Bribes in Nakuru Provincial Hospital

When ksh 1000 was paid as bribe, a 65 year old woman ended her 3 day wait to get that needle they put on the hand for the drip inserted into her hand; that was done in minutes. Of the 3 days, the doctors kept dancing around her and on Jamhuri day, they even told her she couldn’t get the needle since it was a public holiday.

A friend of mine lost her father on Suday 13th suffering from Malaria in the same hospital. The man walked himself to the hospital 4days earlier but couldn’t go to the ICU on 12th since among other things it was a public holiday plus her family didn’t know the right person to “talk” to.

A neighbour of mine who had a mastectomy about a month ago had a pipe inserted into her chest area to drain off excess fluid. When insterting the tube, the doctors had an argument on whether the pipe they were using was too big for the thin and frail mother of three who’s energy has been drained off by the cancer. 2 hrs later the woman was in so much pain that she couldn’t roll herself in bed. Efforts by the husband who is a mason to get the doctors to remove the pipe was met with dancing about the doctor manning the next shift doing the change. 3 days of immense pain and someone told the husband that a bribe of Ksh 2000 would quickly fix the problem. Luckily the same day the pipe slipped out of the lady’s chest. Another was inserted after 4 days of following doctors all over the place.

A woman lost her kid in the same hospital in one of the most painful ways. She had lost her 1st kid a few years back in a hospital in Molo, Nakuru county due to problems during normal delivery. She was adviced to have the next delivery at the Nakuru Provincial General Hospital. A day before she was due, she was brought to the hospital by her mother and the doctors recommended a c-section. She was admitted. Her mother who had brought her signed all relevant papers and went home entrusting her daughter and the unborn child to the Hospital. That was around 3pm. The young woman went into labour that night. A few hours of labour later, housewives finally took her to the labour ward to deliver. The baby was dead. He had died in her womb after hours of struggle with the young mother in severe pain and no one to take care of her. Upon delivery, the young lady slipped into unconsciousness. The nurses left her there. Covered only in a light shuka. In the cold. And if you have ever been to a hospital, that place is a fridge. She wasn’t even supposed to have the normal delivery but was given one anyway.

The lady eventually walked out of the ward early morning. Alone. With no kid. And no explanation to the women’s ward. Her mother came that morning to find a distraught and even sicker daughter. She found me in Nakuru town full of tears buying a dress for the daughter for the journey home. I’m a man but I cried too.

Those are the few I know from my one, 30 minute visit to the hospital and an encounter with a grieving Grandmother and a distraught mother. This my friends is not a joke. Its peoples lives that these doctors have decided to joke with. Its painfull that such awfull people exist. Something needs to be done. else I will personally kill these doctors and nusrses

Sad.devolution has fucked the health sector in the ass

Dunia imepasuka mblo…

Eeeeeish!.. … Noma sanaaa!

Sensationalist

Sad, seems incredible though.

Dancing doctors…that’s a first

Now that you have sensationally claimed that all those things are happening in Nakuru,what have you done? You have everything on record,you should take up the matter with Nakuru Governor.
When the cops “became too much” kisiwani,residents complained to the governor. And he acted or was seen to act when he addressed the issue of arbitrary arrests during Jamhuri Day.
Wewe shida hapa ukitafuta VE status and telling us something should be done. Hata afadhali ungekuwa ushaua mtu…it would have been something

It’s fcuking retarded, we as Kenyans are doomed. Day to day corruption and professional malpractice seems not to bother us, but, wait for Tinga to start eurobond, NYS, SGR and all that sh!t, that’s when we became patriots numero uno.

na mshahara ikose kuingia on time wapayuke

From some of the responses here, it appears to me those who went to that hospital made a big mistake. They should have gone to agakhan or nairobi hospital.

Since I realized that when u go to some private hospitals u pay an arm and a leg only to be given generic drugs… Siku hizi I’d rather grease some hands kwa public hosi n get first class treatment

letting others know z gotta be the 1st step

housewives? Anyway,there is a health bill in parliament that is awaiting your Mp’s contribution before being passed into law. This is where the ish gets real,apparently there is a clause in that bill that locks out all other health care workers,except the doctors from heading the health directorate in the county and national government…talk to your mp or cry out to him…

What? If this is true then it’s pathetic.

i refuse to be depressed…

Lakini Doctors na Nurses nowadays hawana hata ethics like before.I once took my sister who was pregnant to Public Hos in Thika.Kufika huko kwa maternity area,the nurse was shouting and cursing at a pregnant woman.Walai hadi the woman cried.'Ati wapi bwana,usiniambie umechoka kwani ni mimi nlikutia mimba.'Nkamreport kwa HR wao.Hata hakuna kitu ilifanywa.Ilibaki niambie my sister ttuende private coz angejaribu hyo upuus tena.Nngekuwa kamiti

Glad you read

Dakitari detected.

The new CS for health, left a job as CEO of Nairobi Hospital earning 4.9 million a month to a government job earning 1.2 million a month. Those billions in the health budget, now you see them, now you don’t. His net worth is 615 million and he’s gunning for more!

Every public hospital has phone numbers plastered in every department in case patients run into problems.
Try calling one, usually the head of that department should be available.
If not tafuta the medical superintendent of that hospital or his deputy.
HR won’t help. Not in chain of command.
If that doesn’t help go to the county offices and look for the county director of medical services or his deputy and seek their intervention.
And lastly the local mca can help kick up some ruckus if all else fails.