CARS AND FAMILY RELATIONS

I’ve refrained from giving out my car to a couple of relatives since I acquired it. my reasons being my insurance is strict if the car is involved in an accident and am not the one driving. Also some relatives borrow the car while I know they have no money and in case of anything they’ll bail. This has created some hate from numerous family members. People who don’t own cars do not know numerous risks involved with cars, unaeza kua uanenda kuifunika pale juja police station juu ya makesi haziishi. how do you guys handle relatives borrowing cars?

Buy another one… A small one, cheap maintenance jalopy na upee wao

hii ni upuss … wajipange na car hire

I don’t own a moti and as such I try to avoid the luxury of private cars and stick to matatus. I don’t even ask for lifts from colleagues unless they offer be it raining or not! When I need to impress a crow I use Uber,little cab or taxify. If God blesses me with one sitanyima mtu lift coz mahali naenda mafuta haitaongezeka ama kupumua if I carry two extra friends! In your case explain to relas that a car is a personal item like a phone or girlfriend you can’t just dish out like sweets!

I was once carried by a certain guy with a Fielder from Arborteum to Nairobi CBD and when i was about to pull out my wallet he said NO. I insisted to give him something for lunch but declined. Then he left me with a very strong message that i recall to date that … " Siku utanunua gari yako pia wewe pea mtu lift … utakua umelipa deni yangu" I left him making a call as i crossed to the other side of the road

Saidia where you can. Don’t feel guilty when you are unable to help.

I always pull the car hire trick. Si umesema unataka gari for a day?
Nakupeleka kwa msee wa car hire, peana ID yako na DL, then i give
you the cash for car hire for the day. Mafuta ujipange.

By doing that, you avoid kukosana na mimi coz umegwaruza gari yangu,
sijui umegonga mbuzi etc.

Including some trips that i am required to use my car kepelekana funerals and some
of the relatives wana insist uwapeleke. Unapiga hesabu ya 4 passengers x 80kg
bodyweight na viazi watanunua tukirudi + matope/rough road and low ground clearance
nasema = car hire. Hapo i prefer kutumia hiyo 3k for car hire kuliko nirudi kushinda
garage/ kurekebisha mashida za kugwaruzisha gari chini/ bumper.

male relatives are the worst…mtu anavunja shocks while impressing kungurusand acts like nothing happened

Gari ni yako, only share with your wife or a close rela/pal who also owns acar, a car comes with alot of responsibility utaachiwa makesi na bills hazikuwa coz of trying to make your car a community car. Most of those borrowing dont even know how to drive, they got a dl n think they can drive. Mtaanza kuvutana bure tuu…

If they are used to owning cars and are close enough then yes. But some cousin who you didnt know can drive cant appear there borrowing a car and you give it out. most likely you will give out the car to some guy who doesnt know what hes doing. Learning how to drive properly takes years if you give a novice it will come back with scratches, scrapes and dents. that why most first cars must be dented and trashed bigtime.

Why?

Does anyone share underpants/ inner wear? baas…Gari ni kama underwear: not to be shared.

Kupeana gari issa no,acha wakuite mchoyo but stand your ground bure utaletewa gari inakaa nikama ilipitishwa kwa forest

Kuwa mkali kwa mali yako, not just the car. Heri wakuchukie. You are not in the business of hiring equipment. It costs a lot to buy one alafu haujaongeza maintenance. Just be blunt uwaambie you do not lend out or hire your car/equipment. You are not the only car owner. They can try it elsewhere.

Never peana gari to relatives. Families are full of different dynamics and human emotions including greed, jealousy, politics and such. You might find that someone can mess up your car on purpose. Do what another guy here said, just hire a car if you feel like you really need to provide a car to your relative.

You’re so nice to even consider their feelings. Me I have an aunt who refuses to carry fat people in her car ati wasimuharibie shocks. She just tells them in the face liwe liwalo. :smiley: But her husband is a gazillionaire so her choices really have no consequences. Those heavy people still love her.

It’s your property so you have every right to do what you want.

Teach then the joy of eating their own bread. why cant they use a matatu, or a taxi? wanataka kudanganya nani? wewe ile siku hukua na gari ulikua unaomba nani? roho Safi

Starehe gharama I have a friend who kenti pick a mat from nai to naks either personal or hio Safari ikae good thing he incurs cost afadhali alipe mtu 5k ampeleke with all the comfort he so desires.

:D:D @Motokubwa na 130 kg of blubber kuja sikia hii maneno.

Thats why i have always had manual cars…someone wants to borrow including my friends i tell them i wont be available but anaweza chukua gari…akienda kuangalia anakuta ni manual anawachana nayo tu…then there is a spring i added to stiffen the clutch hehehe wanaiwacha tu parking