Car Mileage and Duty Verification

I have been on a hunt for a nice Noah. Vitu nimejionea jameni! You get a very nice car online or through referrals, but when you are ready to buy, you get surprises.

Case 1: Car co-owned
This guy had taken a loan on the car and was getting late on payments. Only after doing the search did I get to know about the co-ownership, which he admitted. So, I call the Bank, they had no idea the car is on sale. Car confisticated pap.

Case 2: Tampered Mileage
Car is a 2007 and reads 110K kms. I check from KEBS and the mileage as at Oct 2013 was 128K. Meaning mileage inasonge reverse. I detected tampering, and since am not sure what else has been tampered with, nikasema wacha ikae.

FYI, check the mileage from here: http://www.kebs.org/?opt=qai&view=vehicle_search-inspection

Case 3: Clean inside out, Fully loaded, blah blah blah
Supported by excellent pictures. Not until you physically see the car. Unapata imechapa and wonder if those are pictures of the same car.

And how do I verify if duty has been paid, cos the COR from search does not seem to confirm this?

Ni khaarrd

@wheelz njoo usaidiane

You must be looking for easy cheap deals kule olx otherwise enda CMC ama Dt Dobie huko ndo mbirrionayes hununua magari.

I never claimed to be a mbirioneya bro.

Wakenya na toyota ni moto wa kuotea mbali sana…just continue being vigilant hivo…you are on the right track!

You will need a litany of documents, QISJ (KBS) , IDF, F147 and payment slip, Export Certificate, Duty entry Form and payment slip, CFS invoice, Receipt and Release order, and Bill Of lading.

if you get all those then everything is legit.

QISJ will also have the mileage as at the date of inspection

Why dont you just save mo cash na ujiletee mtumba uache ku waste time moving around and verifying

Been telling people, they get what they pay for. It’s difficult to get a clean car at sub par prices. At times you just let guys find out for themselves.

Mbossi, hio pesa 750K nimesave miaka tano ndio itoshe. An import will require I save for another 5 yrs, by which time prices zitakua zimefika 2m itabidi ningojee another three years.

Surely, it is possible to by a clean 3rd-hand car. At least records zake ziko sawa, meaning what you buy is what is on record. Au sio?

I imagine a car imported in 2013, hizo documents zote kuna mtu atakua nazo? I think there must be a way to verify by just having the chassis number.

Then nunua probox na ubaki na change :D:D:D:D

Trust me, there are some documents you never throw away because you never know when you might need to use them to back you up and you cant rely on government registries because it could ages. i have documents dating far way back than 2013 even for cars which have since disposed off

Wewe. @Some Say you are schupit. na sio mimi nimesema, ni wengine.

Sawa. I shall demand such before i part with my hard-earned cash. No compromise.

look man @kamnjoro you can get a car as you say achana na mambo watu wengine wanasema…just continue being keen in every least you get a raw deal

But do not be too hard, if the car owner is not the one who imported it…anaweza kosa kuwa na hizo documents.

Thanks. I shall be keen. Hii ni nairoberry.

No taking chances bro. Sitaki kuona gari yangu kwa list ya KRA.

Usisumbue Toyota. Ama kama lazima Toyota fanya vile @Some Say amesema plombox daddy na ubaki na change

Following!

No need for all these brother. Duty payment and ownership is a well guarded register in the KRA/ now NTSA records. Do a car search it’s only Ksh 500.