Cheque cancellation

Those in banking sector can help me understand this scenario.

I was to sell an item to someone and we agreed on Mpesa or RTGS/Pesalink as a mode of settling the payment.His excuse on not using mpesa is that he had not activated the mobile banking on his KCB account and thus it would be a lengthy process since the cost of the items was more than his daily withdrawal limit.In essence it would take 2 days to pay the amount in full.That is how I ended up giving the guy my account number on Thursday morning,he was to deposit the money immediately but he waited till yesterday at 3pm ,deposited a cheque instead of doing the agreed RTGS or Pesalink transfer.

Up to that moment I realised I was dealing with a con and now my questions are:-
[li]Can the payee ask the drawee to cancel the cheque.[/li][li]If the cheque bounces what are my repurcussions.I have already raised the redflag with the drawee[/li][/ul]

I hope you haven’t already given him the goods. First rule of cheque and bank transactions is that you wait until it clears before you release goods. Even after it clears move the cash if you still have doubt.

In business you have to set a plan on clients mode of payment. For a client to pass the test of a cheque, must have shown some form of trust and reliability on them. If it’s one time clients always insist on cash or other safer modes of payments. Otherwise these is the biggest trick in con business.

This one is definitely a con game,I haven’t issued the goods,the reason why I am sure is because the said person never bargained nor came to view the items on the ground,I regret giving out my account details

If you have not given him the goods wait for the cheque to clear. If you bank in the same bank (in your case KCB) the cheque clears the same day.

If the cheque bounces you will be charged for the returned cheque. The drawer is supposed to refund you the amount charged.

Good for you, the goods are in your possession… If you have a good talking relationship with your bank, just raise a red flag on the issue because I doubt nothing much he can do with details of your account… But better be safe right!

Is this the practice across all the banks.I have called the bank and told them the cheque might not be legit in the hope that I would be exonorated of any charges

I have already talked to the bank,they say that I have to wait for the cheque to process,if it bounces the payee and the drawer will be liable to some charges

Good you have the goods. Make your observation official. Write a letter to the manager and explain that you suspect some fraud or illegal activity in the cheque. Let them sign as received. It will go a long way if it explode later on. From that time you will be a whistleblower not a suspect.

Repercussions- You will pay some bank charges.

I was dealing with a bank manager and if he was any helpful I wouldn’t be seeking for advice here,well now it is sinking that I will pay some charges.Lesson learnt though I might not keep the account,the bank should protect me.

Make the complaint official. Put it down on paper and send. Calling the bank is simply for customer care issues but for registering complaints especially where fraud is concerned, you need to document the steps you took to ensure it does not/will not affect you.

Write. Deliver. Offer yourself in case of any followups.

However you will still be charged if the cheque bounces.

ideally. but really it will protect itself first.

Jogoo @Kimakia why are you so afraid of a cheque you have been given? Ama there is something you are not telling us. Hapa sioni ukiwa in any wrong, unless ile biashara unafanya ni kama ile ya D-

My client went contrary to our agreement(gentlemen) without any explanation to which at some point wanted to come for the goods but nikasema hadi cheque iwe cleared.His number is now off.Isn’t that leading enough.Well I have never been involved in such a case before so I had all reasons to be worried.

Good. sit back, enjoy your weekend. You are safe, save for kitu 500/= for a returned cheque.

It can even be 3k. And if you don’t pay / have money in the account, the bank forwards your name to CRB. The guy most likely was a conman

I have resolved to pay and close the account,am angry at the bank.I went back to them with a writeup which they won’t acknowledge.Let me wait.They have told me they charge 2k

Hakuna haja ya kufunga account just because the chq is gonna bounce.

If you have banked with the bank for some time consider its pros like ease of accessing loans, customer care, asset financing et al.

Because ukienda bank nyingine you’ll be starting from square 1.

The guy could pull another one now that he has my account number