Atheist wameamua

copied from ‘Nation Fm’

Atheists have moved to court in a bid to challenge the government’s declaration of Thursday as national holiday terming the move as unconstitutional.
Through their organization, Atheists in Kenya, their president, Harrison Mumia, has filed a case at the High Court seeking to have the gazette notice issued to declare Thursday a public holiday nullified.
President Uhuru Kenyatta had on Tuesday declared Thursday 26 a public holiday and national day of prayer and reflection ahead of the Pope Francis visit.
Mr Mumia said the move by the government contravenes Articles 8, 9 and 32 of the Constitution and injures the economy.
“The constitution clearly states that there shall be no state religion. We cannot have the government acting religiously,” said Mr Mumia, who accused the government of portraying the country as a Christian state.
He added that by declaring Thursday a national day of prayer, the government was acting contrary to article 32 of the constitution.
“It is well highlighted that a person shall not be compelled to act, or engage in any act, that is contrary to the person’s belief or religion,” added Mr Mumia.
On the economy, the organization argues that with little business being conducted, so much revenue will be lost and this would have great effects.

This is like farting in the wind.

Or like peeing in a river

They have a case. The government should not be seen to be favoring or promoting the interests of one religion. Hii serikali ya Jubilee inapenda christians sana especially Catholics

Is anyone holding a gun at you forcing you to pray??

wako na utoto

Farting in streets of Nairobi…pale commercial stage; Gikuyu 105 x 20

Open your houses’ doors and let the kids go visit the paedophiles who are landing soon.

We should also demand a public holiday the next time the head of the Hindu faith comes into the country or the Archbishop of Canterbury.

Kenya is a secular country by law, but we all know its run on Christian values, so atheists are fighting a loosing battle.

Contrary to popular belief Kenya is not a secular state and huwezi peana national holiday Nairobi tu,I think both a logistical and a security reason are behind the decision

The Aga Khan :smiley:

If they feel like reporting to work its up to them, they are free to go to their working stations and spend the day there hata kama ni hapo nje if they dont have anything better to do tomorrow. live and let live

just because there are few bad seeds you should not generalize, then again who are you to judge.

The voice of Reason. I distance myself from all “snake oil merchants” who are selling us a future they can not prove while the present state goes to the dogs.

your need to spew venow against a religion/ppl you don’t know shows your inadequacies. I think you shld concentrate on what you believe in and let others be.what makes an authority of what is proper or not?

…and Prophet Owuol

Come to think of it,when,Jehova Wanyonyi refused ugali and went to be with himself,a holiday shudda been declared

If by inadequacies you mean my knowledge of the atrocities of the catholic church: there role in the rise of aggressive Islam, how they robbed bed ridden aristocrats(read catholic concept of purgatory) then by all means I am inadequate. Keep wagging your tails to the “mangod”

WE ACCEPT ANY HOLIDAY WITH OUR HEARTS KWANZA UHURU AKITUPEA HOLIDAY YA ONE WEEK BEFORE ELECTIONS NA ONE WEEK AFTER NAMLETEA KURA MOB YA WALEVI MEANWHILE TUMEANZA

Vile Jehovah Wanyonyi ‘anaishi’ Kenya, si tunafaa kuwa on holiday throughout?