Buyer Beware of Car Brokers!!

Most of you already know this but for the few who don’t:
Car brokers, the kawaida ones and those digital brokers who post Vehicles, Land, and other items for sale on websites such as JIJI(OLX), are NOT working for your benefit. Their ONLY purpose is for you to pay over and above the true cost of the item so that they take home a good commission.
Most brokers also don’t care about the condition of the vehicle you buy so exercise some good judgement when inspecting the vehicle and don’t blindly trust them.
Last year I bought a Toyota Fielder through a broker but later I became friends with the seller and he confessed that he really only expected about 800k max for the car, but the broker (who is my Cousin btw) pressured him to stick at 900k so that they could eat a good amount.
So in short NEVER go to finalize the purchase of any car with a broker - Even from a Car Bazaar, so that you can have greater negotiating power. You can go to view the car with them, and pretend you didn’t like it, and then come back later ALONE or with your mechanic to buy the car.

this has always been the trick

A former school mate who bought a piece of land in Kamalu and build a semi permanent house invited me to his place since, I had expressed interest to buy a 50 by 100 plot.

I asked him how much be bought his, he exaggerated the value(1.2M) he is a silly akamba boy who is always in competition.

He connected me with owner, who come with the original title deed during the site visit, the owner was adamant and was only willing to dispose the plot at 1.25M which we agreed. The gentleman agreement was that after I conduct the search, and everything is well I pay as soon as possible.

I did the search, the owner and schoolmate kept calling asking on progress on daily bases, to an extent I noticed something fishy. I made a general enquiry here on Ktalk and I was given rough estimate of btw 750- 800K, I was also advised to check the price in Jiji.

After noticing that I was being shafted 450K, I went to the site alone and made enquiries from Foremen from three sites who were supervising some simple houses who confirmed that the true value of land in that place is 800K on the higher side.

I muted, when the owner called me several times without picking his calls, Finally I told him I hired a professional who valued his asset at 780K and therefore the best offer I cant give is 800K Which he refused, after two days he called back, that though I have oppressed him, he was willing to take 800K, I said am no longer interested with the piece of land located in no where being sold at its future speculative price!

Moral of the story, before making any huge purchase conduct comprehensive due diligence and comparative analysis.

Ukipenda kitu chukua. However, research ni muhimu.

Yes land and real estate sector is also full of unscrupulous brokers

Waaaa today i have learnt something… Thanks guys

Point; Avoid brokers

Hata pale cheki kumejaa brokers ajab

Hata ukitafuta nyumba otherwise utagundua after 1 year that everyone has been paying 7k na wewe na kierehere umekua ukilipa 11k

Me nikitaka kujua close approximate value of an item naingia pale jiji nafanya search. Inalete range ya low to high side of that item then i go from there

As a general rule, I avoid brokers for the simple reason that I don’t like bargaining and the several to and fros. You name your price and I name mine. Kana zinaachana I walk. Nikipata kitu inauzwa na broker I simply tell him anipe mwenyewe. Akikataa I simply walk.

Good strategy but remember that Jiji sellers are mostly brokers so the actual price of an item is usually lower than the one on Jiji.

I once saw a car I liked on cheki but we could not agree on price. I went about looking for the same model elsewhere. In my search I met the owner of the car on cheki. His price was 400k cheaper

Na juu cheki bei ilikuwa 400k does it mean owner alikuwa anapeana?

Did you have to comment or you think cheki deals with jalopies only