Bad Habit we need to change.

Just a few days ago I hosted a group of American students who were visiting for the blue economy conference mainly focusing on cleaning up the plastics from the ocean. And the final day before they left they asked me why they’re charged more money when buying goods and even visiting the touristy places like KICC they pay more money?

I replied to them because they’re White people believe they’re very rich.

They told me prior before coming to Kenya they were in Spain and they were pretty much charged the same amount of money as the locals especially when accessing the Museums, using public transport like taxis etc.

When they landed at JKIA they paid 1,000shillings to be delivered to my Airbnb using a shuttle. They wanted to try out the city by riding a Matatu they noted they paid 100bob more than the other passengers, visiting Nairobi National Park they paid more than the locals etc. by the end of there trip they compared budgets and they ended up spending more MONEY in Kenya than in Spain.

Such bad habits need to be changed especially if we are to grow our tourism industry to compete with other destinations which don’t discriminate people by there wallet size.

Like if one of you flew to the States you’ll all be charged the same when shopping, eating, transport, entertainment etc.

Nope. I’m not boarding.

Inaitwa skin tax. Why they don’t complain when they are not frisked at malls, locals go out of their way to attend to them, cops listen and act on their complaints-skin dividends?

Mzungu lazima akamuliwe kabisa. Pesa kwao ni mingi kama mchanga wa bahari. Tena bado wako na deni yetu ya kutucolonize for so many years.

Tell them we don’t want poor tourists complaining about 1000kshs cab service and Ksh. 100 more on Matatu fares

Peasantry knows no skin kumbe

Tell them that although I am not an African, I strongly think they should return the resources they stole with their British east Africa company and slave labour on cotton farms in the americas

Until that refund, Africans watarudisha pole pole

WE DONT WANT POOR TOURISTS!!!

NA UKO NA AUDACITY KUTUAMBIA TUWACHE …WAGIDO WEWE

enuf said

https://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=skin%20tax

As the “superior” race, from the superior nations and the developed nations it is inherently assumed that their pockets are similarly more developed. They have hammered that info since the days when they colonized the globe so…

It’s even in all their movies showing that they are rich and should be treated as such. And when you visit Kenya as a tourist it is assumed you have cash to burn. Juu sioni makanga akienda holiday L.A. any time soon ati akaone Beverly Hills. Economies of scale wont allow.

Na juu dunia ni kama yao, their passports are unquestioned and they go wherever they please, I believe this is a small price to pay.

Go to another country and you will realize it happens all over. To blacks, to whites. If you are a foreigner you will be skimmed by people selling you things.

Even Asians do that when other people visit their countries, kwanza if you fail to haggle wanakuona fala.

Who told you it doesn’t happen out there?I have been to most European and Asian countries and I have experienced the same as a foreigner.

It’s a bad habit, hata ukienda to those small coastal towns kujibamba utakuta bei ya mgeni na ya local ni tofauti.
What irked me the most was boat trip while crossing over to wasini island, mgeni 200 bob, local 30bob

Wewe lipa wacha kusumbua. Visit any other part of the year not precisely during festivities. Plus wenyeji wamesota na wabara wote wanaishi karibu na government banks.

I’ve been to several.

As I look back I ended up paying too much for a mutura sandwich in Istanbul one time.

It’s a bad habit and a lazy one. We should come up with unique ideas where we get tourists to spend more money without charging them more and leaving them with experience of feeling satisfied and have them come back for more.