Building using Concrete blocks

Hi guys, anyone here who has experience with concrete blocks? I’m planning to construct a 4 bedroom house, and I want to make my own blocks to cut cost. Any Advise? Advantages/disadvantages?

Concrete blocks are expensive than machine cut… anyone who tells you can save on walling is lying to you and if you save its negligible.

unless you have a very specific reason why you need the light weight hollow concrete blocks coz on costs they don’t compete

Vile wamesema hapo juu. Can we consider thread closed

Bado Kenya hatujafika hapo. Mafundi na hiyo value chain wamezoea mawe

Might not be exactly what you are looking for but check out Kwangukwako.com pale sameer park . Their solution is verrrrry affordable.

Machine cut stones are really cheap boss. With 200k or less you can do ground floor for a normal size mansionette. These pre fabricated panels zikona mambo mingi. U need to order weeks before u start and lazima fundi ajue kile anafanya. Machine cut ni teke teke.

I think you can mix or use both concrete and stones to save. Problem I’ve found with machine cut is that you have to be very vigilant with the ‘gauge’ of the stones…some are very uneven costing more cash&labour during plasterworks. Na pia highrise buildings buying a ready concrete floor is cheaper (and faster) than kukoroga slab. Kama zile nyumba ziko na 10+ floors south c ,they do like 3 floors in around two weeks.

the cost of concrete is stupid high in kenya. The main reason of course is that sand cartels control the sand industry with an iron fist.unlike cement, which is mas produced, sand is somewhat artisanal. Eve if you are building KICC, you still need to go to small guys and beg around until you find a lorry of sand. Hakuna supplier wa mchanga kama bamburi cement au portland cement. So concrete makes no sense.

Inategemea pahali anajenga. If its outside ‘Nairobi’ , sand is cheap

it’s not, it’s still a shitty hassle when you have to make the blocks yourself

Do you mean things like this ones

[ATTACH=full]362452[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]362453[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]362454[/ATTACH]

Sijui kama that is the best they could but the end product doesn’t look pleasing to my eyes.Tumia mawe boss

Nje ya Nairobi sand costs 10-12k

Actually nilinunua 8500 pale Murang’a na unajichagulia

I’d go for concrete block the solid ones if I can readily get them at a price cheaper than machine cut.Use hollow concrete blocks for partitions and non load bearing walls. Use solid concrete block for exterior and load bearing walls. They give nice finishing surface compared to machine cut,at times depending on workmanship of the mason the wall will be plumb on both sides hence eliminates the cost of plastering as you can skim directly.

Concrete blocks is the cheaper way…wewe nunua dust kwa wingi alafu tafuta hio brick builder ya jua kali alafu na wajamaa watatu hivi within a month u are set .Alafu rai cement bei iko set.