Can I sue an electrician for shoddy work in my village home?

My name is Nick. I hired an electrician to carry out some wiring and installation of a solar panel. But his work is shoddy. The lights are ever dim, I can’t watch TV for more than an hour and some of the products he bought look to be fake with inflated prices. Note that I am a freelance writer who works from home and therefore, my home is my office. So you can imagine the heavy losses that I have had to bear with whenever power runs out. Any lawyers in here, my question is: can I sue the guy for the shoddy work and also compel him to pay me damages for business losses over the past one year?

Another question, can I raise the matter with any body that licenses electricians and compel them to revoke his certificate or license?

My name is Nick. I hired an electrician to carry out some wiring and installation of a solar panel. But his work is shoddy. The lights are ever dim, I can’t watch TV for more than an hour and some of the products he bought look to be fake with inflated prices. Note that I am a freelance writer who works from home and therefore, my home is my office. So you can imagine the heavy losses that I have had to bear with whenever power runs out. Any lawyers in here, my question is: can I sue the guy for the shoddy work and also compel him to pay me damages for business losses over the past one year?

Merge your threads and ever heard about being the first to comment on your thread?

Did you get a proper survey done about what kind of solar installation was suitable and capable of running your equipment and for what duration? What’s the size of your solar panels? What’s the size of the storage batteries?
Solar sio solar tu, you have to get the sizes correct first.

Hii ni robot

@uncle nyam yaani solar panel unaweka kienyeji. kumbe wewe ile kitu unajua ni kunyemelea khupipi ya @uwesmake .

Kwani jana ulikosa Chrome umeamka mapema hivi?

ho has ever sued anyone in kenya successfuly besides the financial heavyweights? first of all the court fees,lawyer fees,back and fort manenos,you will spend more than to hire a professional elec man, better pay the quack to re-do the shoddy work

Yea. We have 2 lawyers here … @Female Perspective and @Mosa. Feel free to contact any one of them. Asande

cheap is expensive in the long run. when i was building my first home money was running out towards the end and i picked on the lowest priced electrician to “supply and install” since he also owned an electricals shop. what i didn’t know was that he supplied counterfeits and on the third day after moving in we were watching news when we smelt burning plastic. when i rushed to the consumer unit there was a wisp of smoke going up, inside things were red hot while all the plastic components had completely melted down. it was expensive replacing everything including the conduits coz the wiring had all burnt up.we were lucky we were home otherwise we would have lost our home before we even lived in it.
i would recommend you just get the right components installed and forget the original installer. the hustle of suing is likely to be an expensive exercise in futility considering you may not be able to enforce the court award, if any…

Yea. We have 2 lawyers here … @Female Perspective and @Mosa. Feel free to contact any one of them. Asande

Did you have a contract? Was he a registered contractor? If so, you can sue for damages…

ongea na orengo hajawahi poteza kesi

People successfully sue every day. Some even without the assistance of lawyers. Believe that.

It is not wise to sue a pauper unless you are suing for enforcement of legal rights by way of injunctions,custody of children, divorce etc.

please,indulge me in a case in point,sio tu kupayuka hapa.this is kenya my fren,kila mtu ni tapeli.nani alipe deni hajiskii nayo thru sweet talk? either upelekwe kotini,ama uvunjwe miguu ama ukanyagiwe bibi ama bwana whichever comes first.stori za suing mi huskia tu na ma bigwigs ,but ati mtu wa stima,utangoja saaaana

And this is the sad reality

This is the thing, na sio any contract tu, inafaa ikuwe accompanied na specifications on what exactly the electrician was supposed to deliver for the amount he got paid. How do you prove in court that its not you who asked for the fake elec. gadgets

if he is licensed the better because all you need to to is go to ERC and lodge a complaint