BANKERS IN THE HOUSE, YOUR ASSISTANCE IS PARAMOUNT HERE.

I recently made a cheque deposit from, Bank of Kigali to my Equity Account in Kenya, but the teller accidentally keyed in Equity Bank Kigali.

I left the Bank with the deposit transcript, satisfied with Correct Account number and Correct Account names.

This morning the money wasn’t reflecting on the account due to the error, it should have been an international money transfer not internal.

The money now lies in a limbo account, banker’s in the house hi pesa nita pata namna gani wadau… Money deposited to a non existent account, reversal ina take how long…

Asandi

Mulikojea thread ya @Okiya asubuhi kuleni ujeuri wenu.

Saa hizi ungekuwa Equity bank unasolve hiyo issue nao

Inaingianga kitu inaitwa Suspense Account…ukienda kucomplain kwa branch manager utasortiwa juu ukiwait wareconcile probably itakaa…

The teller is very right and there was no error. The cheque must have been flown to Rwanda for clearing in their Central Bank. Once cleared, Equity Rwanda will get the funds from Bank of Kigali. Then Equity Rwanda will debit Equity Kenya with the amount. Finally Equity Kenya will credit your account.

My worry is what if my account number tally with another Equity customer in Kigali, im now enroute returning to Kigali to confirm my worst fears

Kitu sijaelewa is how did you know the teller keyed in Equity Bank Kigali? because that is back office stuff during end of day reconciliation. The receipt should reflect your name and account number and if you check your balance it should show the deposit only that the amount will be in lien.

From the transcript

Did you see me comment negatively on Okiyas thread this morning , if you have no valuable info concerning international money transfer stick to your hamsini hamsini hongo, while at it print this infantile reply of yours and shove it up your ass, jinga

If its from the deposit slip then you better go back to the branch asap.

Keti huko nguruba ,meff ya konso.

:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

Napanga kuenda Kigali weekend. Leta places za kuosha mecho

Kumbe @LIEN sio jina ya kiBukusu

account names cant match. i doubt account numbers will match too.

:eek:you bank with EQUITY:D:D:Dpole sana pesa yako imemulikwa hivi
[ATTACH=full]215897[/ATTACH]

I have been unable to confirm this but I think your 14-digit account number includes country, bank and branch codes so that no two accounts have the same number. In fact i think your money is in a suspense account in the bank of Kigali coz once it bounced in Equity kigali coz it could not be posted it was returned to originating bank. But like i said i could not be able to confirm this.

The “bouncing” would apply if it was a wire transfer. But since this is a cheque, the money has already left Bank of Kigali and is now in a suspense account with Equity Bank Rwanda

Do the hardcopy cheques still hve to leave the bank where they have been banked anymore?

Yes. all branches have to organize how cheques will be brought to Nairobi on a daily basis. Mostly its G4S who courier