according to Mr Ndegwa, the urban setup no longer provides a platform for boys to transition to manhood.
“There is lack of socialisation for the boy child,” said Pastor Simon Mbevi of Mavuno Church. “The social structures were such that boys were to be mentored by older men into manhood, which no longer happens.”
Pastor Mbevi started the Man Enough programme under which men of all ages congregate to talk about issues to do with manhood after a study by his team found that fathers were absent from their children’s lives.
“According to the study, a regular urban father spends an average of seven minutes daily with his children,” said Pastor Mbevi.
Experts agree that the current crisis facing the boy child results from a nationwide fatherhood crisis. There are no fathers to hand over the fatherhood baton to their sons because they are busy at work or in the bar with “the boys”.
“Men are investing their time in everything else except their children. We have become a materialistic generation. Men are not investing in the most important thing,” said Mr Ndegwa.
The traditional fireplace where boys would sit with their fathers to be taught values is no more. Neither do fathers and sons spend time out in the fields. Boys generally grow up with the television, computers and video games with absentee fathers.
“The boys no longer have role models. They have nobody to look up to. Life is about skills. They cannot be taught in a classroom, but in day to day activities. No matter how much you study a car, you cannot drive unless you are taught to drive,” said Mr Mbuthia.
And Pastor Mbevi added: “The most important relationship in passing on the masculine baton is between father and son.”
Unfortunately, such relationships are becoming rare by the day and more single mothers are raising their sons on their own.
Boys who have not been tutored on manhood become deficient adults. They are less confident at the work place, make poor husbands and bad fathers.
The fatherhood crisis is seen in the insecurities of modern young men who are reluctant to take responsibility over their own lives and families.
“We have very educated men who cannot sustain relationships and marriages. They can no longer be anchors and defenders of their families. Simply because the boy has not been prepared for manhood,” said Mr Ndegwa.
Young men feel challenged by their female counterparts. They are insecure because the women are more confident, says Pastor Mbevi.
“When boys don’t get modelled into what masculinity is all about, they become mama’s boys. They become dead-beat fathers. They lack quality masculinity and they have no confidence. They are not able to perform well at work and socially,” said Pastor Mbevi.
These inadequacies also spill over to the workplace, where such young men who have not been toughened for life cannot take up serious assignments. They struggle to make up their minds because one of the life skills they were never taught is decision making.

From the Daily Nation

wtf…

http://www.indianshowbiz.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/02/2-5.png

hii ni perspective yake

bla bla bla

Maybe single mothers are ‘wimping’ their boys. But men should not think their boys are okay because they’re playing video games, they should do something. Also I feel focus should be given to the boy child too not only the girls. I notice there are more street boys than street girls and that’s a matter of great concern.

Kinda true. With the irresponsibility among men of nowadays, need’nt say more!

Herbivore men

Kwa wale wako na watoto how many spend time with their sons wainue mikono kwanza kabla watoe comments

And what do you ^ ladies think has caused irresponsibility among men? Too much societal expectations?

Your favorite words currently ‘herbivore men’.

Ukweli kabisa us gals we clean the house, wash clothes, cook etc etc with our mama’s now you guys what time do you spend with your sons when even on Sunday you wanna go to the pub to watch football…I saw this guy amepeleka family church lakini yeye anabaki kwa gari akilala kutoa Hangie na kusoma gazeti…yaani even a one hour church service can’t be spared

Kenyan men are so busy with their mipango ya kando that’s why…

Nakumbuka lecture kama hii ya the boy child pastor flani alitupigia nikiwa high school in the 90s…kwani mambo bado hayajabadilika?

my son yuko na lessons kila jioni na mimi on topics about the proud african…hekaya za abunwasi…the atrocities of mbeberu in africa and to the african mind…traditional african beliefs na mengineo hata tv siku hizi kwake sio as interesting tangu nianze hizi classes na yeye

wangu ako 3 months…so i still have enough time to wank

… i like that.

Earlier last week I went to give a talk in some institution and I asked those students how many believe they are gentlemen, to my surprise only 2 raised their hands the rest gave me answers such as I don’t know and others not sure. The boy child has been neglected leading to men who are sissies, no manly ego at all or confidence

Upus

Kabuda amefunza talkers tabia mbaya.

I blame the system. Am in Nai working my ass out tumake shure my son is catered for in future. He’s in Ocha with his mother schooling. Only have 2days off afta every 2months. Sasa nikifika of the 2days, take them out on Friday, Sato nikutembelea wazazi, Sunday kubalance hesabu ya coming month nikirudi. Nitajaribu…

This is artificial. When the affirmative action ends, and it will when poverty becomes highly reduced, things will go back to their natural order.