Cars for PR

A few buddies of mine prefer to live in the leafy suburbs like Lavington and Kileleshwa, and drive big cars. I have no problem with that. They emphasize on a cool car and a nice rented and furnished apartment in a good address. When having a couple of drinks huwa nawauliza logic ya kununua gari kubwa hivyo bila shamba ama mjengo mahali, so that I can at least get their point of view and learn a thing or two. Their response hukuwa PR. Apparently, there are some circles that I can’t access with my TOY[SIZE=1]ota [/SIZE][SIZE=4]but they can with their big cars. Is it true that gari kubwa ni investment kwa watu wa hizo “leafy” suburbs? Huwa wananiambia clients hawawezi toboka ukiland na gari hivi hivi, tenders huwezi pata, and people tend to open up more about business deals if they perceive you to be a heavyweight. Their theory is that faking it until you make it works in Nairobi na gari kubwa inaweza kuwa investment ukijua kuitumia. I don’t know whether it is true or not though. It seems to be working for one though because he has landed a few supplies contracts with his X6 since people don’t doubt his financial muscle when they see the car. In Nairobi, richer you “appear”, the easier it is to make money. [/SIZE]

I guess inadepend what you are doing. Image matters alot kwa hii dunia yetu. And sio gari pekee. Also the way you dress. But it doesnt always work. I know someone who bought a mercedes E240 with inheritance money and rented a place ( with kidogo furniture though) hapo karibu lavington. Kazi yake ilikua kutafuta tender but it didnt work out. Ended up selling the thing and now lives in an apartment that the mother bought.

So its not just the car and image. You need to know how to use that image

An E240 is a small car in Lavington. Hiyo labda atishe watu nayo Thika Road. Maybe that’s why he didn’t succeed. By big car I mean a Rangerover, X6, Cayenne etc. Another guy owns a Rangerover. He brokered a V8 after a birrionea opened up to him that he was looking for one. About 500k profit for a week’s work. He insists that the birrionea would not have opened up or trusted his deal if he didn’t have that Cayenne. So "looking"rich may sometimes open doors and some guys capitalize on that.

True… E240 cant be compared to Range Rovers and such but Mercedes is still a marque thats well respected

On the other hand we have guys like Cyrus Jirongo who used to operate from telephone booths hapo hilton in the late 80s, early 90s and they still managed to pull off mega deals.

Personality I think should also complement whatever it is that you are using to try to get deals whether an E240 or Ceyanne… or a telephone booth (for this one you should have a hell of a personality :smiley: )

People don’t trust peasants. That is a fact. Even Nigerian conmen drive BMWs as they convince people to double their money or trade “gold”. Most of us judge people superficially, and that is why some people succeed when they fake it. Nice dress code, polished English, expensive car and good social skills, and you will be doing big deals without anyone bating an eye. The only drawback is that you will attract a fair amount of gold diggers who don’t contribute to your bank balance and it is impossible to avoid them when you smell like success.

M2random mbona unajaribu kutudanganya you’re in big man circles. Ati X6 na cayenne?

Fanya hivi wewe pambana na hali yako

Sijasema mimi nugu hii. I have clearly stated mimi ni team TOY[SIZE=1]ota[/SIZE] and everyone here knows that. Also, hii thread is about faking it until you make it, not for real birrioneas in that sense. Kwa hivyo tuliza makei

Najua sio wewe but umesema my friends. Unajua Cayenne ni pesa ngapi? It cannot be used in the same sentence as fake it.

Same way celebs have swindled shops out of clothes, accessories etc juu wanaonekana wakona dollar na image. Kuna ka celeb flani left ma cuz na bill ya 15K kwa club juu alikuwa amesahau visa card yake idiet hajawai lipa to date.

It can, if it constitutes a large part of your networth. You can get a second hand Cayenne for 2.5-3 million bob or thereabout. But people like you are still under the impression that it is a rich man’s vehicle so it is not affordable. If a guy is worth say 7 million, and he has a Cayenne worth 3 million and has rented a 100k house somewhere in those addresses, he is obviously faking it. It is about looking rich than they really are to get financial mileage.

@Deorro cayenne ni pesa ngapi?

story ya cayenne ilitoka wapi nipiwe link…

This shit doesn’t add up how do you fake owning a range rover / x6 or living in 100k a month in kilimani…

https://www.kenyatalk.com/index.php?threads/usiku-pserko.88592/

Last I recall, we are almost the same age. 30ish. And you’re saying you have friends around that age who are worth 7 million but have not invested in anything worthwhile. And can pay rent of 100k a month and you’re saying they are faking their lifestyle.

I think you’re just jealous.

Faking a lifestyle is simply pretending to be richer than you actually are. It doesn’t mean you have zero idiot. If you own a car worth 3 million and your total networth is say 7 million, you are obviously faking it by portraying using the car, that you are richer than you actually are. The general perception of someone with a 3 million car is that he is probably worth over 20 million, at least. So you appear richer than you actually are. How is this hard to understand???

As joe Kennedy, whose wealth put him in the top 20 wealthiest Americans in his time once said “its not what you are that matters, its what people think you are”.

Very true.

This only exists in your head… check the maintaince cost of those cars and apartments aganist the scenerio you have described you cannot fake it.

He is faking it for business, not fun. The earnings justify it. But it is pointless trying to explain to you because you are a little slow. Utafanya nishinde nikirudia the same point. Soma previous comments mpaka uelewe what happens. Because so far, you are assuming that they don’t earn from the PR.

If I was jealous, I wouldn’t think that faking it is viable. Instead, I would be bashing them for not being financially savvy, which I am not. In fact, I am amazed by their ingenuity and that is why I ask them and you talkers about it.