Breaking in a new Engine

[ATTACH=full]186417[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]186418[/ATTACH]

@introvert Kuja hapa.

So I finally pulled the trigger on this and I’m now locked in a hot debate with another rider. Anasema warming the engine ni umeffi. Ati modern engines don’t need any warmup. I have read somewhere on the internets(apply appropriate level of scepticism here) that nothing hurts and wears out an engine as much as cold starts. Please add your two cents here.

The other thing, this being a brand new engine, how do I properly break it in? The manual says my first oil change is at 1000KM(I guess this is the first break in interval) and thereafter, intervals of 3000KM.

How many cc?

That’s a nice looking Chinku right there.
For older engines (carburetor type) you need to warm up so the carb can get the air-fuel mixture right. That’s why you pull the choke, let it idle as you brush your teeth then return the choke. Try riding an old 600 you didn’t warm up and having the engine die out when negotiating a slow turn. It can break your leg.
These new EFI bikes, however, have the air-fuel mixture electronically controlled so warming up is upus.

Regarding breaking in, just treat it like a new girl.
Gear down before the engine needs it, ride like a girl for a few hundred kms, accelerate slowly and service it when the manual says you should.

Then, I hope that’s not your helmet…
Welcome to the club.

300 cc

This is EFI. My concern with warm up was the oil. My practice has been start the bike and let the oil temp climb to about 70 degrees before riding out which takes about 2-5 mins. Is this unnecessary?

just start it fingers on the clutch and launch. pikipiki mpya 300cc unakataa aje kuinua kichwa yake ukiondoka?

That’s unnecessary, and will cost you in terms of both fuel and engine life.
EFI will make up for the cold by throwing more fuel into the mix. Some of that might get into the cylinder walls and clean the oil off the walls, resulting in more friction as you ‘wait’ for the engine to warm up.
Riding is the fastest way to warm your engine.
Just be easy on the throttle for the first part of your ride.

Sasa hii advice ukipea newbie kaa Mimi, si nitabakisha nyama kwa lami nikiwa nimejifanya stuntman…:smiley:

Juu napenda cartoons and only use books with pictures:D:D,

[ATTACH=full]186443[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=full]186444[/ATTACH]

Modern technology has spared the rigorous break in schedule required for old generation cars, but you still got to ‘take it slow’ for the first thousand kilometer or so. Many experts would disagree so, saying that new era engines are broken in at the manufacturing plant; but SHIFT logic being quite simple;

1. peace of mind
  2. even the best of automobile state out steps in the user manual to break in the car.

Source: https://www.thedailystar.net/supplements/engine-break-in-myths-and-how-to-do-it-properly-179689

I believe this should also apply to Motorcycles, BUT ALWAYS REFER TO THE OWNERS MANUAL.

Warm up ni ya iko na carburetor or places ziko baridi (freezing point) kama kwa Akina @Purple. Start engine and go easy on the throttle for a few minutes vile umeambiwa hapo juu na mekanika chrome dome.

Saidia specs na price ya hii jicheng

Niko na swali… I bought this generator through my sister and it was brought by meli after waiting for 5 months . It’s a strong generator and I’m sure it has an engine model same as nduthi.
I want to take it oocha but the problem is that I read somewhere that if you let it stay with petrol kwa carburetor for long without circulating, it damages the carburetor . This guy is sweet and strong and I don’t want to spoil it .

So is it true that I have to empty the carburetor? and if I have to whats the safest way I can do that ?

[ATTACH=full]186537[/ATTACH]

Lazima udrain. There’s a screw at the bottom of the bowl.
I don’t know what happens to petrol when it stays very long but it even smells different.

Wacha I’ll check it tonight when I go back thank u

http://captainmotorcycle.com/listings/benelli-300cc/

Hon. Egh. KPMG. PhD. @introvert , speaking of which nimeona bike Tao inaitwa Hondya :D:D

Hehehe mi nimewahi kwara kuunda Keweseki.
Ngori saidi.

You know your shit Mbwa