Automatic Cars & Tyre Bursts

In manual cars, you could slow the car by engaging lower gears. What’s the safest option with an automatic?

It will do it ‘automatically’

Keep the steering steady , and the ECU will detect pressure loss and semi engage the ESP

Then depending on how quick your thinking vs reaction time is, you can either use the tip tronic to deccellerate. If you were in cruise control you can use it to decellerate, it allows reducing speed by up to intervals of 10kph per flip.

Just don’t slam your breaks coz you will be counteracting 3x forces.

some cars don’t even come with a spare tyre, they don’t even come equipped with a Jack

Tiptronic or cruise control can help. But what about those automatic only without cruise control?

Am sure you’ve seen most automatic vehicles with labels 1&2 alongside D, N,R and P. They do work btw…

Just ease off the accelerator and let it loose momentum on its own until it’s below 60kms/h , at that point it’s safe to gently apply ( key word being gently ) the brakes to assist come to a complete stop

There will be a slight tag of war with the steering so make sure you don’t over correct

Also remember that the ESP will kick in, even toyota vitz should have it

Big mistake, never shift from drive to low range when above a certain speed, and most importantly never try the same if you have a tyre burst

Shit will hit the fan , literally

Can’t relate. Ni mimi na Toyora yangu manual transmission till wealth do us part :smiley:

But same thing applies to manual transmission. Ukiengage low gear ikiwa high speed utaokotwa kwa msitu kama Couch waru. You can only do to an auto the same thing you can do to a manual…

What’s the worst that can happen? Gearbox kuchapa? I once shifted from D to P at 80kph (WD40 things). Car switched off, I rolled to a halt, restarted and everything was OK.

Nichanue hii ESP manenos. Ile ESP najua ni extra sensory perception aka 6th sense.

Most autos have a fail safe, to the extent hata ukieka reverse ukiwa 80kph haita-engage, but utapatana na za kitambo ushangae ikichapa groundie…

On the first question on what’s the worst that can happen, think about in layman’s terms and imagine throwing your car from 4h to 4l and couple that with a burst tyre. The shock deceleration generated from the change in ratio and torque will throw you in any direction

On the second question Electronic Stability Control/Program (ESP or ESC) was initially designed for snow and slippery roads use. But it worked so well its now also used to brake the car if the ECU detects that you are loosing steering control.

Check on the buttons on your steering or next to gear shifter and you should see it. It’s normally engaged full time but you can also use that button to switch it on and off

I guess with manual you got full control. You can slow down the car by quick shifting from high to low gears and manage to come to a complete stop in a very short distance. Kwa auto itakuwa tricky sana

Is ESP different from ABS? I thought ABS does the same thing you mentioned…prevent u from loosing control of the car when braking.

1. Foot off Accelerator.
  2. Engage hazard + lights to warn other motorists.
  3. Shift frm D to 2.
  4. Trail brake kama mchawi ambaye anakimbizwa na mob huko Kisii.
  5. Steer in the direction the vehicle is moving toward, DO NOT attempt to counter steer until speed drops or until you regain control of the car.
  6. Once u’ve regained control, apply brakes gently&steer towards road shoulder.
  7. Step out & check your pants for any sign of `brown rain´

Two completely different techs, your jalopy should have both

ABS deals with locking of breaks, while ESP provides both braking and steering assist (corrects over steer and under steer)

Look for something similar to below, if you disengage it , the button led lights red and a warning should appear on your dash

[ATTACH=full]111220[/ATTACH]

Hio step 7 ni guarantee.

Once, riding a Chinku bike with non-standard gearing I shifted from 4th thinking I was going up one to 5th.
Kumbe it takes you back to 1st.
The inertia threw me on top of the tank.
Karibu nikanyagwe na nduthi yenye naendesha. I would have been unable to explain that accident.

Had a front tyre burst while cruising at about 130kph one Sunday afternoon near st Marys Hosp near Nakuru…that shit is not fun