Being Rich Is Relative.

Jeff Bezos might look at Oprah as poor even though both are dollar billionaires. By the same yardstick kule tao kuna mzee yuko na residential flats units kama 80, each month anaingiza 2M gross in rent, by Kenyan standards he is very rich. By EU standards he is just average middle class.

In Africa you are Rich if
[ol]
[li]You afford 3 meals a day[/li][li]Live in a structure with more than 2 rooms[/li][li]Have a mobile phone whichever, smart or feature phone[/li][li]Have access to a toilet within 11 meter radius from your living room[/li][/ol]
Anything else above this makes you very rich.

Well then certainly a hige population of Kenyans are rich

Jeff Bezos seems rich, but he knows there are people and families beyond him, and keeps to his lane. Being rich is relative.

There are many rich people in the world, and money has lost its value, it is not a measure of anything anymore.

Yes. KENYANS are very rich. Travel my friend. Go to Burundi one day. Ukiwa na Ksh 1000 ama approx 10USD you will wine and dine.

A whole fried chicken, 8 pilau rice plates, 5 beers ni about Ksh950.

Shamba je ? Nataka kutoroka hii Kenya maisha yamekua magumu

I doubt. Wealth, just like everything else in life, has a point of diminishing returns, which I suspect is way below 1 billion USD. That means for every other billion you get, your quality of life does not change. At the end of the day, you have to put your trousers on, one leg at a time, like everyone else. So, I don’t think Bezos would look down on Oprah because he knows that all the additional billions he has over her, are almost meaningless when it comes to the quality of life they live. Both are over that threshold where more money doesn’t translate to a better life.

To explain diminishing returns. If Abramovich makes one billion this year, his quality of life will not change, after all, he is worth tens of billions anyway. If you make one billion this year, your whole life will change. That’s the difference.

Sasa nmeamini ni m2random

I think it gets to point where money becomes worthless shit of papers

Momi ni dollar Billionaire and I’ve always stuck to my lane

The average Kenyan is wealthy when compared to the average Malawian. It’s crazy when you think of it that way. About 10 years ago I remember reading on BBC. They had interviewed some children from Zambia or Malawi and asked them what they wished in life. One of them said he wished he could live in Kenya. My jaw fell to the floor. We Kenyans get dissatisfied and there are people hoping to come live here.
I have looked for that article to no avail
Sometimes I feel undereducated and I have a bachelor’s degree and wonder how those who only finished secondary school and did not proceed feel.

Give me Jeff Bezos money. I will have a bigger spring in my walk. And a larger smile on my face.

We’ve had this conversation before. Vile M2Random amesema beyond a certain amount, your life doesn’t change qualitatively.
In Kenya I estimate ni about 1 million bob a month You’ll live the same quality of life as someone who makes 1 billion shillings a month.

Exactly in the era of jomo the quality was poor as compared to the present times when politicians have helicopters mobile phones

This is what I mean…
Uhuru might be a trillionaire but we live in the same hood, we go to the same hospitals, his kids and I hang out in the same social joints ie bars (Milan, B club) , attend the same and sports events and can take my kids to the same schools his attend.
So qualitatively, his billions don’t make any difference over someone who makes a million or two or even a bachelor who makes 400k a month.

Nope the yard stick to measuring wealth is how long you can stay out of work and still maintain your current life style.

The diminishing return theory mainly works from an economical angle. As money pours in one may look further for Whatever satisfactions that can be found.It could be the thirst for Political power. Those billions might make a huge difference. Trump comes to mind

one thing all should understand. Jeff Bezos, Bill Gates , Elon Musk , Mark Zuckerberg, The Walton Family etc are just front men, the system wants you to believe the wealth belongs to them , but in real scene it belongs to the three families that rule the world

In my experience in Kenya ukipita 300k a month you have to start thinking of stupid ways to spend your money. That is as a single and childless person

Here we go again…Bezos, Bill Gates built their companies from scratch with a favorable business environment. If by families behind the scenes u mean investors, maybe yes. Otherwise the rest are Qanon lore.

Youre right, in the states its $100K from there onwards nothing changes.