As your grandparents fought with mud.

Clobbering it mercilessly with a jembe, kumbe wengine walikuwa busy with books?

Prof . Yash Pal Ghai pale KTN News. Ni mhindi by the way. Born in Ruiru in 1938. In his late teens his father sent him to the U.K. to attend Oxford University for his BA, MA and later on Doctorate of Civil Law (DCL) !!!

How many of you have a grandfather or father who attended Oxford, hands up! Hata kama alipata tu certificate in food preparation science, hands up!

Even in today’s world that is still impressive. Na bado Ghai akaongeza another Masters in Law (LLM ) from Harvard. Weh!!

He started the first law school in East Africa at Dar es Salaam way before Makerere started theirs. And even in those very early days he was still in the civil society advocating for devolution via majimbo…

For that Njonjo wanted his neck so he went into exile for 20 years. It wasn’t until 2010 when he finally got his wish, or partly got his wish. And the arrogant Njonjo is his neighbor today. I wonder had Jomo just agreed to listen to some of these brainiacs where would Kenya be today? Akina Pinto, Ghai and others of the opposite view.

Yet the two dynasty brothers can’t say where they (if they) went to school.

uhuru ali attend Amherst na wewe je?

@Purple ako kwa hii class

You know what went down back then it just that Moi covered up that story.

The decision that drunkard makes proves that he never stepped in an institution of higher learning.

Don’t lower yourself to believe the person that posted that comment can understand you.

You forget it was easier for Indians to get education as compared to Africans, one because of their economic status and two for the reasons you’ve explained, they saw the benefit in education, as they had been colonised before us. They had a better understanding of the importance of education, while we were resisting the invasion by the Europeans.

they had better schools and were privileged people

I didn’t make it to Harvard. And it wasn’t because of money.

We’retalking of 1938 , what are you talking about?

Our grandparents fought with mud so that we didn’t have to.

Hiyo CV yake ni ya nguvu sana, most of the times if you are not educated and you are in a position of responsibility you tend to be insecure around people that are learned as they pose a threat to your power. I see why jomo and the kiambu mafia assassinated so many promising minds.

Former jamu old old old boy when it was centre of excellence cc @kush yule mnono

One thing that i can not grasp is that after all what the british did to our people how do we still mainatain relations with them. I just can not fathom that.

wewe uko na high IQ si ungekuwa a neurosurgeon?wewe ni meffi in my eyes kutoka huko klist na ile umeffi yako ya blonde season comes early

It is hard for me too. Deep down inside there’s some deep seated bile i have for these peeps. And not just the brits. Manze what our people experienced (and continue to) in America is completely unacceptable.

kama uko so intelligent si ufanye decision ya kuhama kenya,ama hakuna any other country inaweza kubali a numbskull like you?

I said Ghai was born in 1938 not that he graduated in 1938!!

Kusoma hata alimaliza juzi tu in 1992. He first got his BA in law in 1961 from Oxford at 23 years of age.

He then moved to Boston for his Masters in Law from Harvard in 1963. Then taught at Dar es Saalam University and I believe was fast tracked to dean and then Proffesor in the 1970s. Then taught all over the U.K. and elsewhere.

He got his second masters degree from Oxford in 1990 and his Doctorate in 1992. (All info I got online.)

Now, as your grandparents were “resisting” :D:D… if indeed they did… as well as blasting mud, many Africans by the 1950s and 60s were studying even abroad.

So usijidanganye ati no Africans were studying.

An interesting example is Mbiyu Koinange who completed his university studies in 1938 when Yash Pal Ghai was being born!

Let me just copy paste from wikipedia:

Mbiyu Koinange moved to the United States in 1927 for studying. [3] He attended Hampton Institute in Virginia , where he graduated in 1931. [4] Koinange then started at Ohio Wesleyan University in Delaware, Ohio in 1931, completing a four-year bachelor’s degree in 1935. [5]

From Ohio, Koinange then received a one-year postgraduate certificate in education from Columbia University in 1936. [6] Mbiyu Koinange then spent a year at the University of Cambridge , St. John’s College as a Rhodes Scholar , [7] followed by a year at the University of London Institute of Education before returning to Kenya in 1939. [8]

Hiyo kitu imekuwasha mbaya. Jikune mkundu utulie kinyesi wewe.