CAR AUDIO guys saidieni newb

I’m building a simple audio system (subwoofer and 2 midrange speakers) to be used in a highschool hall. I’m considering the following parts;

1. Amp: boschmann PCH-4880D @ 8500/=
    1500 watts.
  2. Sub: Pioneer TS-30S4 12" @ 5500/
    1400 watts peak, 400 RMS
  3. Midrange: Pioneer TSA 6966S. Pair @ 4500/=
    420W peak, 60W RMS
  4. Sub cabinet: Chip board @ 3000/=
  5. Midrange Cabinet: @2*1500= 3000/=
  6. Radio: Kenwood KDC 1030 @ 6000/=
  7. Equilizer: Boschmann EQ 75 Pro @ 3000/=
  8. Power Supply: Server PSU @ 5500/=
    82Amps,12V, 1000watts
  9. Cabinet for radio, PSU & EQ @ 1500/=
  10. Jacks and cables @ 2000/=

Questions

1. Can I get these parts at cheaper prices?
  2. How do I differentiate original parts from replica?
  3. Should I cheap out on the power supply and take a 36 amp ( 450 watts). @ 3000/=
    I’ve seen people power this systems with power supply units which can only manage half the power. Eg. a 1500 watt amp paired with a 700 watt power supply. I know that an amp only consumes it’s full rated power during full volume and spikes which may only last for milliseconds. My little knowledge in electricity tells me that an amplifier only changes energy from one form to another. I’m I missing something?
  4. My amp can only deliver 66 watt RMS @ 4Ω should I upgrade the mids to the pioneer TS A6995R rated for 100 watts RMS for the same price? Advise me.
  5. Any reason for going with a double coil sub?

Any other advice???

I’m not a car audio guy, but I can tell that even the current power supply unit is not enough. Your system will be used in a highschool hall, meaning that it will be cranked up most of the time. Your power supply can only handle 982 Watts, not even 1kW. To make matters worse, your amp will need to draw 1.5kW every now and then to handle subwoofer’s 1.4kW peak. Some amps can deal with less power supply by taming the sub’s requests, I don’t know which category yours falls under.

What bothers me is that, other than your sub amp being underpowered, you still want it to share power with the midrange speakers. To make matters worse, you even want to cheap out on the power supply even further. Argh, typical Kenyan mindset, reminds me of road contractors who have never attended engineering school but have contracts with the government :mad::mad:. Ni hesabu zipi hizi unapiga bro?

ingia place facebook BNT entertainment wata kusort ya small pub ilikuwa 50k na vitu zao ni original.

I know this is not what you asked but allow me to ask, why do you choose a car audio system?

It’s a system for a small boys highschool. Wanataka kitu inapumua. Budget ni 30k. Any other options?

That’s why I asked question number 3 bro. In fact that’s why I posted it hapa so that talkers wanaeza nisaidia. That is why the title of this post mentions the word “saidieni”.

Thanks sana bro. Had talked to one of the guys and the system he advised me on was more of what I’ve posted.

Would you mind sharing the specs of the pub system?

Well, 30k ni kindogo. Car audio systems are for confined small spaces. Nevertheless, Boschmann amp I doubt it’s performance. Pioneer subs are less powerful compared to same price JBL (my experience)
You can’t get 1000W from 82A by 12V PSU. Also for reservation always do a 75% on rated power on power supplies and amplifiers.

PSU unatoa wapi? Might be interested with one

I had read somewhere that vehicle interior tend to have poor sound retention and that’s the reason they tend to sound less powerful for the same amount of wattage as compared to home sound systems.
The power supply delivers just shy of 1kW (984kw).
Will sure consider the JBL subs. Sure, 1kW is 66% of 1500 watts but 71.4% of 1400W which the sub is rated for.
I really do appreciate the info.What’s your advice though?

I’ve seen some being sold online. I’ll notify you when I get hold of one.

That price seems a bit low. Maybe it’s generic ones. You just hope they have proper filtration otherwise itakusumbua na a very loud distort noise. Tried a 14A LED lights PSU and I learnt my lesson. Deeper research showed others had the same challenge inherently on filtration

My advice would have been to build a hi-fi system. Its more reliable and safe. The 30k budget won’t allow that though. If you get original JBL sub the better. Amp jaribu sony xplod or pioneer.

This one is rated 82A. I’m wondering a guy from BNT actually recommend a 66A PSU.

Anyway, I would be interested to know what the wattage of your amp and speakers was.

Save your money and go for a PA system. Your choice of car audio is not fit for purpose. Utalia when you realize the audio properties of a hall cannot be matched with a car audio system.

The higher the amps the better for the PSU. It will be happier.

It’s my car amp I was trying to use in house temporarily after I gave out my hi-fi amp. It’s a small one Sony xplod XM-N502 rated 175W BTL RMS and 500W peak. The sub is a jbl GT5-12 275W RMS

:D:D Okay. Nunulia watoto LG XBoom ya 1100 Watts na ubaki na kitu juu kwa hio pesa. Itaku save headache ya vitu mingi

Consider what @Masgwembe is saying. Car audio systems are for small spaces like a car interior. Have you ever opened windows of your car and realised that the sound system volume went significantly low?

Banae. Hiyo car audio watatamper nayo in one week. Students require a rugged system

Hii maboys wataharibu bro.