Can we copy Singapore's Housing model?

We will only begin to advance when we plan for our future generations and not make decisions for the now. Its a game of tactics and not strategy.

In 1947, Singapore was described as one of the worlds worst slums. It took 60 years, but their Housing and Development Board (HDB) has completely transformed the country. The did so by largely gearing towards a Public Housing System. Today 80% of the country live in government flats. Theres a caveat here. Their total population is only about 6m.

This is how their houses looked like in the 1960s. Similar to Nairobi/Mombasa in the 1980s. (Donholm, Langata etc). Interesting fact, Singapore and Malaysia used to be one country. Technically Kenya today has way more resources than they did: Land, Capital, Machinery, education, labor, etc.

[ATTACH=full]348457[/ATTACH]

The projects were flawlessly planned and executed. They emphasized on building neigborhoods. A neighborhood consists of houses, packed with a railway or transport station, a Singapore Hawker Center , Schools, clinics, sports facilities and very importantly a recreational area. The hawker center is an area to shop, eat and drink (even beer) on your way to the house like shown below. 24/7 security, lights, transport. You can see the vibandas

[ATTACH=full]348458[/ATTACH]

By the way New York and France failed in creating such projects. In France they were called banlieus.

Singapore was constrained by land. They did not have it. To date, the areas remain very dense. Highrises were the only way out. Our Kenya has tonnes of land. No such issue exists.
One thing they did is create little open spaces between apartment buildings. These areas serve as parks and recreational areas. No concrete jungles exist that we see in places like Tokyo and cities in its neighboring countries. Housing in a park theme.

[ATTACH=full]348461[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=full]348473[/ATTACH]

They used kampong which means social cohesion. These littlle developments are intentionally made so that communities intermingle.
Corruption will be a hindrance in Kenya. Shody work was a concern in Singapore. So they came up with a Core Contractor Scheme of licensed contractors ( like a licensed doctor) who get a rating and guranteed work for 5 years if they perform as required.

So its a “clean” Pipeline Estate in Nairobi. You can see they even hang clothes.

[ATTACH=full]348474[/ATTACH]

Single moms can only purchase units once they hit 35.

[ATTACH=full]348475[/ATTACH]

Tengah is a green community of 42,000 houses coming up. Like our Konza city.

[ATTACH=full]348482[/ATTACH]

It will be a bikers, joggers heaven.

[ATTACH=full]348483[/ATTACH]

These projects are pipu (pipeline) flats on steroids.

I hate any living space that goes up.

the first thing kenya should do is to strengthen devolution so that watu wapunguze kwenda nairobi “wakimaliza shule”. then the upcoming towns should have controlled development to avoid having “mini nairobis” spread throughout the country

Mimi siezi ishi close to some negroes in such tight confined spaces. It will just turn into another ghetto, high crime shitshow

Its why it failed in New York and France. This housing project in Singapore was tied to their larger development (industrialization) plan. But note they have recreational areas. Housing estates in Nai used to have fields up to the 80s. The likes of Maina Kamanda grabbed them.

Alafu kenya hatuna shinda ya shamba au nyumba. Some negroes from some parts of this country are just obsessed with being associated with Nairobi, even when they could find better-paying work elsewhere.

But we cant send them home now. And they procreate. One becomes five. So we have to do something about it.

This is a nice article.
Hongera kwao.

What does that even mean. Fyeka hizo slam na sheria ifuatwe. No one deserves a house just because they sow up. Showing up is not an accomplishment.

We have a problem in this country of people thinking they should get free shit because they can vote. We should change so that only people who have a permanent address in a place can vote there.

That means they work and pay tax, garbage fees, have a registered address etc.

India is very good at that. Most people have to travel back to their home state to vote.

That way India does not feel obliged or pressured to cater for bums in the slums and waste precious limited resources that could go towards development. Kama mtu hataki kulima acha akule mzizi arudi nyumbani akichoka

I should have mentioned that these housing units in Singapore are for lease or purchase. They are not free. And the government has a tiered scale for low income families.

btw I realized Luos and Luhyas have large and fertile lands compared to some other regions but you find them flocking in Nairobi slums. not to sound tribal but they are the majority in Nairobi slums, even staying ten people in a 10by10 tin house while they have large fertile lands back home. If they could emulate Kalenjins hii mambo ya overpopulated slums inaeza pungua

singapore wako 2052… niggas building artificial islands tukiskumiwa wheelbarrow and primitive tribalism

The difference is the government. A good government invests in its people. That’s why Asian tigers South Korea, Singapore, Taiwan & Hong Kong walituacha nyuma. Of Tigers, Debt Merchants and 2020 Vision - The Elephant

Wacha Jimit some hii comment atakumaliza.

And the award of complete douche bags goes too

Generally, I don’t like when Negros talk about housing and land while seemingly oblivious of the totally unjust .ke land distribution.

So this is part of the fix. Everybody gets an opportunity to have a place to call their home. Now if you are looking to distribute a free shamba, thats outside the context of this article. Notice that Singaporeans did not even have land to distribute.

Kuna big four agenda ya ouro on affordable housing pale boma yangu naendelea visuri

[ATTACH=full]348518[/ATTACH]

Pia kakameka wamepeana tender

Discussions like this is what we should behaving. Not wheelbarrow/BBI nonsense. I will see how this one goes. What the Singaporeans did is that they created a mini-city in a housing project like his one. It included all the facilities including schools (primary, secondary) , a market, clinic/hospital, transport, etc. So technically thats a minieconomy with employment(teachers, nurses, bar tenders, butchers,…) and business opportunities. Then they scaled it and repeated. Once they found a blueprint that works, they simply repeated it in another city.