Checki Maneno: Sad News

Kenyan Riders Downunder cyclist Samwel Mwangi has had his left lower leg amputated after a crash that broke his femur on the last stage of the
@tourdurwanda.
Mwangi is holding it together very very well. An inspiration from his hospital bed.

Soooo sad…

@Gio i know you are talking of rwanda but we are brothers keeper and have maximum respect for you and @Meria Mata but you guys worry me a lot . Our roads aren’t places where cyclist have rights . Go ride in ngong hills or places of isolation .

I had just bought a motor bike and almost lost my life after a drunk teenager hit me on the side . Ride your bikes if there are bike lanes or on isolation places . Ni hayo tu

A wise man once told me, you might be a good rider but it’s the other vehicles you should be worried about.
Get well soon Mr.

Pole kwake. But drivers Kenya should also be sensitized on road courtesy

So sad!!!

watu wa cheki maneno ni mafala sanaa . after circumcision niliachana na huu upusss

Ile tri-cycle haijafika bado?

Gite ino unajua hata kubalance? Sas hutanunulia Clichy tricycle muwe mnashare?

Thanks for update Gio, it’s really sad. Mwangi had a promising career

I tip my hat off to you cyclists, ni mugeragia

Short profile on Samuel Mwangi.
[ATTACH=full]70245[/ATTACH]
Samwel Mwangi
“I do enjoy cycling because it has done a lot
to me. I cant imagine how!! Its like a dream
come true to me. Mostly in the tours I like
helping my team mate when they have flats to
pace them back to the peloton even though its
hard work.”
Samwel Mwangi is one of the first Kenyan
Riders cyclists. He was working as bicycle
taxi operator when Nicholas Leong
discovered him. Nicholas payed the boda
boda cyclists to haul his 100kg frame up a
hill out of Eldoret, Mwangi was the fastest.
Mwangi has become one of the more
consistent performers in the camp and
captain of the squad with great leadership
qualities a valuable link between the cyclists
and coaches.

Very sad indeed, there’s always a risk to riding and all riders are aware of that. But I’d rather take that risk than live a sedentary lifestyle

Meffi @uwesmake unaona vile Checki Maneno hutoa watu mbali, from bodaboda guy to doing international tours. Learning pelotons and pacing to chase breakaways.

Is there a curse over the Kenyan Riders team.
This happened in 20th October 2014.
Kenyan rider John Muya Njoroge has been
killed after colliding with a car travelling in the
opposite direction at the Tour of
Matabungkay, his Kenyan Riders team have
confirmed.
The incident took place on Saturday at 10 am
on stage two of the three-day amateur race,
and while an ambulance was on the scene
immediately, the 30-year-old Njoroge’s injuries
were so severe that he later died in hospital.
The previous morning, Njoroge had won the
10km time trial that began the race and later
carried the yellow leader’s jersey into the first
road stage of the race that takes place in the
Matabungkay region of the Philippines.

Vile @Abba amesema.

I heard @Meria Mata akisema utaheshimiwa ukiwa una ride na uniform?

Mimi sijawai ona wakiheshimiwa na raiya ya matatu? o_O

Keep safe folks

Matatu actually sio shida…shida in order of rank according to me ni hawa:-

1. Bod boda riders
  2. Women drivers
  3. Probox drivers
  4. Matatu drivers

I cannot even decide whether I should put women drivers as number one

Checki Maneno incidences have had with the above:
Jamaa wa boda alinigonga kwa roundabout na akatoroka (clearly traffic rules ni hekaya kwake)
A lady driver alifungua mlango in traffic na mimi huyo nikaenda kama nimeingia kwa hio mlango, and she had the guts kuniambia nilipe.
Mjamaa wa Probox anapigana na mimi for that white line iko kando ya barabara, almost drove me out of the road. Na wao hupenda sana kuhoot.
Matatu drivers, 44, 45, Kenya Mpya na Rongai take the crown jewel on this, they drive soooo damn close to you halafu wanahoot na hizo modified and absurdly loud shrills wakiwa nyuma yako

sad indeed. nakaribisha nyinyi wote to boxing. will now be updating our tournaments and stuff

Wazi mzito, you’ve just reminded me of my one and only time in a ring.
Hekaya coming up later, gojea ninukishe kitunguu