China spying on Tourist's phones.

[SIZE=7]China has been secretly installing spyware on some tourists’ Android phones[/SIZE]
By Jacob Kastrenakes@jake_k Jul 2, 2019, 1:25pm EDT
https://cdn.vox-cdn.com/thumbor/Glo0bBn1tuzeUYRb3IH5bav46-c=/0x0:2040x1360/1200x800/filters:focal(857x517:1183x843)/cdn.vox-cdn.com/uploads/chorus_image/image/64660716/acastro_170621_1777_0002_fin.0.jpgIllustration by Alex Castro / The Verge
Chinese border agents have been installing spyware on phones from tourists who enter the country through certain crossings in the Xinjiang region, an area where China is known to be conducting intensive surveillance of the largely Muslim ethnic minority groups who live there. The spyware was reported today by a group of publications, including [I]The[/I] [I]Guardian[/I],[I]Motherboard[/I], [I]The New York Times[/I], and more.
Border agents in the region have been requiring tourists to hand over their phones and passcodes before entering, according to the reports. The agents will then disappear with the phones in order to snoop through them. For iPhones, that reportedly includes plugging them into a machine that scans through the phone’s contents. For Android phones, it goes further, with border agents installing a spyware app that scans the phone and collects data.
THE APP COLLECTS DATA AND SCANS FOR THE PRESENCE OF CERTAIN FILES
The app, named BXAQ or Fēng cǎi, collects phone contacts, text messages, call history, calendar entries, what apps are on a phone, and what usernames are used in some apps, then uploads that data to a server, according to the reports. The app also scans the phone for more than 73,000 files. Some of that includes extremist content, like an ISIS publication, but it also includes Quran excerpts and music from a Japanese metal band.
It appears that the app is meant to be deleted once inspection of the phone is finished. But border agents seem to have forgotten to do that on some occasions, leading to the app’s discovery. The group of publications then worked with experts to analyze what the spyware is capable of doing. The practice was noticed recently and was encountered by people crossing into China from Kyrgyzstan.
Reports over the past couple years have detailed China’s startling surveillance ofthe Xinjiang region, which is home to a number of ethnic minorities, including the Uighurs, a largely Muslim group of about 8 million people. It’s a resource-rich region, and China has feared losing control over it. It’s led to the use of facial recognition systems, apps that facilitate surveillance, and violent internment camps.
Chinese authorities did not respond to the reporting publications’ requests for comment.

Mimi wacha nirudi analogue ki roho safi.

America has been trying to stir up a rebellion and eventual breakaway among the Uygur. one of the ways they reach the area is through entering as tourists. those who mean china no harm need not be afraid.

I was to be born in Japan not sure what happened!!! #######Tech world

@patco taftia Mimi milf huko.

Something the Western media would say.

Why don’t they mention that the US has the largest spy ring in the world.
Ama kazi ya NSA ni kuchoma mahindi?

I think the spying revelation in the west comes from the same publications, to be fair at least in the west they do report that, lakini I doubt any Chinese media would report about their government spying activities - all countries do it, but credit to the west they are more open to criticism

Murica wanaskiza mpaka conversations za Merkel, somehow the chinese are villains for spying on people who enter their nation but the americans are good folks.

The Chinese are better, The NSA has been spying on US Citizen for sometime now including you @patco .

If the West was accountable and open to criticism Snowden wouldnt be holed up in Russia.

The washington post, the guardian, new york times, all published those leaks, I don’t think the same can be said of some countries - all governments have their ill agenda, but I think the west is more open to criticism compared to say china

I’m pretty sure in the US they also report 0.1% of the what is actually happening.
And are quick to go with the government narrative of ‘national security’, especially when spying details are leaked by the likes of Snowden.

I mean all government will try as much as possible to hide their ills, no doubt about that - but as you mention at least they allow that 0.1% (as you put it), I dont think china even allows that, wacha hiyo, they dont even allow the citizen to read historical leaked information, at least in the west once its out all their citizens can access it.

anyway, my point is that there is more openness in the west than the east, its a case of moi in the 1980’s vs kibaki in the 2000’s one went hard on the so called dissidents the other one allowed anyone to attack the government.

Lakini I agree, they are both not angels

Wacha wachunguze Muslims. Those people like blowing up every now and then.