Buying from Amazon

Who here has ever purchased anything from the Amazon website? How reliable are they? How long till I get my package? I need to buy a mobile phone accessory that is not available locally worth about $50.
[ATTACH=full]3590[/ATTACH]

Try savostore.com

I have done numerous purchases from states online stores and the experience to be frank is horrifying. The likes of akina Savostore are damn expensive and not worth the bucks. What i ended up doing is having the shipment delivered to ma friend in states and the same shipped to me. It takes roughly 2 -4 weeks to fikia me and i pay less and ma packages reach me in good shape.

Waah damn!

Amazon used to deliver stuff to Kenya, I don’t know why the stopped. I do the same things as @Cypher254 and I send to my bro then he mails it down. But for sure you will pay tax on that item. Gava is not playing these days. So whatever you want to bring in ongeza minimum 20% of the total value of the goods for taxes.

@nairobilay and @The_Virus they still send but not for all goods but they have a quantity cap. there some goods you cnt purchase one you have to do wholesale.

http://www.amazon.com/International-Shipping-Direct/b?node=230659011

They changed things somewhere. I used to buy books, kindles, dvd movies, blu-ray disc etc and they would deliver without issue. Of course, the whole story of free shipping wouldnt apply and I would be charged for shipping. But a lot of things now they just say they dont ship to Kenya. Anyway, last thing I bought and they did send were decals for my macbook. But those things are like sending a postcard, so it was nothing.

@nairobilay i havent used their international shipping so cnt a test to their effectiveness.

their shipping is quite good from what i know. In 2013 i ordered 2 blu-ray discs. I waited for like a month and they hadnt fikad, so i wrote to them and told them the package hadnt arrived. They sent out the same blu-rays and they fikad AT NO COST. A few days after, the original 2 also arrived.AND they had told me on email that if the other ones show up I can keep them.

You should be telling your bro to reduce the value of the item when he sends you stuff that way you don’t pay too much tax. That’s what I do.

when it comes to taxation volume is not the only thing thats looked at. A product may be weighing 900 grms but be charged more than a 10kg item. shipping thats where volume takes effect.

How about ebay?

I started doing that, but with amazon stuff shipped directly, the price will be on the box so you cant escape that. if someone is to send it to you, they have to make sure they remove all packaging and just mail it. But even then, you can be told by guys of customs to produce a receipt for it. i was told to bring a receipt by customs huko GPO when my bro sent me a wifi-expander. I told them its a gift so i dont have a receipt. they told me then my bro should scan and send the one he has from buying the item. i told them he doesnt have it. so they said they have to show me the site where he bought it, so they can know its RRP. when i showed them the item on amazon, they insisted that they use the RRP instead of the regular discounted rate you see on the site. Unless i can prove that my bro paid the discounted rate.

Long story short, if someone is going to send you anything more than $50, remove all original packaging and photoshop a receipt!

I haven’t talked of the volume. I said the amount the item costs. I send lots of stuff via DHL and I devalue the cost of the item when I fill up the shipping form and my recipients don’t pay as much tax sometimes jewelry and cosmetics go untaxed.

Exactly, I started doing that after getting frustrated too many times

Enda ebay. U have a chance there. Amazon ni ya mostly americans. Immediate quick shipping is expensive lakini there are cheaper options.

Search specific ebay sites for the country you’re interested in, e.g .com for the U.S., .co.uk for Britain, etc.

Just shipped in some stuff from the States… The custom guys at Posta wamekula pesa yangu yote,nimebakia na makende tuu hapa. Gava is not playing they’re milking every cent from us.
[ATTACH=full]3632[/ATTACH]

@mayekeke wewe na hio mecca yote you don’t promote walalo who are of your faith? The likes of salhiya???

I bought from my Muslim brother in the states…