Are These Common Looking Houses Worth The Money?

Kirinyaga Governor Anne Waiguru is facing eviction from her Ksh 80 million house in Kitisuru, Nairobi, with the landlord claiming that she owes over Ksh 44 million in rent arrears.

The Governor rushed to court to challenge the eviction notice issued on February 29, arguing that she bought the house and she is the owner.

She stated that she purchased the house for Ksh 40 million and had an agreement with a local bank to cover Ksh 40 million balance through a mortgage.

The Governor’s lawyers argued that Kihingo Village Ltd, the developer, was aware of the purchase deal and allowed her to move into the house before it was sealed.

Kihingo Village Ltd, owned by ex-Tetu MP James Ndung’u Gethenji and his brother Gitahi Gethenji, however, insisted that she is a tenant and hasn’t paid rent for five years. The company wants Waiguru’s assets seized by auctioneers to pay for the rent accrued.

“Our client is not aware of any sale transaction with your client. If you have a copy of the same, please forward to us,” Kihingo Village attorneys responded.

[ATTACH=full]334898[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]334899[/ATTACH]
Some of the so-called Posh residential houses in Kihingo Village in Kitisuru, Nairobi

Waiguru’s lawyers accused Kihingo Village of frustrating efforts by the bank to offset the mortgage by failing to deliver relevant documents.

Justice Elijah Obaga issued temporary orders against the eviction and ordered the two parties to solve their issue amicably. Waiguru had asked for permanent orders to halt the eviction.

Her lawyers argued that the judge’s decision would grant Kihingo Village the authority to evict her. She argued that the firm was poised to taint her name.

“Noting her status as the Governor of Kirinyaga County, such an unlawful and unwarranted action of evicting her will no doubt cast aspersion as to her reputation,” Waweru Gatonye, her lawyer stated.

Kihingo Village has 55 housing units on a 37-acre plot with units reported to be now worth Ksh 400 million.

The owners, ex-Tetu MP James Ndung’u Gethenji and his brother Gitahi Gethenji, have been battling for control of the estate for years. On November 10, Commercial Court judge Justice David Majanja declared that the two cannot unilaterally administer the estate nor do they have authority over the firm managing the posh residential homes.

Hii ni wewe ndo umeandika ama ni writer wa iyo article juu it seems you both sahre the same ideas

Ati a unit costs 400 million? Real estate kenya ni umeffi tupu. 4M $ can get you a serious ranch in SA:D

They are not worth the money, but the people living there are rich…

People who steal money just give it away because they didnt work for it.

That ksh 400 m is a typo. Lets do some comps. These are all asking prices.
One thing to note is that those Kihingo houses are sometimes advertised in half acre or full acre. The truth is somewhere in between.

First one is a 5 bedroom unit in Karen in a closed community for ksh 70m and 120 m(second one) respectively. 1/2 acre lots.

[ATTACH=full]334963[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]334967[/ATTACH]

Third one is 55m for 1/2 acre 5 bedroom in Karen. It uses old style fixtures. 4th one in Kitisuru for 85m 3 stories high same size.

[ATTACH=full]334969[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]334970[/ATTACH]

Conclusion: Half acre plot in Karen and Kitisuru is 30m. Theres no way those homes cost another 55m to 85m to build. In fact you can purchase the land at about 25m or less if you have cash today. 20m max you will construct those same homes. 40m max Total price.

Or you can purchase an older home like picture 3 above, tear out the old fixtures and upgrade it. Advantage is you get a prime location. It looks to me people are being sold on modern fixtures eg updated bathrooms, kitchens, flooring, etc. You can easily do that on your own.

There are also people in the area selling much older homes for 20m range.

400M ?

Read again:

Kihingo Village has 55 housing units on a 37-acre plot with units reported to be now worth Ksh 400 million.

ksh. 400 million for all the 55 units on a 37-acre plot.

I did. An acre of land in Kitisiru is ksh 50 million. 37 acres would be 1.8 billion. If you include houses, you would be at 4 Billion minimum.

okay…I see it now… makes sense, thanks.

How you pay that kind of money for a house, then share a swimming pool is beyond me.

nasikia the clubhouse in that village is worth 5B? I wonder how it looks like

Sharing pools is the best. Cost of maintenance for a pool is very high and most pools are rarely used.

Communal pools serve as a meetup point for the community members and their kids get to know one another ndio watu wasiishi bila kujua neighbours.

Leave alone SA but I saw a recent crib that Eminem was staying in went for $3.75 mil and it’s a very amazing crib, 6 acres of very sweet nice environment. Hapa unauziwa vumbi for that price. Fucked up.[ATTACH=full]335174[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]335175[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]335176[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]335177[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]335178[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]335179[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]335180[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]335181[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]335182[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]335183[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]335184[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]335185[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]335186[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]335187[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]335188[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]335189[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]335190[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]335191[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]335192[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]335193[/ATTACH]

Besides cost, are there any other reasons architects and builders just throw up four walls and a roof with little to no creativity, craftsmanship, or design? Do the majority of people enjoy the boring style of most moderately-priced new build homes? Can you only find great design in more expensive homes these days? Kodi nox

I think that you should approach an architect with a design in mind. You can use pictures from the internet. Leaving an architect to fully design means you are at his mercies. Most lack artistic vision. So they use stock designs that they had used for a prior customer. I have seen it happen a few times.

For landscaping and interior, those are things you can improve yourself. You do not need an architect.

Very true. All my structures are self-created before approaching an architect.
My last design gave the first architect headaches he tried revising twice but couldn’t interpret my need.
The second guy finally got it by improving on the first dude’s and got the job including construction supervision.

I’m trying to attach the bird’s view here in a minute.

Sorry, the file is protected.

Can you take a screen shot.

Safi sana